Chevron Left
Voltar para The Talmud: A Methodological Introduction

Comentários e feedback de alunos de The Talmud: A Methodological Introduction da instituição Universidade Northwestern

4.6
137 classificações
35 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The Talmud is one of the richest and most complicated works of literature the world has ever known. Since being composed around 1500 years ago it has inspired not only religious reverence but significant intellectual engagement. In this course learners will be introduced to the unique characteristics of this text and the challenges that inhere in studying it while studying a chapter of the Talmud. Students of the course can expect to develop an appreciation for how the Talmud works and why it continues to inspire religious and intellectual devotion. They will be challenged to employ critical reading skills and to analyze legal and historical concepts....

Melhores avaliações

AP

Feb 18, 2019

Great way of introducing a topic as complex as the Talmud. It was surely amazing to have such course instructors who can rarely be matched both in eloquence and erudition. Overall it was fun!

KR

Jan 20, 2017

Best course I've experienced on Coursera so far! Really engaging and not 'dumbed down'. Fantastic and charismatic professor and assistant. Already recommended the course to many friends.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o The Talmud: A Methodological Introduction

por yuki

Jun 11, 2019

I recently read a book about Talmudic Advises translated in Japanese. I liked it very much and it lead me to exploring Jewish further. I ended up taking this course.

This course was more academic than I had imagined, but I enjoyed a lot. I realized that inside, there was tons of information and studies that I can't even find on internet. So I think the time I spent on this course worth it. I will use this knowledge for further studies as a foundation. One day I hope I'll have a nice discussion time with a real Rabbi. Thank you.

por Yoshimi I

May 18, 2019

This is the first class in Talmud that was accessible at all starting from having no knowledge. Chavurah at the synagogue are all far ahead and this course has helped me find some footing in the study of Talmud.

por John L

Apr 29, 2019

Very interesting peek into the world of Talmud (and interesting to this non-Jewish student). I like that the Hebrew-reading student can access the original texts too.

por Yohanan S

Apr 07, 2019

Excellent!

por Phutoli S C

Mar 27, 2019

Excellent and comprehensive!

por

Feb 23, 2019

An excellent introduction to Talmud. Well composed, clear and easy to follow.

por Akhilesh P

Feb 18, 2019

Great way of introducing a topic as complex as the Talmud. It was surely amazing to have such course instructors who can rarely be matched both in eloquence and erudition. Overall it was fun!

por Leo H

Oct 22, 2018

great presentation with good dive into historical context and thought provoking material. quizzes are too easy, no real "homework" and self study required, which could strengthen the course. Beware that many academic views diverge from traditional Jewish interpretations and opinions accepted in more observant communities and yeshivot.

por Karen W

May 27, 2018

Exactly what I was hoping for in this class - a thorough introduction to Talmud and its associated literature, and a peek at how the material is parsed and has been understood by its readers and editors. Thanks so much!

por Lucy I D L R T

May 12, 2018

Es gratamente impresionante que gente joven este preparada y se vea la fluidez con la que trata el tema, ya que este es parte de su vida, felicitaciones a ambos profesores.

por Ellins f

Apr 24, 2018

Great introduction to Talmudic understanding. I enjoyed learning from both a man and a woman, where traditionally and sadly only men were teaching Talmud. Regardless if you are Jewish or not, this course teaches the origin of "practical religion".

por Sven S

Mar 28, 2018

This was a great course! I hope there will come a continuation to this. I certainly will join in. I am inspired to do more study of Talmud myself and can recommend to everybody interested in Talmud to take this course. It is best way to spend your time! Big compliments to the makers of it.

por CHAN W F P

Mar 15, 2018

G

por Natasha B

Jan 31, 2018

The professor is speaking as a robot, and not a human being - reading the text without any emotions, pauses, gesticulations etc, All these are necessary to make the lectures worthwhile watching, otherwise we could just read the text.

por ABDUL B Q

Dec 25, 2017

g

r

e

a

t

c

o

u

r

s

e

por David H

Dec 09, 2017

I found this course very well presented and even though somewhat difficult to understand at one time the Professors made me listen and research more then once per lesson. I really enjoyed this course and look forward to furthering my studies in this field.

por Ross A

Oct 10, 2017

Generally the course was really good, and had some excellent materials, especially the glossary for each chapter and the readings. Although it is considered an introduction, sometimes there was assumed knowledge of Judaism and Jewish theology/history, which was a bit unfortunate. This could easily be fixed with possible "additional" materials to expand on the topics covered. Overall though, it was a course definitely worth taking

por Cristina M D

Sep 23, 2017

The course was read out by the instructors and read out extremely quickly, which is very annoying.

por kouassi n c

Sep 16, 2017

c'est bon pour notre propre culture mais il faut arriver à suivre surtout qu'il y a des termes spéciaux à connaître

por Charles W

Aug 29, 2017

This is a very well constructed introduction to the Talmud but I think it would be improved if it made more demands on the student in terms of reading assignments and exercises.

por John R

Aug 24, 2017

Now I can read the Talmud and understand the discussions presented in light of the explanations given in the course.

por Gideon

Aug 01, 2017

This is hands down one of the best courses on Coursera

por Froment-Chatre

Jul 27, 2017

Todah rabah pour ce précieux cours. Un cordial shalom de France. Lehitraot.

por Robert K

Jun 18, 2017

Well-designed, informative and superbly narrated.

por Judith G

Jun 03, 2017

I wish the course had covered a bit more about the Talmud, and possibly another topic. The course may need to be a bit longer, though, to accomplish this. Otherwise it was a good beginning study on the Talmud. I appreciate the hard work both put into producing the videos. Thanks for the course.