Chevron Left
Voltar para Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments da instituição Universidade Duke

4.6
estrelas
2,337 classificações
635 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this course, you will learn what an argument is. The definition of argument will enable you to identify when speakers are giving arguments and when they are not. Next, you will learn how to break an argument into its essential parts, how to put them in order to reveal their connections, and how to fill in gaps in an argument by adding suppressed premises. By the end of this course, you will be better able to understand and appreciate arguments that you and other people present. Suggested Readings: Students who want more detailed explanations or additional exercises or who want to explore these topics in more depth should consult Understanding Arguments: An Introduction to Informal Logic, Ninth Edition, Concise, Chapters 1-5, by Walter Sinnott-Armstrong and Robert Fogelin. Course Format: Each week will be divided into multiple video segments that can be viewed separately or in groups. There will be short ungraded quizzes after each segment (to check comprehension) and a longer graded quiz at the end of the course....

Melhores avaliações

FY
5 de Jul de 2018

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

SM
10 de Jun de 2020

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

Filtrar por:

501 — 525 de 625 Avaliações para o Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

por YOUSEF A Z E

11 de Dez de 2019

This course is very useful for me, but actually it is very hard to understand all material especially the English is not my native language and must know the small different between the meaning of words and using its

por Lee J Y

29 de Jun de 2020

The course grinds the brain a lot. There's a lot of linguistics involved, which can get tiresome really fast, but I supposed it's there to prepare students for II, III, and IV, which I shall continue after some rest.

por Esther M

8 de Jan de 2018

The lectures were a little long but were thorough. I didn't realize this course was part of a series. I think I would like to see a more condensed version. I will have to take the other course(s) to find out.

por RAFAEL A M A

15 de Fev de 2017

Percibí áreas de oportunidad en la claridad de algunos de los ejemplos que el expositor empleó a lo largo del curso. El caso que más crítico fue el de "Búfalo, Búfalo, Búfalo.... hasta llegar a 11 Búfalos..."

por Chua C X

12 de Jun de 2020

It has been good in strengthening my understanding and structure of arguments. It is a very fun subject looking at some of the small things that make up arguments. Do try this out on your own free time.

por Pablo E

3 de Jan de 2018

A structured way to make and understand arguments. I recommend it. Advice for future students: Pay strong attention in the lectures to the concepts of validity, soundness and argument markers.

por Daniel M

4 de Jul de 2020

It was something completely new to me. I had a bit of a rough time understanding to begin with, but pushed through. Glad I did. I'll be continuing with the remaining four soon. Great stuff.

por Amal K

28 de Jul de 2019

Many thanks, i have had fun in the course. Material was easy to comprehend and flow easy to follow . I am just giving it 4 stars, as i think more practical examples should be provided

por Deneil L

15 de Mar de 2017

I found this course to be very interesting. I certainly gained a better understanding of arguments, my own shortcomings and steps I can take to improve/put into practice. Thank you.

por Jesus E S M

5 de Nov de 2020

I found this course full of useful information, now I am starting to analyse my daily talking with other persons in a complex way. It was a great start for the serie's think again

por Dysprosium

25 de Jun de 2017

Great intro course. The skills taught can be useful for both academic pursuits as well as making our way through the bombardment of information we navigate in our daily lives.

por Berren D

26 de Out de 2020

I learned a lot about arguments and reasoning, and the Professor does a good job explaining things. The lectures, too, are (for the most part) not too long and not too short.

por Nguyễn T Q

10 de Mai de 2020

This course helps me improve knowledge about arguments a lot. I studied many interesting things with a friendly professor. But I found hard to apply it to practice.

por Bridgette F

15 de Jul de 2019

The Instructor Is Fun,I Really Enjoyed The Entire Course Up Until The Awful FInal Quiz.I Have Not Encountered Another Final Test/Quiz Quite As Annoying As This One.

por Andrew C

16 de Nov de 2016

An excellent course, but it is hard going (took me 3 attempts to get through the final quiz!). Recommend for anyone interested in how people present arguments.

por Guillermo P

4 de Ago de 2017

Very well explained every aspect of an argument with examples explained in great detail. Clearly lot of work has put into this and I thank everyone for it.

por Ricky S S

18 de Out de 2017

Interesting view on how to construct and deconstruct arguments. Not enough focus on more complex issues though. The examples, in general, were too simple.

por Gregory R

8 de Set de 2020

Professor was fun and entertaining. This course provided information on how to break down an argument and actually get more out of what you are reading.

por Nargis l

28 de Jul de 2017

It was interesting working through this course and though I had to repeat my assignments I understood that I need to enhance my skills in argumentation.

por William M

28 de Dez de 2016

Weekly quizzes instead of just the final (that actually counts for a grade) would be very helpful to me, but it was a great course and I learned a lot!

por Vincent A

6 de Ago de 2020

Really enjoyed the course, although some of the videos did give me grief because of the length. Loved learning all the content throughout though.

por David B

3 de Nov de 2020

Algunas veces, los subtítulos, tanto en español como en inglés, tienen desfase conforme corre el video. Fuera de eso, es un excelente curso >o<

por Mario A P G

30 de Out de 2020

The course is unusual but great, as a student at University, having a course about thinking it helps to check what I'm saying before to do it.

por Win K K

15 de Jul de 2020

I do enjoy it but this course is mainly focused on theory. Sometimes, it is hard to understand and I still think it should be more practical.