Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Typography

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Typography da instituição Instituto de Artes da Califórnia

4.8
2,462 classificações
500 revisões

Sobre o curso

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Melhores avaliações

LS

Apr 07, 2016

Very organized and detailed about the basic, history, characteristics of typography.\n\nI really enjoyed it and wish there were other courses by the same lecturer.\n\nThanks for the great course!!

JC

Jul 29, 2018

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Introduction to Typography

por Muhammad M H

Jun 15, 2019

Great Course for Learning Typography with insights.

por Magdalena P F

Jun 14, 2019

This course is very interesting. Includes both theory and practice and changes your mind about things you thought you already knew regarding typography.

por Oleksandra S

Jun 14, 2019

Love it. It can improve your skills in graphic design

por Mouhannad A

Jun 10, 2019

It was a good and fun course,

por Sandeep M

Jun 09, 2019

Thanks to this course, i learned a lot!!.

por Rhonda C

May 31, 2019

This course is a very good introduction to typography - it's history, technological advances, layout design and composition. It helps prove how important it is in choosing the right typeface for a project.

por Konstantinos A

May 29, 2019

Great Course I learned so many things! In fact I do not hink that I would be able to set up my design master Thesis if not for this course 💪🏻☝🏻 great job

por Susan H

May 24, 2019

Really thorough for an introductory class. The supplementary materials invite the student to go deeper. Made me get out there and get my feet wet in InDesign - fun and good learning!

por namrata

May 24, 2019

It has been very interesting to build patience & learning in this course. Typography has made me look beyond the four walls and built my own typeface.

por Inas A M T

May 22, 2019

Good

por Mingtao W

May 16, 2019

Very good intro class. Learned a lot of practical skills when applying typography to design.

por Maya R

May 14, 2019

Great introduction to typography!

por Donna B

May 14, 2019

I enjoyed this course very much.

por asmita j

May 12, 2019

E

x

c

e

l

l

e

n

t

por guy k

May 12, 2019

Very good. The course gave me knowledge about typography and terms. the assignments can be improved, the last assignment shouldn't be based on the previous one in my opinion. in general the last week of the course can consist a bit more content.

por Nichole B

May 06, 2019

Very good and helpful course.

por Justyna B

May 06, 2019

I absolutely enjoyed this course! Especially the little projects - I could actually see my progress. Really recommend.

por Nicholas S H

May 02, 2019

So far, the most helpful course out of this specialization. Taking the last course soon.

por Aleksandar J

May 02, 2019

I'm very satisfied with this course overall! Tutorials were clear and interesting and it raised my interest for typography in general. I would recommend it to anybody interested!

por SaSha D

May 02, 2019

Amazing! Super helpful! I learned history, terms, helped me with my college courses, and built onto my portfolio. LOVE!

por Doug W

Apr 29, 2019

This is a fantastic course! The video lectures were exceptionally concise and always compelling. The assignments were very effective in providing opportunities to explore and apply the ideas learned in the lectures. A wonderful learning experience all around!

por Anna V

Apr 29, 2019

Made me think in new ways and I still use what I learned in my work!

por Порфирьева А В

Apr 27, 2019

very well built course and compiled homework.

por Aura M C

Apr 21, 2019

I absolutelly LOVED this course! I can't stop looking at letterforms after taking it. Gorgeous! :)

por ahmad s i a

Apr 20, 2019

great course ever