Chevron Left
Voltar para Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments da instituição Universidade Duke

4.6
estrelas
2,602 classificações
706 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this course, you will learn what an argument is. The definition of argument will enable you to identify when speakers are giving arguments and when they are not. Next, you will learn how to break an argument into its essential parts, how to put them in order to reveal their connections, and how to fill in gaps in an argument by adding suppressed premises. By the end of this course, you will be better able to understand and appreciate arguments that you and other people present. Suggested Readings: Students who want more detailed explanations or additional exercises or who want to explore these topics in more depth should consult Understanding Arguments: An Introduction to Informal Logic, Ninth Edition, Concise, Chapters 1-5, by Walter Sinnott-Armstrong and Robert Fogelin. Course Format: Each week will be divided into multiple video segments that can be viewed separately or in groups. There will be short ungraded quizzes after each segment (to check comprehension) and a longer graded quiz at the end of the course....

Melhores avaliações

AA
10 de Out de 2016

Very good course, made me really think again. The professor is very clear on his explanations and he also made the course smooth and funny, which helped on the learning process. Highly recommended!

SM
10 de Jun de 2020

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

Filtrar por:

576 — 600 de 698 Avaliações para o Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

por Andrew C

16 de Nov de 2016

An excellent course, but it is hard going (took me 3 attempts to get through the final quiz!). Recommend for anyone interested in how people present arguments.

por Guillermo P

4 de Ago de 2017

Very well explained every aspect of an argument with examples explained in great detail. Clearly lot of work has put into this and I thank everyone for it.

por Ricky S S

18 de Out de 2017

Interesting view on how to construct and deconstruct arguments. Not enough focus on more complex issues though. The examples, in general, were too simple.

por Gregory R

8 de Set de 2020

Professor was fun and entertaining. This course provided information on how to break down an argument and actually get more out of what you are reading.

por Nargis l

28 de Jul de 2017

It was interesting working through this course and though I had to repeat my assignments I understood that I need to enhance my skills in argumentation.

por Will M

28 de Dez de 2016

Weekly quizzes instead of just the final (that actually counts for a grade) would be very helpful to me, but it was a great course and I learned a lot!

por Vincent A

6 de Ago de 2020

Really enjoyed the course, although some of the videos did give me grief because of the length. Loved learning all the content throughout though.

por David B

3 de Nov de 2020

Algunas veces, los subtítulos, tanto en español como en inglés, tienen desfase conforme corre el video. Fuera de eso, es un excelente curso >o<

por Lim S Y

6 de Ago de 2020

Good lesson on thought combined with linguistics and language use. Appreciate that additional materials are provided for higher level learning.

por Mario A P G

30 de Out de 2020

The course is unusual but great, as a student at University, having a course about thinking it helps to check what I'm saying before to do it.

por Win K K

15 de Jul de 2020

I do enjoy it but this course is mainly focused on theory. Sometimes, it is hard to understand and I still think it should be more practical.

por wai c c

24 de Set de 2016

I do enjoy the course through interaction with other participants and like to express my sincere gratitude to Coursera and Duke University.

por Darryl C

3 de Abr de 2017

No complaints. This course revealed im more interested in the interpersonal dynamic of influence and persuasion vs the logic of arguments.

por Fabio A C S

20 de Abr de 2020

This is a wonderful basis to understand how can the arguments are made and what are the most basic element to take into account !!

por Delamon R

9 de Jul de 2017

great course! but would have been fun if every example throughout had been from a real historical argument (no made up examples).

por Jacquelyn C M

19 de Out de 2020

Much more difficult than I anticipated. Confusing. But I did learn a lot and took tons of notes, so I will review. Thank you.

por 李保燃

1 de Mai de 2017

The course is related with language and logical analysis , so it's a little hard to learn because my English is very poor.

por Fabio D B

19 de Mai de 2020

It's very well-thought. The examples are clear and the explanations are simple.

It lacks more practice exercises, though.

por Karen M

18 de Mai de 2020

An exciting course. This one focusses on the importance and impact of interpretation and language in a conversation.

por Joe B

17 de Abr de 2020

I learned a lot about making concise, effective arguments and how to dissect others. Very informative. Thank you.

por Bilal M S

5 de Jun de 2020

A well-rounded course. Got bored during some lectures due to the monotonous delivery by the instructor.

por Sarah D

5 de Fev de 2019

Interesting and helpful in becoming more analytical. Also helped to raise awareness of language usage

por CHEN Y

27 de Ago de 2018

Basic knowledge and theory for logic, useful if you want to learn deeper about logic reasoning.

por Ajay S

29 de Out de 2016

One splendid course ! I thoroughly enjoyed taking it and look forward to the next part of it.

por Coly H

23 de Mar de 2021

The Part 1 is elementary, I wish the further chapters would be more intricate and challenging!