Chevron Left
Voltar para Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods da instituição Universidade Técnica da Dinamarca (DTU)

4.6
715 classificações
161 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The course will cover the topics related to antimicrobial resistance with basic definitions and overview on antimicrobials their use and the emergence and spread of resistance. The course will guide you through the concepts and the importance of resistance spread and dissemination and how that happens. It will show you how bacteria become resistant and which mechanisms they might use for this. And as part of the course you will also receive some training in methods for antimicrobial susceptibility testing (AST) and detection of specific resistance in the microbiological laboratories with the basic methods available and with focus on the obtention of good quality results which can be interpreted and used for different purposes. Additionally, it will show you how to use genomic analysis tools to analyze whole genome sequencing data to detect resistance genes (and or other genes of interest) in a simple and easy way using online tools freely available. In the new new version an additional module including detection of specific resistance mechanisms was added. After this course you should be able to: 1. Describe the most important families of antimicrobials and mode of action 2. Understand the basic concepts of antimicrobial resistance from several perspectives (clinical, research and microbiological) 3. Enumerate and describe how bacteria can become resistant and the mechanisms that may be involved in that process 4. Describe how antimicrobial resistance emerges and spreads around the world including concepts of antimicrobial resistance transfer, selection and dissemination 5. Enumerate the methods used for antimicrobial susceptibility testing (AST) 6. Compare dilution and diffusion methods and know the basic techniques of agar disk diffusion, broth dilution and agar dilution methods 7. Have detailed theoretical knowledge on how to perform the main methods in a laboratory 8. Know the basic concepts about analysis and interpretation of results of AST, including different breakpoints, cut-off setting and their applications. 9. Understand the importance and related concepts related to quality management and quality assurance method standardization, applied to AST 10. Relate the information obtained in this course with real cases of resistant bacteria spreading in patients, the community, animals or the environment 11. Relate the phenotypical results with results from genotyping using molecular techniques for detection of resistance mechanisms 12. Understand the concept and be able to apply genomic analysis tools used to detect resistance genes and other relevant genes from Whole Genome Sequencing (WGS) data (with demonstration of selected online tools) Disclaimer: Please note that the guidelines and methods referred or links included in these materials are updated when the videos lectures are produced and before the course is released, however these might become outdated with time....

Melhores avaliações

DJ

Nov 15, 2016

It was really a good lectures and please I want to know about my certificate in have already purchased this course and submitted all\n\nThe documents let me know when will I get my certificate .

AA

Sep 24, 2017

This i very good course. i recommended to all microbiology and molecular biology students. All three teachers are very good. specially last week lecture about molecular detection of MRSA. CRE.

Filtrar por:

101 — 125 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods

por xiaoxia z

Nov 30, 2016

Nice introduction course but with substantial amount of useful materials and knowledge! Excellent presentations!

por Thomas P S

Feb 27, 2018

Very good course, I particularly liked Lina's interventions. It was very well balanced, giving general definitions but also getting into enough details. Kudos to the DTU team !

por Maria C M

Aug 07, 2018

Loved this course! Looking foward to new ones!

por JATINDER K

Jul 07, 2018

This course is really helpful for me, and I am very thankful to all the teachers.

por Miriam E B

Mar 29, 2018

Excelente

por Lance R

Feb 19, 2018

Great course! Really helpful if you have anything to do with testing antimicrobial resistance in the lab or if you just want to learn more about the topic.

por ABDULAZIZ D

Oct 07, 2019

greatful lecture delivery by Lina.

Thank you.

por MUTSHIENE D E

May 04, 2017

Great course, It gave me an overview of antibiotic resistance problems.

por Jan K T E

Dec 22, 2016

Thank you to DTU especially to Dr. Lina Cavaco for expanding my knowledge about drug resistance and antimicrobial susceptibility testing. Hoping for more lessons about drug resistance. Thank you once again

por Danielle D

Jan 28, 2018

Great course! So glad I took it.

por Sandra I P A

Mar 26, 2018

Great course focused on Antimicrobial Testing for microbiologic labs

por Lee V

Nov 06, 2017

Nice overview of issues we face today.

por UMAMAHESWARA R

Mar 05, 2017

It was really a nice course, and it would help me from recollecting the past experience.

My sincere thanks to the Madams, who delivered their valuable speech.

por Victor M

Jul 12, 2016

Great teacher and contents.

por Rayd A

Feb 27, 2017

Best presentation for Antimicrobial.

por Malarkodi

Dec 27, 2018

Loved the lectures till Week 4 given by Lina Cavaco. I have no prior background in biology hence those were easy to understand. Week 5 lectures got more technical and I could not understand them.

A great course for understanding basics!

por BRUNA C L

Mar 26, 2019

I miss more reference articles during the course.

por Ahmed E A E

Nov 23, 2018

Thank you so much for this information and this course

por Rituparna S

Jun 29, 2016

Great Course!! Some lectures were repetitive. So I'd like to suggest the course advisors to cut down on those lectures. Overall it was a great learning experience!!

por PaulaNakase

Aug 16, 2016

I really enjoyed the course, being a complete novice i found it challenging to understand some of the technical terms but learnt alot.

por Yuri T C

Apr 10, 2017

Good course, gives a good notion of the basics. Very technical (as in it emphasizes more the technical part of antimicrobial testing) and basic (in the theoretical part). I'm an MD student, currently on my final year. The course brought up new aspects to the antibiogram that I was oblivious about, something that I think is very important for the modern-age physician.

por Markus P

Sep 17, 2016

A good overview on antimicrobial resistance and how it is measured in the lab.

por Cristian J R C

Jan 23, 2017

It was a really good course, but I think there´s a lot of repetitions in many lectures. It´d be good to avoid that aspect in order to provide more information to the people.

por Alejandro M M

Aug 14, 2017

I´m a Microbiologist working in a clinical lab. At this moment my goal was to remember and to practice certain knowldge that is remarkable for my duty. This course help me to do exactly this but its a shame that was a bit too concentrated in the quality control and this sort of things than the actual resistance, i know its an essential part but in my opinion it doesn't fit that much. Really liked the updated topics and the useful slides. It was a pleasant experience.

por Akash R

Aug 15, 2017

It was a good course. Very helpful and very lucid