Chevron Left
Voltar para Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods da instituição Universidade Técnica da Dinamarca (DTU)

4.6
656 classificações
151 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The course will cover the topics related to antimicrobial resistance with basic definitions and overview on antimicrobials their use and the emergence and spread of resistance. The course will guide you through the concepts and the importance of resistance spread and dissemination and how that happens. It will show you how bacteria become resistant and which mechanisms they might use for this. And as part of the course you will also receive some training in methods for antimicrobial susceptibility testing (AST) and detection of specific resistance in the microbiological laboratories with the basic methods available and with focus on the obtention of good quality results which can be interpreted and used for different purposes. Additionally, it will show you how to use genomic analysis tools to analyze whole genome sequencing data to detect resistance genes (and or other genes of interest) in a simple and easy way using online tools freely available. In the new new version an additional module including detection of specific resistance mechanisms was added. After this course you should be able to: 1. Describe the most important families of antimicrobials and mode of action 2. Understand the basic concepts of antimicrobial resistance from several perspectives (clinical, research and microbiological) 3. Enumerate and describe how bacteria can become resistant and the mechanisms that may be involved in that process 4. Describe how antimicrobial resistance emerges and spreads around the world including concepts of antimicrobial resistance transfer, selection and dissemination 5. Enumerate the methods used for antimicrobial susceptibility testing (AST) 6. Compare dilution and diffusion methods and know the basic techniques of agar disk diffusion, broth dilution and agar dilution methods 7. Have detailed theoretical knowledge on how to perform the main methods in a laboratory 8. Know the basic concepts about analysis and interpretation of results of AST, including different breakpoints, cut-off setting and their applications. 9. Understand the importance and related concepts related to quality management and quality assurance method standardization, applied to AST 10. Relate the information obtained in this course with real cases of resistant bacteria spreading in patients, the community, animals or the environment 11. Relate the phenotypical results with results from genotyping using molecular techniques for detection of resistance mechanisms 12. Understand the concept and be able to apply genomic analysis tools used to detect resistance genes and other relevant genes from Whole Genome Sequencing (WGS) data (with demonstration of selected online tools) Disclaimer: Please note that the guidelines and methods referred or links included in these materials are updated when the videos lectures are produced and before the course is released, however these might become outdated with time....

Melhores avaliações

DJ

Nov 15, 2016

It was really a good lectures and please I want to know about my certificate in have already purchased this course and submitted all\n\nThe documents let me know when will I get my certificate .

AA

Sep 24, 2017

This i very good course. i recommended to all microbiology and molecular biology students. All three teachers are very good. specially last week lecture about molecular detection of MRSA. CRE.

Filtrar por:

101 — 125 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods

por Paulina C P

Apr 08, 2019

Un Curso Excelente para introducirse al tema y aclarar las dudas que salen durante la práctica diaria.

por Maria C P

May 21, 2019

exelente! gracias!

por Angela P

May 14, 2019

Please more courses about resistance. Thank you.

por Jesús

Jun 21, 2019

Un curso muy bueno donde aprendes grandes cosas, felicito a todos los que impartieron el curso-

por Hafiz M T M

Jul 11, 2019

It was great learning experience for me. Great course beautifully designed and well explained by the tutors. thank you coursera

por Rohul A

Jul 23, 2019

Great course that enrich my knowledge and ideas about antimicrobial resistanc, I recommend it highl.

por Cesar N

Jul 30, 2019

Great Course for introducing this important topic.

por Ghanem M G M

Aug 20, 2019

I have learned that antimicrobial resistance is a big concern in every country and as such necessary steps should be taken to curb this.

I really learned a lot. Thank you for this wonderful opportunity

por Ahmed E A E

Nov 23, 2018

Thank you so much for this information and this course

por vijay s

Feb 21, 2019

it is really a good course for a microbiology student, i learned lots of things.

please add more practical evidences and discussions, if possible.

por Malarkodi

Dec 27, 2018

Loved the lectures till Week 4 given by Lina Cavaco. I have no prior background in biology hence those were easy to understand. Week 5 lectures got more technical and I could not understand them.

A great course for understanding basics!

por Islam M M M

Sep 12, 2018

It was a very helpful and useful course , I enjoyed it very much , but I hope to be more questions during video as in sometimes get boring and too much information, Thanks.

por Sangeeth S

Oct 10, 2017

Very detailed and well-explained course. Covers a wide variety of areas in microbiology from resistance mechanisms to even the importance of quality control/standardisation. I would highly reccommend this course to anyone looking to improve their understanding of antimicrobial resistance. As a side note, I was very impressed with the presentation of this course and how, despite being an 'intermediate' level course, you can easily understand and learn from it if you have at least done AS level biology or whatever the equivalent is in your country. :D

por cristina c d

Dec 05, 2017

I found it a really good course, useful from the basic topics to the more complex ones. I will recommend it undoubtedly to anyone who would be interested in antimicrobial resistance.

por Madhu K S

Dec 08, 2017

very informative and simple

por Waddi M

Nov 14, 2016

So nice... I've learnt a lot.

por Alejandro S M

Mar 26, 2017

Muy instructivo

por Mohamed S T

Oct 11, 2016

Very important course that help to know several ways of anti microbial susceptibility testing.

por Amr F

Feb 19, 2017

very good and useful

por Ahmed I K

Oct 23, 2016

good course

por Akash R

Aug 15, 2017

It was a good course. Very helpful and very lucid

por Yuri T C

Apr 10, 2017

Good course, gives a good notion of the basics. Very technical (as in it emphasizes more the technical part of antimicrobial testing) and basic (in the theoretical part). I'm an MD student, currently on my final year. The course brought up new aspects to the antibiogram that I was oblivious about, something that I think is very important for the modern-age physician.

por Markus P

Sep 17, 2016

A good overview on antimicrobial resistance and how it is measured in the lab.

por Cristian J R C

Jan 23, 2017

It was a really good course, but I think there´s a lot of repetitions in many lectures. It´d be good to avoid that aspect in order to provide more information to the people.

por Rituparna S

Jun 29, 2016

Great Course!! Some lectures were repetitive. So I'd like to suggest the course advisors to cut down on those lectures. Overall it was a great learning experience!!