Chevron Left
Voltar para The Science of Stem Cells

Comentários e feedback de alunos de The Science of Stem Cells da instituição Museu Americano de História NaturalMuseu Americano de História Natural

4.7
estrelas
2,253 classificações

Sobre o curso

What promise do stem cells hold for the treatment of medical conditions? In this five-part online course you will explore the history and basic biology of stem cells, learn about new research techniques, and find out how stem cells could lead to cures for diseases and to individualized medicine. You will hear from Museum scientists, medical researchers at the frontiers of the field, and a panel of bioethics experts who will address the ethical implications of stem cell research and therapy. Learn what has already been accomplished, what challenges remain, and what medical breakthroughs may lie ahead....

Melhores avaliações

AD

27 de nov de 2020

Extremely informative course, I'm impressed by the examples and the research potential that stem cells provide. I'm also quite interested in finding out how these treatments will fare in the future.

MT

6 de set de 2021

this course is very helpful for me it increases my knowledge and clear many concepts about regenerative therapy. Thank You all the researchers. it created interest in me in this stem cells research

Filtrar por:

376 — 400 de 488 Avaliações para o The Science of Stem Cells

por Mark g

25 de jun de 2020

perfect

por Dher S M

21 de set de 2019

بلاتنمك

por Dr. P M B

3 de nov de 2021

wowwww

por Hugo P V

2 de mar de 2021

Great!

por ABHRAJIT D

19 de set de 2020

good..

por Rafiul A

13 de jun de 2020

Better

por Udeni W

8 de jan de 2021

great

por tingting s

28 de mai de 2022

good

por Arunkumar b

6 de set de 2020

Good

por Advait R

13 de mai de 2020

good

por Mohanad M F

13 de ago de 2021

por Shifa k A

9 de ago de 2020

H

por AAS

8 de jun de 2018

I spent a good time with this course, it was very helpful for me, especially the first week! it was rich in new, valuable information. I'm just regretted that I didn't enroll in this course before start reading articles about stem cells. It's a new field for me, so when I read articles I faced lots of hard, complicated terms. However, just from the first week of this course, everything became so clear and easy! The 5th week was a little bit harder for me, cause my native language isn't English so I spent a long time to understand the idea of the speakers in law things, also multiple speakers made me confused and less focused. Finally, THANK YOU so much dr. Zehra Dincer and your team, this course deserves all the times I spent on.

por pv h

17 de jun de 2020

this course dose provide the basic understanding about the stem cell concepts along with giving some useful insights about their application in various fields. the complete course gives you a holistic understanding about both sides the coin in the area of stem cell research. the ethical issues related to the usage of stem cell research is an eye opener about the different challenges that an aspirant stem cell researcher has to know about. the guest lectures included in the course are worth going through as they give the necessary exposure to the research experience. but a bit more updated and detailed content abut the applications would be appreciable.

por Deepika B

27 de jun de 2020

THIS COURSE WAS AMAZING AS IT TAUGHT ME ABOUT THE BASICS AND THE APPLICATIONS OF STEM CELL FROM THE ETHICAL,AS WELL AS TECHNICAL POINT OF VIEW.ALTHOUGH I FEEL THAT THE ETHICAL CONCERNS COULD BE ELABORATED BY PUTTING UP FEW PDF'S AS WELL,BECAUSE I FOUND IT DIFFICULT TO ANSWER THE WEEK 5 QUESTIONS, AS MOST OF THE QUESTIONS HADN'T BEEN DISCUSSED IN THE TALK/VIDEO.I WOULD REALLY APPRECIATE IT IF FEW PDF'S AND READING MATERIAL ARE ADDED TO WEEK 5 SO AS TO HELP THE STUDENTS TO ANSWER IT BETTER. THANKS A LOT COURSERA AND AMERICAN MUSEUM OF NATIONAL HISTORY FOR THIS EXCELLENT COURSE!!

por oswald s l

1 de ago de 2022

It was a very informative course on the state of stem cell research worldwide, primarily in the US. It gave a clear insight into the current knowledge we have and how much there is to learn. It showed the endless possibilities and diseases that could be cured when we know more, as well as the ethical concerns and implications. The checkup questions were a little irrelevant to the weeks learning at times but the majority of the questions were great for recapping your knowledge and making sure you pay attention.

por ghazale m

29 de nov de 2020

Dear Sir/Madam,

My name is Ghazale Minaiyan and I am from Iran.

The course was awesome and fulfilling; however, it was so upsetting for me when I had to check the box to confirm that I am not from Iran to get my certificate.

Despite all the hostility that exists between Iran's and the USA's government, I believe Iranian students and researchers should not be the ones to pay the price. Science should not take sides with politics; otherwise, it will miss its mission.

Respectfully,

Ghazale.

por Meghna V

19 de jan de 2022

The course content was good and delivered by the instructors in an easily understandable manner.

However, I would have liked it even more if there was at least a little bit of information on the biochemical/signaling pathways involved in iPSC formation, and stem cell differentiation.

I recommend this course to people who are completely new to the concept of stem cells, and want to focus on the clinical applications, rather than the science of how stem cells actually do what they do.

por Yasmin A

16 de jul de 2020

As a basic stem cell biology course, it covers a lot. For me, I already know around 70% of the information from my background. I expected to find more advanced information, although the fact that it is a basic course. Knowing about the regulation and the ethical dilemma surrounding stem cell research, especially in the USA, gives me a lot to think about regarding scientific research using embryonic stem cells.

por Katie A

29 de dez de 2020

This course did a great job walking you through information on stem cells. I would not expect someone with no background knowledge on stem cells to fully grasp this course though. More introductory material would have been helpful as well as having the material more broken down, particularly for the lectures from weeks 3 and 4 that were rather technical in nature.

por M. K

26 de nov de 2020

Course is really informative and interesting. what could be better are being more student centred and format of assessment, which is mainly focuses on low levels of Bloom's taxonomy.

I would like to mention, that I did not know bioethics of this topic could be so attractive and interesting to me as much as stem cell research itself, till now.

Thank you all!

por Samar A

6 de jan de 2022

The duration of the videos was longer than the rest of the courses in Coursera and after a while it could be boring and that many of the topics that were explained were very specialized and it could be difficult to understand in some places, but in general, things were examined from several visions. And that was great!You changed my opinion too.:))

por Nir S

15 de abr de 2020

Thank you for all the work you put through the preparations of this course! It turned great :)

But I have to admit, that if there was more material to read in order to understand deeply the biological facts that you lay onsite would make the course much more easier for the participants (if they hadn't any biological background in the first place).

por Sumon R

9 de mai de 2020

This course is overrated seriously.This course provide many things such as stem cell basics ,production of stem cells, isolation,application etc.This a research related course .Here you can learn regenerative medicine, clinical research , CRISPR technology ,chimera bioethics.All of these are really amazing with amazing instructors .

por Justin L

16 de fev de 2019

Great introductory class on stem cells. Only complaint is that at some points it's unclear what material you'll be tested on from the resources provided. Some quiz questions also seem to be out of order relative to the material presented, or are worded in a way that seems contradictory.