Chevron Left
Voltar para The Talmud: A Methodological Introduction

Comentários e feedback de alunos de The Talmud: A Methodological Introduction da instituição Universidade Northwestern

4.6
estrelas
240 classificações
88 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The Talmud is one of the richest and most complicated works of literature the world has ever known. Since being composed around 1500 years ago it has inspired not only religious reverence but significant intellectual engagement. In this course learners will be introduced to the unique characteristics of this text and the challenges that inhere in studying it while studying a chapter of the Talmud. Students of the course can expect to develop an appreciation for how the Talmud works and why it continues to inspire religious and intellectual devotion. They will be challenged to employ critical reading skills and to analyze legal and historical concepts....

Melhores avaliações

AP
17 de Fev de 2019

Great way of introducing a topic as complex as the Talmud. It was surely amazing to have such course instructors who can rarely be matched both in eloquence and erudition. Overall it was fun!

KR
19 de Jan de 2017

Best course I've experienced on Coursera so far! Really engaging and not 'dumbed down'. Fantastic and charismatic professor and assistant. Already recommended the course to many friends.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 87 Avaliações para o The Talmud: A Methodological Introduction

por Kelly R

20 de Jan de 2017

Best course I've experienced on Coursera so far! Really engaging and not 'dumbed down'. Fantastic and charismatic professor and assistant. Already recommended the course to many friends.

por Barry L

8 de Jan de 2017

This course is both a traditional and non-traditional Talmud course. The non-traditional gives a historic prospective of the basis of Talmud with a modern view of its derivation.

por Zeta

1 de Nov de 2020

The course was incredible! It is extremely informative, yet just the right length for a beginner in the study of Jewish History. I have learned so much through this course, I am deeply grateful for this rare opportunity. The material provided is ideal for studying and further research on your own. The Professor as well as the incredible PhD Candidate ( I assume now a Dr) had a wonderful way of teaching and were very knowledgeable on the subject. Thank you again for the work you have put into this course. Five stars from me!

por Sven S

28 de Mar de 2018

This was a great course! I hope there will come a continuation to this. I certainly will join in. I am inspired to do more study of Talmud myself and can recommend to everybody interested in Talmud to take this course. It is best way to spend your time! Big compliments to the makers of it.

por Karen W

27 de Mai de 2018

Exactly what I was hoping for in this class - a thorough introduction to Talmud and its associated literature, and a peek at how the material is parsed and has been understood by its readers and editors. Thanks so much!

por Akhilesh P

18 de Fev de 2019

Great way of introducing a topic as complex as the Talmud. It was surely amazing to have such course instructors who can rarely be matched both in eloquence and erudition. Overall it was fun!

por Francis E F

19 de Abr de 2020

Thank you Professor Wimpfheimer for offering this course. Though I am a Catholic, the course gave me a clearer perspective on how to understand the Sacred Scriptures. Thank you! Shalom!

por Faye D

10 de Jan de 2021

The choice of material was excellent as was the presentations by both knowledgable instructors.

Would be happy to take additional advanced courses in Talmud skills from them as well.

por yuki

11 de Jun de 2019

I recently read a book about Talmudic Advises translated in Japanese. I liked it very much and it lead me to exploring Jewish further. I ended up taking this course.

This course was more academic than I had imagined, but I enjoyed a lot. I realized that inside, there was tons of information and studies that I can't even find on internet. So I think the time I spent on this course worth it. I will use this knowledge for further studies as a foundation. One day I hope I'll have a nice discussion time with a real Rabbi. Thank you.

por Amy F

4 de Mar de 2021

This course really stretched the limits of my intellect while being totally accessible, well organized, and interesting. As a secular Jew who knows next to nothing about Jewish thought and history, I'm grateful to now have enough knowledge to give an "elevator speech" about the Talmud: its origins, structure, content, and place in the faith and history. Thank you to Barry and Sarah for a wonderful, doable MOOC!

por Lakatos A

8 de Jul de 2021

I can only give high five, because of the involvement of the teachers. Even thought I am a proud Christian, I am very interested in Jewish culture and tradition, and I learned a lot from your course. I learned however one important thing : that I might know mroe about the Talmud that most of the people on this globe, but I know almost nothing, and there is still much place to learn about.

por Russell L M

21 de Ago de 2020

This course really meant a lot to me. All my life, I wondered about the Talmud's content and what studying it would entail. Yet, not being Jewish, I thought I had no way to explore my curiosity. The course provides the tools to analyze and appreciate the Talmud; it also provides a clear path for continued study. I wish this professor offered other MOOCs whatever the subject.

por Jorge L G

21 de Dez de 2019

As a Seventh Day Adventist Christian that I am, I recommended strongly. We can learn new views to understand, to make interpretations, tools to study the scriptures, and a way to improve the understanding of Jesus as a Jew, as a Torah´s student and master that he was, independient of your believings on his divine character. Great to do better exegesis and hermeneutics!!

por Norma J

16 de Abr de 2017

This course is awesome. Seriously! I'm not Jewish. I have been studying the Torah with a Jewish friend, and I am learning Hebrew. This course went beyond expectations in providing a frame of reference for understanding not only what the Talmud is, but understanding that it is accessible to any who study it! Grateful to the presenters for their energy and presence.

por Simon E C

19 de Mai de 2020

Very interesting course and well presented, yet I would have used examples from other sections of the Talmud.But all in all a SUPRB course.

The narrative at the bottom of the videos contains numerous mistakes and it needs to be proofread.

The biggest HOWLER was when then the Professor used the word " flippancy ; which was written as FLIP and SEA

por Álvaro P

24 de Set de 2019

Excelente disciplina, ótima exposição, materiais muito relevantes e ofereceram elementos para que eu possa continuar com o estudo. Parabéns e obrigado!! Alvaro C. Pestana

Excellent discipline, great exposure, very relevant materials and offered elements for me to continue with the study. Congratulations and thanks !! Alvaro C. Pestana

por Dustin K

14 de Set de 2020

This was an extremely interesting and satisfying experience. For someone who has had an interest in Rabbinic literature for a long time but never the opportunity to truly “learn”, this course was an organized, foundational starting point. Really enjoyable!

por David H

9 de Dez de 2017

I found this course very well presented and even though somewhat difficult to understand at one time the Professors made me listen and research more then once per lesson. I really enjoyed this course and look forward to furthering my studies in this field.

por Ellins f

24 de Abr de 2018

Great introduction to Talmudic understanding. I enjoyed learning from both a man and a woman, where traditionally and sadly only men were teaching Talmud. Regardless if you are Jewish or not, this course teaches the origin of "practical religion".

por Jorge E M A

25 de Dez de 2016

In MOOC, I have been taking course regarding 'Israel', even though, I did not think to find something as special as it is. The Talmud: For give a clear review, It will take me long time to express certainly its deepest way

por Sue L

12 de Jan de 2021

This was a really fascinating course. I enjoyed the broad and intelligent approach to an unusual topic.

I have never felt that the the Talmud was an approachable text and this course managed to demystify it for me.

por Yoshimi I

18 de Mai de 2019

This is the first class in Talmud that was accessible at all starting from having no knowledge. Chavurah at the synagogue are all far ahead and this course has helped me find some footing in the study of Talmud.

por Andreas K

24 de Set de 2020

ery good structured with a clear line and good examples. The topic itself is complex and sometimes confusing. However Mrs Wolf and Mr. Wimpfheimer gave a very good overview

por Lucy I D L R T

12 de Mai de 2018

Es gratamente impresionante que gente joven este preparada y se vea la fluidez con la que trata el tema, ya que este es parte de su vida, felicitaciones a ambos profesores.

por Melchisedec S

3 de Jun de 2020

Very informative. As a reader of the Bible, I wanted to get as many understandings as I could. This course has definitely helped in my understanding of interpretation.