Chevron Left
Voltar para Science & Religion 101

Science & Religion 101, University of Alberta

4.3
30 classificações
10 avaliações

Informações sobre o curso

This course examines the nature of both science and religion and attempts to explore the possible relationships between them. The primary purpose is to dispel the popular myth that science and religion are entrenched in a never-ending conflict. As a result, this course argues that if the limits of both science and religion are respected, then their relationship can be complementary. Topics include: Science and Religion Categories and Foundational Principles, Definitions of Science and Religion, Science-Religion Models and Relationships, Intelligent Design and Natural Revelation, the Galileo Affair, Geology and Noah’s Flood, Evolution and Darwin’s Religious Beliefs, the Modern “Evolution” vs. “Creation” Debate, the Problem of Evil, and Interpretations of the Biblical Accounts of Origins in Genesis 1-11. The course employs a Constructive Teaching Style in order that students can develop their personal views on the relationship between science and religion and on each of the topics listed above. St. Joseph's College is a Catholic, undergraduate, liberal arts college on the University of Alberta campus. It is an independent institution that is affiliated with the University of Alberta....

Melhores avaliações

por DJ

Nov 25, 2017

This course has many insights that can help one integrate one's faith and one's science. I recommend it highly. The teacher put in a massive amount of work in this project and it shows.

por CR

Dec 11, 2017

A must-take course for anyone interested in the interface between science and religion. It provides useful foundations that would take a lot of time and reading to arrive at otherwise.

Filtrar por:

10 avaliações

por Stefanie Linze

Nov 24, 2018

Amazing information offered, more than what I could ask for at NO cost. Well instructed course with a wealth of knowledge to attain.

por Michaela Kirsch

Sep 13, 2018

I would like to sincerely thank the lectures. This course was very interesting and I gained a lot of valuable knowledge from that time. I am now thinking so much about religion.

Which I liked so much the clear, clean spocken English so it was easy to follow..

With kind regards Michaela Kirsch

por Ana R. Pelayo.

Sep 02, 2018

The course is very interesting, Ana Pelayo.

por Charles Edward Miller

May 06, 2018

Great and interesting course for the theologian, philosopher,

por Idan Arush

May 02, 2018

very interesting

por Mubarakshah Rahimi

Apr 07, 2018

Dear Sir

With all due respect,I am writing to inform you unfortunately I couldn't complete this course, because on that time I was in Detention centre.i was not feeling good,I have been detained for more than 3 years that's why everyday I became more frustrated and hopeless.even I tried to continue this course but again whatever I read I couldn't get it.3 weeks ago I have been released from Detention centre.now I am able to continue this course.

Dear sir please help me to join again .

Thanks.

Mubarak shah.

por Robert C Cornell

Dec 18, 2017

Though I disagree with the instructor on a number of his conclusions, I believe this is a good course.

por Charles-Alexandre Roy

Dec 11, 2017

A must-take course for anyone interested in the interface between science and religion. It provides useful foundations that would take a lot of time and reading to arrive at otherwise.

por Donald Johnson

Nov 25, 2017

This course has many insights that can help one integrate one's faith and one's science. I recommend it highly. The teacher put in a massive amount of work in this project and it shows.

por JOHN QUINCY

Oct 15, 2017

Interesting and fun course. Thanks so much!