Chevron Left
Voltar para The Talmud: A Methodological Introduction

Comentários e feedback de alunos de The Talmud: A Methodological Introduction da instituição Universidade Northwestern

4.6
estrelas
245 classificações
91 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The Talmud is one of the richest and most complicated works of literature the world has ever known. Since being composed around 1500 years ago it has inspired not only religious reverence but significant intellectual engagement. In this course learners will be introduced to the unique characteristics of this text and the challenges that inhere in studying it while studying a chapter of the Talmud. Students of the course can expect to develop an appreciation for how the Talmud works and why it continues to inspire religious and intellectual devotion. They will be challenged to employ critical reading skills and to analyze legal and historical concepts....

Melhores avaliações

AP
17 de Fev de 2019

Great way of introducing a topic as complex as the Talmud. It was surely amazing to have such course instructors who can rarely be matched both in eloquence and erudition. Overall it was fun!

KR
19 de Jan de 2017

Best course I've experienced on Coursera so far! Really engaging and not 'dumbed down'. Fantastic and charismatic professor and assistant. Already recommended the course to many friends.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 90 Avaliações para o The Talmud: A Methodological Introduction

por Felipe O

16 de Jun de 2020

They should do another extension course

por Deborah M

3 de Nov de 2019

interesting, well presented course

por Victoria R

6 de Ago de 2020

Very informative! Thank you!

por Phutoli S C

26 de Mar de 2019

Excellent and comprehensive!

por boaz m

14 de Set de 2021

v​ery well structured!!!!

por Fortunus G

26 de Mar de 2021

Great introduction!

por Leonardo D

30 de Dez de 2020

Excelente curso!!!

por David M

21 de Out de 2016

Ya'sher Koach!!!!

por Farzona M

1 de Ago de 2020

я люблю Ислам

por ABDUL B Q

25 de Dez de 2017

g

r

e

a

t

c

o

u

r

s

e

por mohamed g s a

5 de Ago de 2020

good course

por Yohanan S

7 de Abr de 2019

Excellent!

por Owen R

24 de Dez de 2021

Good Job!

por David W

14 de Dez de 2020

I enjoyed the course tremendously. However, since I am/was a complete novice to Talmud and the sometimes complex argumentation and thought processes (and I am certain I got only a smattering and a simple one at that), it was sometimes difficult to follow the videos of Prof. Barry Wimpfheimer. He spoke way too quickly and monotonously. No inflection. Also, the transcripts of the lectures are terrible. They are not at all accurate, and there are many, many spelling errors and much incorrect punctuation. It made a complex subject even harder to follow. On the other hand, the videos of (now) Dr. Sarah Wolf were exemplary. A true joy to listen to, and very clear in all respects. All in all, I enjoyed the course, but it needs polishing.

por Lisa C

27 de Mai de 2020

This class is extremely informative...i came into it knowing absolutely nothing about The Talmud. I came out of this class with a better understand of what the Talmud has to say and how it is read...What i didnt know was ..the Talmud (complete) is just huge. I did pick up a little bit of Hebrew which i think is great. Im looking forward to purchasing a few chapters of Talmud and studying further. The only drawback of this class that keeps it from being 5 stars is the instructor has a fast speech rate ...he speaks very fast so youll be thankful for the pause and rewind feature. I think if he spoke at a slower rate there would likely be another entire unit added to the class.

por Nancy J G

16 de Dez de 2020

I am a convert to Judaism and hungry for all the knowledge that I can find. The course was very good and the instructors more than capable. Maybe adding one really elementary video in the beginning for folks like me would be appreciated. Or, maybe other students are way ahead of my knowledge. The only other recommendation I would make regards the printed script that accompanies the videos. Wording is great. Punctuation dreadful, way beneath the level of the instructors and the course.

por Ross A

10 de Out de 2017

Generally the course was really good, and had some excellent materials, especially the glossary for each chapter and the readings. Although it is considered an introduction, sometimes there was assumed knowledge of Judaism and Jewish theology/history, which was a bit unfortunate. This could easily be fixed with possible "additional" materials to expand on the topics covered. Overall though, it was a course definitely worth taking

por Judith G

3 de Jun de 2017

I wish the course had covered a bit more about the Talmud, and possibly another topic. The course may need to be a bit longer, though, to accomplish this. Otherwise it was a good beginning study on the Talmud. I appreciate the hard work both put into producing the videos. Thanks for the course.

por char h

24 de Set de 2020

Very interesting, with great use of the text to illustrate various talmudic methodologies and features. However, PLEASE have someone proofread your captions. They are riddled with errors, including both leaving out Hebrew words and mis-transcribing English words.

por John H

18 de Abr de 2020

A fast paced and interesting journey through an example of the subject. Leaves a lot of questions to explore. The only thing I would like to have seen more would have been interaction with other students.

por Charles W

29 de Ago de 2017

This is a very well constructed introduction to the Talmud but I think it would be improved if it made more demands on the student in terms of reading assignments and exercises.

por John L

29 de Abr de 2019

Very interesting peek into the world of Talmud (and interesting to this non-Jewish student). I like that the Hebrew-reading student can access the original texts too.

por Patrik W

27 de Out de 2020

Informative and deatiled. A bit more practical context for those unfamiliar with the jewish tradition would have helped put this on 5-star level :)

por Lorena W

22 de Abr de 2020

I wish there were subtitles in other languages. Some concepts are too complex to understand in a foreign language.

por Ms.Supriya A K

27 de Set de 2020

The course is great and the instructors are superbly skilled people making complex topics easy to understand.