Chevron Left
Voltar para Building Data Visualization Tools

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Building Data Visualization Tools da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.0
130 classificações
32 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The data science revolution has produced reams of new data from a wide variety of new sources. These new datasets are being used to answer new questions in way never before conceived. Visualization remains one of the most powerful ways draw conclusions from data, but the influx of new data types requires the development of new visualization techniques and building blocks. This course provides you with the skills for creating those new visualization building blocks. We focus on the ggplot2 framework and describe how to use and extend the system to suit the specific needs of your organization or team. Upon completing this course, learners will be able to build the tools needed to visualize a wide variety of data types and will have the fundamentals needed to address new data types as they come about....
Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Building Data Visualization Tools

por JEEWESH K J

Nov 01, 2017

Great course

por Conner M

Sep 21, 2017

I could plot in R before and many of the topics discussed in this course I already had a working grasp on. Still, the course helped me really gave me a whole new depth of knowledge on the packages that plotting is build around in R. Highly recommended!

por Ganapathi N K

Jun 06, 2018

Nice

por Oswaldo N C

Jul 26, 2017

A nice course

por Kunasekaran N

May 19, 2017

Last assignment is hard but enjoyed.

por Yaakov M

May 02, 2017

good challenges

por José A G R

Mar 05, 2017

the last task is very challenging

por José E L

Jun 19, 2017

Good material. Thanks a lot for this course.

por Gopal S

May 28, 2017

Excellent course.

por Andreas P

Sep 28, 2019

Thank you very much for that lesson.

por Antonio M G

Nov 17, 2018

Great course! You'll learn a lot about the graphic capabilities of R. However, I think there are some things that need to be explained before one goes on to complete the final project.

por KEVIN E A C

Jul 10, 2017

nice course

por Sandjaja B

May 01, 2018

It is a very good course, but feels a bit more hands-off than the other 3 preceding courses in the Mastering Software Development in R certificate.

por Francesco D Z

Aug 01, 2017

very useful, especially the final practical exam.

not 5 score because I think more time should have been spent in more modern interactive charts

por Ruoding W

Sep 18, 2017

the course content is just copy from the book

por Prakhar P

Aug 05, 2019

This course introduced to me the advanced capabilities of data visualization in R, especially using GGPLOT. It was bit of a struggle in the course project as the examples in the Mastering Software development e-book were little simplistic in nature. Overall, very satisfied that I can create my own geom. The key learning was on creating visualization using spatial data.

por Shengdi W

Jan 23, 2019

Content on ggplot2 framework is solid. However, no video or explanation to complement the textbook, students are expected to learn by reading solely.

Final assignment requires prior R programming knowledge, which is not taught in this course. This can lead to frustration in the end. Probably those who are enrolled in the entire specialization will find this assignment more manageable. I personally had to spend more than 20 hours on this supposedly 4-hour assignment.

por Ankai X

Mar 05, 2019

The peer-reviewed assign

por Shawn M

Mar 01, 2019

I have been progressing through all the courses in this specialization and, overall, the courses have been of tremendous value to me. However, it's really not the courses themselves but the book that goes along with the courses that deserves the four and five star ratings I have previously given (these courses are really nothing more than "read the book" and "take the assignments"). Nevertheless, the knowledge gained is not easily available elsewhere. 80% of this visualization course (i.e. the book) was excellent and I give it top marks. The other 20%, starting with the grid system section to the end of the book, was terrible. These sections need a complete rewrite as they are barely comprehensible and certainly not comprehensive. The final assignment does not test you on how much you learned in the course, rather it tests you on how much time you spend on your own finding other relevant sources of information on the internet to figure it out. Also, I don't understand why creating a custom geom would be a more important software development skill than R Shiny for example, given that having the ability to develop interactive apps is critical to visualization. I will give this course 3 1/2 stars, rounded down to 3 since coursera won't allow a half star. I hope the authors take what I have to say as an opportunity for improvement since I have benefited tremendously from this specialization so far and I would like to see it improved in certain areas.

por Steve E

Aug 02, 2018

I wish there were videos and not just reading a website but the content is really top notch. I will definitely be using what I've learned in the future.

por Zdenek K

Jan 09, 2017

So first of all, the material for this course in the bookdown document are very good - well structured, with good sources. My concern is that the Coursera course does not go a lot beyond, basically just referring to the document and adding quizzes + graded assignment in the last week. The assignment, however, is nice and challenging and requires people to understand the materials.

Also, the course covers other great packages than ggplot2, e.g. plotly and leaflet and methods for handling spatial data. I think it would be very nice if the students were challenged in these topics as well and evaluate them in a better way than just a quiz (programming assignment for instance).

I liked the course though and I believe it can be prepared even better.

por Kevin D

Jul 16, 2017

You'll learn how to make a custom geom, and apply what you learned to an interesting dataset.

This course has though an insane difficulty level, mostly because you don't have the information you'd need to succeed easily. I'd only recommand this course to people following the entire R specialization: if your goal is to learn how to make a custom ggplot, follow an external tutorial, you'll avoid being frustrated.

por Niklaas B v G

Oct 14, 2017

The way last exam is presented makes student lean towards unconcise programming

por Chao G

Jul 10, 2019

This course is not as satisfactory as the second one, "Advanced R Programming". You spend most of the time reading the book they wrote. There is no video lecture or interactive quiz. The most annoying part is the peer-reviewed assignment part. This is a coding project where you need to create your own geom. I understand that building your own geom is an advanced topic in visualization using R. However, at least for me, I rarely have this need in my work. The example and the dataset they use for the project isn't very interesting neither. Overall, I think this course should not be included in the specialization.

por Georgios P

Mar 03, 2017

Apart from the book the courses does not offer me anything. No videos, no active forum, no explanation. Also the assessment is not interesting and there is no much information in the teaching material in order to be able to do the assessment.

I am very disappointed with this Specialization.