Chevron Left
Voltar para Explorando as Sonatas para Piano de Beethoven

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Explorando as Sonatas para Piano de Beethoven da instituição Instituto de Música Curtis

4.8
estrelas
580 classificações

Sobre o curso

Our relationship to Beethoven is a deep and paradoxical one. For many musicians, he represents a kind of holy grail: His music has an intensity, rigor, and profundity which keep us in its thrall, and it is perhaps unequalled in the interpretive, technical, and even spiritual challenges it poses to performers. At the same time, Beethoven’s music is casually familiar to millions of people who do not attend concerts or consider themselves musically inclined. Two hundred years after his death, he is everywhere in the culture, yet still represents its summit. This course takes an inside-out look at the 32 piano sonatas from the point of view of a performer. Each lecture will focus on one sonata and an aspect of Beethoven’s music exemplified by it. (These might include: the relationship between Beethoven the pianist and Beethoven the composer; the critical role improvisation plays in his highly structured music; his mixing of extremely refined music with rougher elements; and the often surprising ways in which the events of his life influenced his compositional process and the character of the music he was writing.) The course will feature some analysis and historical background, but its perspective is that of a player, not a musicologist. Its main aim is to explore and demystify the work of the performer, even while embracing the eternal mystery of Beethoven’s music itself. This season's Curtis courses are sponsored by Linda Richardson in loving memory of her husband, Dr. Paul Richardson. The Dolfinger-McMahon Foundation supports Curtis's lifelong learning initiatives....

Melhores avaliações

M

2 de jun de 2020

This course and Mr. Biss' immense knowledge of Beethoven's sonatas and that era has given me a new interest in classical music. I can understand and speak about it more confidently than ever!

JR

22 de ago de 2016

Fascinating trip through the marvellous Beethoven sonatas.

Although I love them since many years, I'm very happy to see that It's always possible to progress.

Many thanks Jonathan.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 139 Avaliações para o Explorando as Sonatas para Piano de Beethoven

por Marina S

1 de nov de 2015

I am learning a interesting things about the sonatas I love, even though some musical terminology is above my head. I would prefer a course, where the musical terminology was explained first (tonic, dominant, key, harmony and so on). Still, I am grateful for what I could glimpse though.

por Harry Y

26 de jan de 2019

Jonathan Biss communicates, so profoundly, the essence of the musical experience. He does it with consummate authority, both as an exceptional pianist and as a lover of Beethoven's music. So many MOOC courses end up sagging. This one never sags; it soars to and through its finale.

por Sebastian R B

15 de dez de 2015

This course provides an excellent overview of Beethoven's most important piano sonatas and the innovations that he made. It is the point of view of a player, not a musicologist, and this makes the lessons quite enjoyable and closely related to the music itself. I loved it.

por Ronald J B

23 de abr de 2016

This course was excellent and I enjoyed it, but I was done with it when they offered more lessons and was very annoyed to get multiple emails telling me I needed to complete the course. I did complete it, as originally offered, and think that should be noted on my record.

por Jill S

22 de nov de 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. It was presented with great knowledge and passion, and despite being full of musical terminology and detail, it was always accessible to me as a non-player. I learned so much about how this wonderful music was structured and composed.

por Michael S

21 de fev de 2016

Fantastic course! Very informative.

I think the second part of the course was improved. Jonathan demonstrating more on the piano (as opposed to just explaining -- as he did more of in the first part) was a great addition.

Looking forward to Jonathan's next concert!

por Lauren L

5 de set de 2016

I have finished this course and I highly recommend it. I am a musician moving from the rock and jazz genres into classical music and have been taking a number of classical/opera related courses. This one is a standout. Take this course, you will be happy you did.

por Mark L

7 de out de 2015

This course was excellent. I was exposed to many sonatas I was not familiar with before this class. Jonathan Biss is a great musician and did a great job of highlighting the key points of the sonatas presented. I would like to see him cover another composer.

por Konrad F

12 de jan de 2016

Outstanding course! Tremendous insight, extremely well articulated, and explained with real passion and depth! Would highly recommend this course to anyone who appreciates this kind of music; particularly those seeking to understand Beethoven's idiom better.

por Kathy C

3 de abr de 2021

I'm not a musician but have always enjoyed classical music; now I understand better what I'm hearing, even if some of it went over my head! I appreciate the opportunity, and have just started the Curtis String Quartet coursera also. Thanks again

por Christopher P

21 de set de 2015

Prof. Biss is outstanding, clearly articulating his interpretations and providing exceptional playing. Loved the level of detail both technically and academically. Far and above other Coursera music offerings I've sampled. More please.

por RISSER-MAROIX

24 de set de 2015

Hughly rated course; all mélomanes" should apply!

Excellent cours d'analyse musicale. Une première pour moi et aussi l'occasion d'écouter le passionant parce que passionné Jonathan BLISS. Merci à lui, à Coursera et à l'Institut Curtis.

por Hsiang L L W

13 de mar de 2018

This is a fabulous course with insight to Beethoven's sonatas. I've been playing piano for 27 years, and I am learning so much from this course! It was a very enjoyable learning experience. I would recommend this course to everyone.

por Sara G

19 de nov de 2020

We can't attend concerts in person during COVID so this was a great way to experience music. Mr. Biss explained a lot of details and brought enthusiasm and artistry to the lectures. I never appreciated Beethoven before.

por Sebastian F

9 de ago de 2015

This is one of the best music courses in Coursera. Jonathan Biss is not only one of the great players of our time, but also manages to simplify and deliver outstanding quality content for learners in any theroetical

por Jesus I

31 de jul de 2017

Excellent course by Prof. Biss

Looking forward to getting more sonatas in these lectures, especially Opus 110 and 111

I also recommend lectures by Andras Schiff on all of Beethoven sonatas (found on youtube)

por Angela P

26 de out de 2015

Excellent course. You can go into great detail in understanding the intricacies of the sonatas or you can simply come away with a deep appreciation for Beethoven, his works and what goes into playing them.

por Alfred C S

1 de nov de 2015

Very interesting historical background and a paced, clear presentation of the musical techniques employed by the pianists. Very enjoyable if you are a classical music lover.

por Cynthia T

29 de nov de 2021

A​mazing content and instructor, I learned so much from this course, and most importantly, this course gives me further motivation to study more into music as an amateur.

por Mayank D

22 de jul de 2016

Great course for a beginner like me. It's an introduction and exploration of the adventurous world of music and musicians; passionately delivered by the expert, Mr Biss.

por Elizabeth T

10 de abr de 2020

A delight and a privilege to hear Mr. Biss discuss - and play - this beautiful music. I learned a lot about music, Beethoven in particular and sonatas in general.

por Gary B

10 de abr de 2022

Excellent deep dive into several of Beethoven's most interesting Sonatas. Jonathan's playing is amazing, and his descriptions of the work are engaging.

por isabella

6 de nov de 2015

Amazing course! I can now understand Beethoven's Sonatas in a much deeper level, as well as how performance and innovation evolved throughout time.

por jeffrey m

8 de jun de 2021

l​oved it...I learned so very much. The professor was tremendous and his playing was thrilling. I would take more courses from this instructor.

por Graeme H

10 de abr de 2018

Outstanding course. Not sure why I haven't (allegedly) finished this since there was nothing due or not finished - however, no great consequence.