Chevron Left
Voltar para Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods da instituição Universidade Técnica da Dinamarca (DTU)

4.7
estrelas
1,840 classificações
398 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The course will cover the topics related to antimicrobial resistance with basic definitions and overview on antimicrobials their use and the emergence and spread of resistance. The course will guide you through the concepts and the importance of resistance spread and dissemination and how that happens. It will show you how bacteria become resistant and which mechanisms they might use for this. And as part of the course you will also receive some training in methods for antimicrobial susceptibility testing (AST) and detection of specific resistance in the microbiological laboratories with the basic methods available and with focus on the obtention of good quality results which can be interpreted and used for different purposes. Additionally, it will show you how to use genomic analysis tools to analyze whole genome sequencing data to detect resistance genes (and or other genes of interest) in a simple and easy way using online tools freely available. In the new new version an additional module including detection of specific resistance mechanisms was added. After this course you should be able to: 1. Describe the most important families of antimicrobials and mode of action 2. Understand the basic concepts of antimicrobial resistance from several perspectives (clinical, research and microbiological) 3. Enumerate and describe how bacteria can become resistant and the mechanisms that may be involved in that process 4. Describe how antimicrobial resistance emerges and spreads around the world including concepts of antimicrobial resistance transfer, selection and dissemination 5. Enumerate the methods used for antimicrobial susceptibility testing (AST) 6. Compare dilution and diffusion methods and know the basic techniques of agar disk diffusion, broth dilution and agar dilution methods 7. Have detailed theoretical knowledge on how to perform the main methods in a laboratory 8. Know the basic concepts about analysis and interpretation of results of AST, including different breakpoints, cut-off setting and their applications. 9. Understand the importance and related concepts related to quality management and quality assurance method standardization, applied to AST 10. Relate the information obtained in this course with real cases of resistant bacteria spreading in patients, the community, animals or the environment 11. Relate the phenotypical results with results from genotyping using molecular techniques for detection of resistance mechanisms 12. Understand the concept and be able to apply genomic analysis tools used to detect resistance genes and other relevant genes from Whole Genome Sequencing (WGS) data (with demonstration of selected online tools) Disclaimer: Please note that the guidelines and methods referred or links included in these materials are updated when the videos lectures are produced and before the course is released, however these might become outdated with time....

Melhores avaliações

FH
30 de Dez de 2020

As a microbiology student, I can say that I've learned so many theoretical and practical methods involving antimicrobial resistance as well as bacteriology in general. Huge thanks to great lecturers!

MW
22 de Jul de 2021

Very clear and informative to give insights about what's happening in the area of antimicrobial resistance, as well as the urgency to do identification and surveilance of antimicrobial resistance

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 397 Avaliações para o Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods

por Heba A

16 de Abr de 2017

I'm very interested while taking this course as it's very related to my recent study.

The material and syllabus are very easy to understand.

Thank you very much

por UMAMAHESWARA R

5 de Mar de 2017

It was really a nice course, and it would help me from recollecting the past experience.

My sincere thanks to the Madams, who delivered their valuable speech.

por Subimal B

30 de Mai de 2017

The whole system, as how it was structured to give the most compact as well as elaborated explanation with the theory and practical methodologies assembled is one place, has been great effort from each and every person involved in it. I want to thank DTU and its associates and Researchers like Lina Cavaco and Dr. Pimlapas is been a great guide and teacher to me. This unique method of e-learning is been the most flexible yet an intensive curriculum that has broaden my knowledge in this field. I would like to be in touch with your guidance and suggestions in future too. Thank you so much once again and I am hopeful to see this course knowledge strengthening my resume for my future endeavours.

por Farah N B M H

31 de Dez de 2020

As a microbiology student, I can say that I've learned so many theoretical and practical methods involving antimicrobial resistance as well as bacteriology in general. Huge thanks to great lecturers!

por Kartik D

31 de Ago de 2020

I would personally recommend this course to any student aiming for a brief introduction to antimicrobial resistance and also to anyone looking for a very nice and quick brushup of the concepts.

por Abdul A

24 de Set de 2017

This i very good course. i recommended to all microbiology and molecular biology students. All three teachers are very good. specially last week lecture about molecular detection of MRSA. CRE.

por Luísa S N d S

7 de Out de 2017

Excellent classes. If you have some background in Biology, Medicine and correlate areas, they should be of fairly easy understanding. The structure of the course is quite didactical and the explanations on the methods are clear and up to date. The insights on the genomic tools were quite useful! The new module about specific resistances is really good and shall help Biomedical Scientists and lab analysts about using the right methods, performing them properly and keeping vigilance upon new resistant strains arising. Overall a great course for all those interested on this dynamic area.

por Damari p J

15 de Nov de 2016

It was really a good lectures and please I want to know about my certificate in have already purchased this course and submitted all

The documents let me know when will I get my certificate .

por Thomas P S

27 de Fev de 2018

Very good course, I particularly liked Lina's interventions. It was very well balanced, giving general definitions but also getting into enough details. Kudos to the DTU team !

por Harald S

19 de Ago de 2017

The design of the course is just excellent I repeat just excellent ! I , born 1937, could after some confusing as well as puzzling (?) times ,not to forget some language-based problems, catch and hold an overall good understanding about the "tiny ones" ruling our lives. Well must say my hobby is microscopy so I have seen quite a few of them as well as in the 1960. been DD-testing bacteriostatic/bacteriocidal ointments

on noscomiala Staph.aur and pseudomonas aerug and some more. . OooH allmost forget.. give my greetings to the staff ... regards Harald

por Kübra B

20 de Ago de 2018

I am a dentist, currently working in a clinic in Shanghai, China and find this course very useful for refreshing my basic knowledge about these laboratory procedures. Mrs. Cavaco is truly an excellent lecturer and a very knowledgeable scientist. I am very glad to have taken this course.

Thank you, the entire DTU team who is involved in the preparation and presentation of this great course and Coursera team for spreading the knowledge across the world.

por Made R D W

23 de Jul de 2021

V​ery clear and informative to give insights about what's happening in the area of antimicrobial resistance, as well as the urgency to do identification and surveilance of antimicrobial resistance

por judith e

1 de Dez de 2020

This is the second time I am paying to get my certificate for my completed course...I really feel bad that after paying such amount I can't get access to my certificate ...I am hoping my case will be resolved soon because I need to get the certificate.

Thanks

por Aedrian A

22 de Jan de 2021

This is an excellent overview of the standard techniques and best practices for assessing antimicrobial resistance. Even in the era of molecular-based testing, these techniques remain the bread and butter for most laboratory facilities globally and should be "mastered," including their advantages and disadvantages, before pursuing the state-of-the-art modalities. Unfortunately, the technical details of this course will preclude meaningful absorption by casual learners, and it is recommended that those with college-level microbiology knowledge, at the very least, take this offering for introduction or review purposes.

por Amanda I

11 de Jun de 2020

An excellent course for people who are particularly interested in the field of microbiology. I acquired much more knowledge and was able to go deeper than what I learned at the university. The classes cover very well about antimicrobials and I just believe that they could have more types of resistance than those presented in the last three classes. Now it's just waiting for the opportunities. Thank you very much to everyone who allowed me to have access to this wonderful content.

por Paul H

11 de Jul de 2017

An extremely interesting course that covers important aspects such as the interpretation of results and quality assurance that many short courses on antimicrobial resistance omit. There are a number of very useful links to further information. Module G on Specific Resistances was very interesting and very up-to-date. Thanks to the team at DTU who produced this course and I look forward to taking any further courses in this extremely important area that you pro

por MD M R

10 de Out de 2020

It is really a fantastic course that I have completed at an advanced level. The main advantage of this e-module is that one can participate anytime at any moment in the online lecture and the teachers are really awesome. Here you have to supply everything whatever you need so don't worry about the lecture sheet. I recommend to all of you if you are searching such kind of module, its the best time to grab this opportunity now. Thank you COURSERA.

por Edgard R

16 de Ago de 2016

This course is quite interesting for people interested on microbiological field and research because show general concepts, different techniques and tools which are used on laboratory to identify, monitor how these resistance on microorganism take an important part on public health discussion. I recommended to refresh any knowleadge that have on microbiology field.

por Alfredo A

15 de Abr de 2020

This was such an amazing course. I do research with antimicrobial peptides and wanted to learn more about resistance. This course had everything I needed to better understand the research articles I am reading (my background is chemistry). I highly recommend the course! Kudos to the instructors and everybody in team that put this course together.

por Priyanka R

18 de Set de 2020

The lectures was very useful and its helps me to boost my knowledge in Antimicrobial resistance.I did my M.Sc project in AMR and this course helps me to analyze my results quickly and Because of this I answered all the questions asked by my invigilator.. Thank you coursera for giving me a such a wonderful opportunity to attend the classes

por Mahewash K

6 de Nov de 2019

This course was thoroughly explained with such ease and perfection that I'm really very grateful to the whole team. All the guides were successful in holding interest during the lecture. I came to know about many things, all the basic so this course was actually helpful. And I would really be looking forward for many courses from Dtu.

por Robert G

14 de Jun de 2017

For a student of bioinformatics like me, this course is an indepth case study of a single topic. Antibiotic resistance is covered as it appears in the clinic (briefly), in the laboratory (extensively) and in the genotype (moderately). As such, it is a perfect case study for someone interested in bacterial genetics,

por Joana N

26 de Jan de 2017

I found this course pretty useful and interesting.

I am a pharmacist working as an information manager mostly on hospital medicines, and the antimicrobials play a huge part of the prescriptions.

It was very good to better understand the mecanisms behind the resistances and the racional to choose the best agent agains it.

por Joao F C d N

20 de Ago de 2020

I am definetely feeling grateful for my University (UNESP) giving me the opportunity to do this course. It was great and it gathered me a lot of knowledge. Also, I what to thank Lina and all the DTU team of reseachers and so for planning and ministering this course with such passion and professionalism.

por María D C V

18 de Dez de 2019

Los profesores fueron excepcionales, a pesar de ser un tema muy complicado, lo hicieron relativamente sencillo, siempre y cuando se tuviera noción del tema, aprendí muchas cosas que no sabía acerca de los microorganismos y métodos de laboratorio que estoy segura, voy a utilizar en mi vida profesional.