Chevron Left
Voltar para Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods da instituição Universidade Técnica da Dinamarca (DTU)

4.6
656 classificações
151 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The course will cover the topics related to antimicrobial resistance with basic definitions and overview on antimicrobials their use and the emergence and spread of resistance. The course will guide you through the concepts and the importance of resistance spread and dissemination and how that happens. It will show you how bacteria become resistant and which mechanisms they might use for this. And as part of the course you will also receive some training in methods for antimicrobial susceptibility testing (AST) and detection of specific resistance in the microbiological laboratories with the basic methods available and with focus on the obtention of good quality results which can be interpreted and used for different purposes. Additionally, it will show you how to use genomic analysis tools to analyze whole genome sequencing data to detect resistance genes (and or other genes of interest) in a simple and easy way using online tools freely available. In the new new version an additional module including detection of specific resistance mechanisms was added. After this course you should be able to: 1. Describe the most important families of antimicrobials and mode of action 2. Understand the basic concepts of antimicrobial resistance from several perspectives (clinical, research and microbiological) 3. Enumerate and describe how bacteria can become resistant and the mechanisms that may be involved in that process 4. Describe how antimicrobial resistance emerges and spreads around the world including concepts of antimicrobial resistance transfer, selection and dissemination 5. Enumerate the methods used for antimicrobial susceptibility testing (AST) 6. Compare dilution and diffusion methods and know the basic techniques of agar disk diffusion, broth dilution and agar dilution methods 7. Have detailed theoretical knowledge on how to perform the main methods in a laboratory 8. Know the basic concepts about analysis and interpretation of results of AST, including different breakpoints, cut-off setting and their applications. 9. Understand the importance and related concepts related to quality management and quality assurance method standardization, applied to AST 10. Relate the information obtained in this course with real cases of resistant bacteria spreading in patients, the community, animals or the environment 11. Relate the phenotypical results with results from genotyping using molecular techniques for detection of resistance mechanisms 12. Understand the concept and be able to apply genomic analysis tools used to detect resistance genes and other relevant genes from Whole Genome Sequencing (WGS) data (with demonstration of selected online tools) Disclaimer: Please note that the guidelines and methods referred or links included in these materials are updated when the videos lectures are produced and before the course is released, however these might become outdated with time....

Melhores avaliações

DJ

Nov 15, 2016

It was really a good lectures and please I want to know about my certificate in have already purchased this course and submitted all\n\nThe documents let me know when will I get my certificate .

AA

Sep 24, 2017

This i very good course. i recommended to all microbiology and molecular biology students. All three teachers are very good. specially last week lecture about molecular detection of MRSA. CRE.

Filtrar por:

126 — 148 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods

por Abel P G

Aug 05, 2016

Really great, a little more specificity on the subjects (More time) would be even better.

por Lydia S

Feb 26, 2017

I did like to course very much. However, the in the last video, although the lecturer tried to speak clearly, I didn't understand all things very well.

por Jewellia T

Dec 22, 2016

Very educational course, however the lectures are very lull and do not hold attention well.

por SAYARI D

Dec 31, 2017

Great set of teachers. This course has really helped me in clearing my concepts on Antimicrobial resistance- mechanisms and testing methods.

por Ahmed I K

Oct 23, 2016

good course

por Leandro C

Dec 04, 2016

This course is very interesting but in some points it get repetitive and it gets boring. I recommend to reduce some videos and not to say the same thing too many time even when it's very important

por hodan

Feb 26, 2017

This class was very much eye-opening as I have gained knowledge and experience

por cristina c d

Dec 05, 2017

I found it a really good course, useful from the basic topics to the more complex ones. I will recommend it undoubtedly to anyone who would be interested in antimicrobial resistance.

por Madhu K S

Dec 08, 2017

very informative and simple

por Waddi M

Nov 14, 2016

So nice... I've learnt a lot.

por Sangeeth S

Oct 10, 2017

Very detailed and well-explained course. Covers a wide variety of areas in microbiology from resistance mechanisms to even the importance of quality control/standardisation. I would highly reccommend this course to anyone looking to improve their understanding of antimicrobial resistance. As a side note, I was very impressed with the presentation of this course and how, despite being an 'intermediate' level course, you can easily understand and learn from it if you have at least done AS level biology or whatever the equivalent is in your country. :D

por Mohamed S T

Oct 11, 2016

Very important course that help to know several ways of anti microbial susceptibility testing.

por Amr F

Feb 19, 2017

very good and useful

por Alejandro S M

Mar 26, 2017

Muy instructivo

por Islam M M M

Sep 12, 2018

It was a very helpful and useful course , I enjoyed it very much , but I hope to be more questions during video as in sometimes get boring and too much information, Thanks.

por Henrique

Aug 13, 2016

lectures are too long, it lacks clinical correlation.

the course focus only technical lab issues, when you look for antimicrobial resistance course, the last thing that you need is tech theory. Of course that some concepts are needed in order to provide fundamental basis, but the main goal is and always will be how to interpret antibiograms and infere the most probable mechanism of resistance. So there is a need for clinical correlation. If its not present, the course should be entitled "Laboratory methods for antimicrobial resistance"

por Alejandra D J

Oct 28, 2017

The course is basic and easy to follow. It often felt repetitive

por Sara R

Dec 08, 2016

The course is really interesting and I found it really useful. However, there are lots of repetitive lectures and I think they could be grouped and summarized or even expanded for topics avoiding the repetitions.

por Yashvant R

Nov 10, 2016

excellent for me and my carrier

por Shabnam M T

Apr 21, 2017

Thank you so much for the interesting course. My thesis in master was on Antibacterials and (and more subjects) I am much interested in Microbiology. I am going to continue my PhD in Microbiology and this course was a kind of review for me with some new details. Especially ResFinder was really interesting to me. Thank you so much for the class.

por LIDIA

Oct 08, 2016

Es un curso interesante, aunque le faltan lecciones que realmente expliquen el trabajo real del laboratorio. Pero da muchos conceptos básicos mas desarrollados que nunca viene mal recordar o ampliar con información más actual.

por Gabriela C

Oct 11, 2016

I loved the first three weeks for the really well presented background information. Weeks 4 and 5 did not give me any further interesting knowledge. I also missed lectures on qPCR, NGS and other molecular methods for the detection of antibiotic resistance genes, as these methods are up and coming. Overall, thank you for setting up this course

por Mark

Jan 23, 2017

Content was good, but occasionally VERY hard to understand the lecturers' English. Worth taking though.