Chevron Left
Voltar para Science & Religion 101

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Science & Religion 101 da instituição Universidade de AlbertaUniversidade de Alberta

4.5
estrelas
111 classificações
40 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course examines the nature of both science and religion and attempts to explore the possible relationships between them. The primary purpose is to dispel the popular myth that science and religion are entrenched in a never-ending conflict. As a result, this course argues that if the limits of both science and religion are respected, then their relationship can be complementary. Topics include: Science and Religion Categories and Foundational Principles, Definitions of Science and Religion, Science-Religion Models and Relationships, Intelligent Design and Natural Revelation, the Galileo Affair, Geology and Noah’s Flood, Evolution and Darwin’s Religious Beliefs, the Modern “Evolution” vs. “Creation” Debate, the Problem of Evil, and Interpretations of the Biblical Accounts of Origins in Genesis 1-11. The course employs a Constructive Teaching Style in order that students can develop their personal views on the relationship between science and religion and on each of the topics listed above. St. Joseph's College is a Catholic, undergraduate, liberal arts college on the University of Alberta campus. It is an independent institution that is affiliated with the University of Alberta. Denis O. Lamoureux is Professor of Science and Religion at St. Joseph's College in the University of Alberta. He is the author of Evolutionary Creation: A Christian Approach to Evolution (2008), Evolution: Scripture and Nature Say Yes! (2016), and The Bible & Ancient Science: Principles of Interpretation (2020). Lamoureux is a Research Associate in Paleontology and has contributed to a dozen scientific papers. He is cited in the Who’s Who of Theology and Science and has delivered over 600 lectures throughout the United States and Canada. Lamoureux holds three earned doctoral degrees—dentistry, theology, and biology....

Melhores avaliações

DJ
24 de Nov de 2017

This course has many insights that can help one integrate one's faith and one's science. I recommend it highly. The teacher put in a massive amount of work in this project and it shows.

CR
10 de Dez de 2017

A must-take course for anyone interested in the interface between science and religion. It provides useful foundations that would take a lot of time and reading to arrive at otherwise.

Filtrar por:

26 — 40 de 40 Avaliações para o Science & Religion 101

por Rory W

17 de Mai de 2021

I think this is a really good course for people struggling with their science and religious beliefs. It does have a bias toward Christianity, but the same principles can be applied to other religions and he mentions this. This bias should be understandable considering he is a Christian Theologian and Evolutionary Biologist. Definitely worth taking.

It is worth noting that the survey's in each week don't seem to work as of this review.

por Robert C C

17 de Dez de 2017

Though I disagree with the instructor on a number of his conclusions, I believe this is a good course.

por Diane A

12 de Nov de 2021

T​his course is useful in providing different points of view but it tends to still carry a heavy christian bias and is fairly reductionist in how it presents atheism.

por mubarak s

7 de Abr de 2018

Dear Sir

With all due respect,I am writing to inform you unfortunately I couldn't complete this course, because on that time I was in Detention centre.i was not feeling good,I have been detained for more than 3 years that's why everyday I became more frustrated and hopeless.even I tried to continue this course but again whatever I read I couldn't get it.3 weeks ago I have been released from Detention centre.now I am able to continue this course.

Dear sir please help me to join again .

Thanks.

Mubarak shah.

por Carol L M H

20 de Nov de 2021

II really enjoyed this course. The instructor is very concise and understandable. I bought his book to go with the course, so it served as an excellent textbook.

por GAJETTI C

18 de Jan de 2022

Very Interesting and very useful. from both point of view

por Winston A W

24 de Nov de 2020

Excellent, thank you.

por Shirley M

23 de Mai de 2021

Excellent course!

por techidan

2 de Mai de 2018

very interesting

por SWATHI Y

8 de Ago de 2020

Very useful

por KANHAY K M

21 de Jan de 2021

very good

por Ranjan k

12 de Mar de 2021

Good

por Md I

23 de Jan de 2021

Good

por Irena M

6 de Jun de 2021

I​ have enjoyed the course, found it very informative. I am happy to be better equipped to deal with conflict between science and religion when it comes up in my work line. The material of the course is not devoid of biases. The instructor is clearly in favor of Intelligent Design and teleological evolution and completely rejects open-ended evolution. Despite teaching not to conflate religion and science, the instructor constantly conflates militant atheism with dysteleological evolution. And then goes on to aggressively rebut some of the out-of-context quotes by atheists. I​ would hate to think that the only reconciliation between science and religion (Christianity, the course should be called Christianity and Religion) is ta belief in a version of Intelligent Design. The notion puts an inherent bias on the pursuit of scientific research that should be open-minded. The separation of physical and metaphysical and the understanding that the Bible isn't a book of science should be enough. It is okay to resign to the notion that science and religion do not directly inform each other, other than in a larger cultural sense, and there is not reason to force a connection.

por Judy P

10 de Abr de 2021

Great presentation of the concepts that enables you to understand the conflict well