Chevron Left
Voltar para Explorando as Sonatas para Piano de Beethoven

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Explorando as Sonatas para Piano de Beethoven da instituição Instituto de Música Curtis

4.8
519 classificações
122 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Our relationship to Beethoven is a deep and paradoxical one. For many musicians, he represents a kind of holy grail: His music has an intensity, rigor, and profundity which keep us in its thrall, and it is perhaps unequalled in the interpretive, technical, and even spiritual challenges it poses to performers. At the same time, Beethoven’s music is casually familiar to millions of people who do not attend concerts or consider themselves musically inclined. Two hundred years after his death, he is everywhere in the culture, yet still represents its summit. This course takes an inside-out look at the 32 piano sonatas from the point of view of a performer. Each lecture will focus on one sonata and an aspect of Beethoven’s music exemplified by it. (These might include: the relationship between Beethoven the pianist and Beethoven the composer; the critical role improvisation plays in his highly structured music; his mixing of extremely refined music with rougher elements; and the often surprising ways in which the events of his life influenced his compositional process and the character of the music he was writing.) The course will feature some analysis and historical background, but its perspective is that of a player, not a musicologist. Its main aim is to explore and demystify the work of the performer, even while embracing the eternal mystery of Beethoven’s music itself. This season's Curtis courses are sponsored by Linda Richardson in loving memory of her husband, Dr. Paul Richardson. The Dolfinger-McMahon Foundation supports Curtis's lifelong learning initiatives....

Melhores avaliações

JR

Aug 23, 2016

Fascinating trip through the marvellous Beethoven sonatas.\n\nAlthough I love them since many years, I'm very happy to see that It's always possible to progress.\n\nMany thanks Jonathan.

JM

Oct 16, 2015

I highly recommend this course to anyone that wants to look DEEPER into music. Believe me, after you are done with this course. You will see classical music completely different.

Filtrar por:

101 — 121 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Explorando as Sonatas para Piano de Beethoven

por Eduardo A d C L

Dec 05, 2015

I have taken many courses by now, however this course brings to mind the fantastic "A brief history of time". Both go above and beyond my wildest dreams, leaving my expectations so far as to be unable to recall them.

I learned not only about Beethoven the composer; but developed a greater appreciation for him and his music, for his predecessors and those who followed his footsteps, the sonata form and many other forms, and perhaps more important to ponder about the nature of music itself and it's relevance in our life. His presentation of the musical question, quotation, program music, and the notion of "jokes" exposed and explained a musical paradigm far broader than affective or cerebral qualities.

It stems from these observations that there is a very rich and capable language with its own strengths and weaknesses. In this case, the history of Beethoven's sonatas is then a very close look at a critical point in the life of this language that binds multiple stages into a consistent whole.

This subjects quasi universal nature, spans multiple cultures and allows us to look into snapshots of the experience of life. And this presentation has provided me with the necessary training to be aware of this and also to slowly delve further into this subject. And I find this in itself to be a very significant reason why to study music in the first place.

My deepest thanks to all who made this great work possible

Wither music?

Most certainly :)

por Leora W

Aug 23, 2015

Wonderful!

por Angelina W

Nov 25, 2016

In-depth lectures about Beethoven's life and music. I'm still not a Beethoven fan, but I appreciate his music now.

por JK

Aug 18, 2015

I rediscover the beauty of Beethoven's piano sonatas through Mr. Biss clear, interesting and engaging lectures. I like the fact that he himself is a performing pianist that made all the demo very enjoyable and convincing.

Also, I did not quite understand the greatness of Beethoven's late sonatas before and now I almost cannot pass by a week without listening to one. Thanks for introducing me to the world of late period of Beethoven. Now there is much more to be explored: string quartets, piano trios, missa solemnis, etc.

por Abraham L

Sep 14, 2015

Thanks for the Wonderfull information, I love it.

por RISSER-MAROIX

Sep 24, 2015

Hughly rated course; all mélomanes" should apply!

Excellent cours d'analyse musicale. Une première pour moi et aussi l'occasion d'écouter le passionant parce que passionné Jonathan BLISS. Merci à lui, à Coursera et à l'Institut Curtis.

por Do H L

Jun 22, 2016

I have always wanted to learn deeply about Beethoven's Sonatas as I listen to them on a daily basis.

por wang p

Nov 13, 2015

非常好!~!!!!!!!!一定要听

por Mayank D

Jul 22, 2016

Great course for a beginner like me. It's an introduction and exploration of the adventurous world of music and musicians; passionately delivered by the expert, Mr Biss.

por Priscilla C

Feb 11, 2018

This course and the other two with Johnathan Biss have greatly expanded my appreciation and understanding of Beethoven's sonatas

por Adrienne F

Aug 26, 2018

This course presents a totally interesting view of the Beethoven Sonatas, zeroing in on a few of them since an exhaustive view would take so many more hours to present. Jonathan Biss is a wonderful pianist and lecturer and the course is fascinating. It has helped me tremendously in both my enjoyment of the importance and variety of the sonatas and in re-evaluating my own performances. Thank you so much for this insight, Jonathan Biss - it is invaluable.

por Cary L C C

May 06, 2019

Absolutely fabulous teaching about music.

por Maico C

Nov 01, 2019

Falta Traduzir para o Português!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

por Rob E

Jul 11, 2016

The course is rich in information and I appreciated the fast pace of the professor's lectures (especially his enthusiasm and passion for the subject which I found delightfully infectious ha) - however I feel that for many people his very quick elocution was perhaps a bit of a minor hindrance for those that process information a touch slower. I definitely plan to resume this course as I enjoyed the professor's manner and passion.

por Marco M

Apr 19, 2017

Insightful travel throughout Beethoven's music writing style, and more generally on musical structure of piano sonatas before and after Beethoven's contribution.

por Emeka N

Dec 24, 2015

Excellent.

por Johhn W

Oct 06, 2017

The music and the pianist are as good as it gets. The structure of the course, however, is weak in that each of the sonatas focused on are really not easily taken apart and analyzed. Even if they were what would be the value of that? O suggest that Biss stress, what he actually does to a minor degree, the sonatas of other masters and show how Beethoven is the master and give plenty of comparison selections.

por Aram G

Apr 03, 2017

Very nice time spent with an talented person... Highly recommend

por Peter C

Oct 10, 2016

This was an enjoyable course taught by someone who is obviously not only a superb pianist and musician but also completely in love with Beethoven's piano music. The reason for my 4-star rather than 5-star rating was that I felt the teaching would have benefited from a few visual aids as well as demonstrations at the keyboard. As Mr Biss appeared equally enthusiastic about the music of Haydn, perhaps we might look forward to 'Exploring Haydn's Piano Sonatas' in the future?

por Abhijit B

Jul 01, 2017

It is a beautiful course for the fans of classical music and specially for the fans of Beethoven! Prof. Jonathan is really passionate about the music of Beethoven which is evident from his style of analyzing his sonatas. Although sometimes the course becomes too technical we enjoy it once we listen to the music and understand the nuances of the composition. I thoroughly enjoyed the course and will join next course too.

por Luciano A d C

Aug 22, 2018

Oh Prof Biss, you're such a great pianist ! Really gifted ! Congratulations!

I'll search some of your recordings.

Very good course. Thanks for the opportunity !

From below the Equator,

Luciano