Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Typography

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Typography da instituição Instituto de Artes da Califórnia

4.8
2,735 classificações
542 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Melhores avaliações

JC

Jul 29, 2018

Loved that the main typeface study was carried out throughout this course. Loved beginning with the writing assignment and then evolving into a full on typographic poster. Very fun and informative

LS

Apr 07, 2016

Very organized and detailed about the basic, history, characteristics of typography.\n\nI really enjoyed it and wish there were other courses by the same lecturer.\n\nThanks for the great course!!

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Introduction to Typography

por Priscila A d S

Mar 04, 2019

IT has amazing videos explanations and great history lessons about typography, but I would love to have a proper professor feedback on my designs.

por David D

May 13, 2017

The good - The teacher is great, assignments are good as well.

However there was a lot more could be included in this 4 weeks course.

The first 2 weeks could easily be combined into one. Comparing this to the previous course, Fundamentals of Graphic design, I thought we could have learned a lot more in the given time.

por Stanislav K

Jan 19, 2018

As compared with the first course, this part I found less interesting from the point of view of didactics. My impression was that I did not learn much. It is true, I found myself interested with the matter of typefaces and other elements of the typographic art. So I got inspired to find books and other means to research deeper. I also found the formulations of the assignments not very inspiring, but rather formal, so I could not develop enough enthusiasm to perform more the the necessary minimum .

por Ivan K

Dec 10, 2018

Superb course! Very insightful.

por Eunice W

Dec 03, 2018

Great course that provided my an overview of the history of type/typefaces. Fed me with interesting general knowledge on the differences between roman type, egyptian type etc.

Would highly recommend if you are interesting in picking up something new.

por Askargali A

Dec 03, 2018

It is informative, accurate and laconic. It has the least degree of subjection, which makes it easier to do tasks and assess your peers work. I enjoyed taking this course and it helped me to become more confident

por Allison W

Jan 15, 2019

This was a thoroughly enjoyable course. I wish there was another followup to it!

por Redha S

Jan 03, 2019

Waw ! I like this course

por Efren A

Jan 24, 2019

Amazing course! Very well explained, full of useful information and nice to do. Thank you!

por Camila R

Jan 26, 2019

Excellent course, highly recommended! It provides a lot of useful concepts. You will love typography after it.

por Claudio C G

Mar 02, 2019

I never thought this topic would trigger such passion in me. I loved it!

por Noha K K E

Mar 03, 2019

i think its great

por Gunjan

Mar 26, 2019

A good return to basics

por Julia G

Mar 28, 2019

I think this is my favorite course in this specialization, I actually learned a lot about making my written text legible, thanks!

por Medhat H M M

Jan 28, 2019

Nice

por Manuel A R S

Feb 12, 2019

Very practical content

por Felipe F A

Feb 11, 2019

If you like typography, take the course. If you dont, take the course! =)

por Leonardo A E M

Feb 02, 2019

well!

por Ismail A

Apr 01, 2019

great class! Im a beginner and learned a lot

por LU F

Apr 02, 2019

I enjoyed this course a lot!

por Rounak B

Apr 05, 2019

Quite an eye-opener as far as type is concerned.

por Sarah K

Apr 07, 2019

Very interesting theory. Good balance between knowledge (quizzes) and practice (assignments) to ensure learning.

por Shimaa G A

Apr 01, 2019

It is a good course

por Leon B

Mar 12, 2019

Basic information, but gave me great insight into how typography is created and works.

por Julie S

Mar 08, 2019

Very interesting and informative.