Chevron Left
Voltar para Primeiros Socorros Psicológicos

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Primeiros Socorros Psicológicos da instituição Universidade Johns Hopkins

4.8
estrelas
15,868 classificações
3,903 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Learn to provide psychological first aid to people in an emergency by employing the RAPID model: Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition. Utilizing the RAPID model (Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition), this specialized course provides perspectives on injuries and trauma that are beyond those physical in nature. The RAPID model is readily applicable to public health settings, the workplace, the military, faith-based organizations, mass disaster venues, and even the demands of more commonplace critical events, e.g., dealing with the psychological aftermath of accidents, robberies, suicide, homicide, or community violence. In addition, the RAPID model has been found effective in promoting personal and community resilience. Participants will increase their abilities to: - Discuss key concepts related to PFA - Listen reflectively - Differentiate benign, non-incapacitating psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions from more severe, potentially incapacitating, crisis reactions - Prioritize (triage) psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions - Mitigate acute distress and dysfunction, as appropriate - Recognize when to facilitate access to further mental health support - Practice self-care Developed in collaboration with Johns Hopkins Open Education Lab....

Melhores avaliações

ED
22 de Mai de 2020

I am very happy and satisfied with the course program. In fact, I am excited to apply what I have learned and also looking forward to enroll in another course. Thank you for this learning opportunity!

PG
9 de Fev de 2017

A very helpful course and full of practical information for persons interfered with disaster relief and crisis intervention as this course has a well- planned syllabus and really informative vignettes

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de 3,892 Avaliações para o Primeiros Socorros Psicológicos

por Sneha D

30 de Mai de 2020

I always have believed in the idea that different people have different experiences due to different reasons and different situations. Everybodys way of understanding things and way of giving meaning to things is very subjective. No two people are the same.

We might think we know what someone's feeling or what they mean when they say they're depressed or they're anxious or anything but in reality, we don't because the words such as these have very subjective meanings. What it feels like to be depressed for me might be very different from your idea of it. This course just validated this idea for me and taught me so much more than just that. Honestly, this has been such an amazing enriching experience.

por Yuki H

30 de Abr de 2020

Thank you very much for this very useful and meaningful course. I have learned a lot from this course and I am more confident after taking this course. I am very glad that this course taught me how to use the psychological first aid to approach people who are in need of help in acute distress situations. Other than that, I can also apply the knowledge that I have gained from this course as a way to keep myself on track when I encounter such situations. This is a course that not only teaches us how to use psychological first aid to help those in need, but also serves as a way to boost our own resilience as we learn. I feel stronger, and more confidence after taking this course, thank you.

por Rashidul K K

22 de Jun de 2020

This is the very first course I have taken on Coursera and I am so happy that I did. Coming from an Marine Engineering background I must say it was completely new field for me. Dr. George Everly's lecture has been simply amazing and I enjoyed watching his lecture thoroughly. His explanations and the way he organised the slides made grasping the idea easy and that kept me motivated. I am sad the course ended but I am optimistic that I can apply what I have learnt in my life, be it work or personal. I will definitely gonna read up on the book recommended by Dr George Everly. I strongly recommend this course from Johns Hopkins, if you are interested in Psychology, you will not regret it.

por Surya P

1 de Mai de 2020

There is nothing small that can be said about this journey. From the very beginning, Dr. Everly took me on a captivating journey through the areas of RAPID, the dissection, and usage of a single video filled with subtleties - sometimes taken for granted when watching in a hurry. This changes many things - the way I look at cues present in any situation between relationships [after all, it is common that we encounter our battles of survival, in routine]; a keen sense of delayed gratification and patience so as to understand perspectives around; and most importantly, a motivating incentive on periodic check on mental health.

Thank you, Team JHU! Cheers to everyone who made this possible!

por Clio R

20 de Jul de 2020

At first, I found it hard to follow, as this was in very proper English, but this worth so much to keep going! The professor is so passionate and genuine. I've enriched my English vocabulary (although this wasn't the purpose of the course) and more importantly, I've learned the R.A.P.I.D. Model and feel more confident to help my colleagues when our office re-open and be more emphatic. I am not sure I would do this as a job, but as an office manager, as my colleagues are my client, it will help definitely understand some root causes that I could face due to the uncertainty of this present COVID situation. Thanks so much to provide such a training, and huge thanks to the professor.

por Kristine R G C

11 de Jun de 2020

This course has been very informative and helpful for helping professionals and for those who have the heart to extend social support and care for victims of adversities and even front liners. I salute Dr. George Everly, our very gentle and dynamic instructor, for sharing his expertise and passion, making sure that we learn things by heart. The modules, materials and instructor are very engaging, making me excited to progress the course and apply what I've learned. Congratulations and thank you to Johns Hopkins University for your commitment to providing quality education for all, anytime, and anywhere around the globe. God bless you! All smiles from the Philippines! :)

por ZhangYing

29 de Mai de 2017

Thanks so much for offering this fabulous course. Maybe I am not gonna be a disaster worker in the future. I find this course quite practical. It helps me understand a lot of things about people in my everyday life. Some of the part can even be used for daily communication. I really love the way Dr Everly deliver the lectures. With simple, yet profound words. Sometimes I am even nearly moved into tears, feeling that someone has understood and spoken out the words that I always longed for. The simulation videos are also really handy in helping us understand the RAPID model.

Thanks again for your great effort here. I will definitely recommend this course to my friends.

por Rebecca G

18 de Mai de 2020

I have really enjoyed this course. The content is very interesting and engaging. The only thing I struggled with was the lecture 8 triage simulation video. It was highly edited and fast and as it chopped up from person to person it was difficult to get a handle and really grapple with each individuals needs and thereby feel like I had simulated a triage consideration in any real sense.

I only wish I had had access to this when I previously worked with refugee's in crisis situations!

I am very grateful for the platform and would also add that it is a pleasure to work on the Coursera interface which makes the course more enjoyable and accessible. Many thanks.

por Arushi S

16 de Jun de 2020

I came across this course post lockdown in my country due to coronavirus. It seemed worth it for me to take this, not only to personally learn how to deal with the mental aspects of post disaster aid but also to help those around me to the best of my ability. I may not be a trained individual yet to deploy any psychological advice but this course has made a little more confident in my ability to at least listen and provide some support to my friends and the people around me in these trying times. The course is informative, insightful and well engaging for the amount of time that it was for. Thank you, Dr. George Everly, for being an amazing instructor! :)

por JOSE A P C

26 de Ago de 2020

Soy jose Alberto Pech Chi y mi opinión del curso de los Primeros Auxilios Psicológicos nos muestra buenas herramienta y métodos de apoyo en acompañar a aquellas personas que se encuentran en escenarios de crisis y que tienen como objetivo el recuperar el equilibrio emocional, junto con prevenir la aparición de secuelas psicológicas, se aplica en el momento de una crisis para ayudar a los afectados a afrontar adecuadamente una situación traumática, evitando más secuelas de las necesarias. Están indicados para reducir el estrés inicial y promover las habilidades de afrontamiento y el funcionamiento adaptado de los afectados por un incidente crítico.

por Akshay J

21 de Mai de 2020

This is probably the most informative, intellectual and useful courses i have done here so far. The videos are of perfect length. The quiz is moderately challenging which actually makes you study about the topic before attempting it. The course is planned beautifully, with simulations and videos which make understanding the topic more easy. And last but not the least, the amazing Tutor in Dr. George. This was one of those courses where i actually felt sad at the end of the course that Dr. George will not be teaching me next week. Surely one of the most prolific teachers I have ever had. Thank you Coursera and Johns Hopkins School of Public Health!!!

por Maria R J

24 de Jul de 2020

Excellent course and excellent instructor. I highly recommend taking this course even if you do not work as a first responder. I absolutely love Dr Everly approach in teaching the appropriate way, and many ways we can fail to support others. Thank you Dr Everly for all the great information I am taking with me, thousands of little seeds that you have planted and I will water and attend as I interact in the communities I come across for the rest of my life. And especially, I am taking these words from you as my NEW daily morning reflection : "Do the best you can every day, and do it because you believe your presence really matters". Very grateful ♥

por Deleted A

1 de Fev de 2016

Excellent Course. I wish there was more evaluations or points taken from the videos. Perhaps requirements to evaluate them, compare them and get observations form fellow students and teachers.

I noticed that George sometimes had no reaction to Gina n some of the videos and perhaps this was necessary in order to make sure he stood on neutral ground. Like to have had George's thought's on this.

Also perhaps one video going through the whole process from beginning to end would have helped show a complete model.

But this course is one of the best I have ever taken and I want to thank John Hopkins University and Coursera for providing it.

Jack Comer

por Katherine S

11 de Mar de 2018

This may be the best course I've taken on coursera yet. Dr. Everly is a very engaging lecturer and he explains the details of the model very well; it was very easy to understand. The quizzes where of a very appropriate level of difficulty, and I have learned a lot from the course as a whole. I especially liked that he included a section on self care. That is definitely a big obstacle to face in this line of work. After the first couple of lectures, I started to feel like I would very much like to pursue opportunities to utilize this model and help others, even if I may not see the results while I'm there. Thank you for a wonderful course!

por Lisa B

21 de Jul de 2020

4.5 STARS

Great course overall! The content was relevant and clear, the program format was well laid-out and the videos brought the content to life. Having the presenter notes below the slides was smart so that there is the option for learners to listen to and/or read the content.

With online studies, the options for testing with immediate feedback are very limited, but for me personally, I don't perform all that well with multiple choice.

Overall, I was pleased with the course and felt that the time put in was time well spent. If I am ever in the situation where this is needed, I feel prepared enough to jump in and help. Thank you!!

por Andrea M

21 de Jun de 2020

Quality introduction to psychological first aid. The course offers simulated examples on what to versus what not to do when responding to someone in crisis, as well as concrete examples for how best to engage in conversation (reflective listening techniques), criteria for accurately assessing & prioritizing survivor needs, and techniques for how to engage / respond to people in a way that is not off-putting and can assist in their recovery process. There is an opportunity to test your assessment skills, but it would be nice to be able to actually practice these skills in person (or in real-time) under the supervision of the instructor.

por Anadela V Y

6 de Jun de 2020

This is a well-organized specialized course. Dr. George Everly, Jr. is a very engaging instructor. It's certainly a privilege learning from the developer himself of Johns Hopkins University's RAPID Psychological First Aid (PFA) Model -- who's also an award-winning author and psychologist/researcher and who's had decades of fieldwork in helping and educating people, communities, mental health practitioners, and first responders worldwide. The tests in this course are also challenging enough and I'm proud to have completed this course. Here's a wealth of knowledge and information on the principles and applications of PFA. Thank you!

por Rachel D C

19 de Mai de 2020

This course is full of practical information for anyone who desires to be better equipped to serve those in need during emergencies. The course is designed for everyone, so students do not need any formal training in mental health services or disaster preparedness to benefit from it. The RAPID model of Psychological First Aid is useful and easy to understand. The lecture videos are clear, and the simulations are very helpful to see what PFA looks like in practice. This is a great introduction to a needed skill that one can build upon later. I enjoyed it and would recommend it. Thank you Dr. Everly for offering this course!

por Wilailuk N

27 de Out de 2020

I love this course because right now people using a lot of digital and high technology to connect to social media and many apps. about this case make people away from family relationship and each person there have them friends groups, parents have friends the same ages, children have a group of friends also.

it is make love away from family even siting eating in the same table but each person still looking at the phone. These things be came to sick of sadness syndrome, many case decide to suicide.

After I learn this course I clearly understand situations and I am happy to listen active about this case to assistant them.

por Dr. D B

12 de Jun de 2021

Hi I am a social psychologist. I am always eager to learn new knowledge. When I came to this course, I got caught up with the title itself. I thought first aid to psychological injuries is the best prevention. The professor who taught this course, explained more heart-warming way than I could ever expect. His explanations and write-up are thought provoking. I never have seen in my academic career such a beautiful explanation about all that cares more when a disaster strucks people. I learnt about guilt and its types. This course is all that makes you feel that being alive as a human can bring difference in others lives.

por Gary D P

20 de Mai de 2020

This course is vital for people to take. Especially if you are already a first responder or thinking about training to be one. You won't complete it and leave knowing the psychological methods and teachers of the discipline. What you will leave with is exactly what the title tells you. The ability to help others in a crisis situation. Will you be an expert? Most likely not.

But first aid is rarely about being perfect. First aid is about being the first available option that can help. The course from the very start explains what it is and what it's here for. This course is perfect for the current situation in the world.

por Abby N

23 de Jul de 2020

Dr. Everly is a compelling and compassionate professor in his lectures, with a clear mastery and advanced level of experience that he shares. This course is balanced and helpful. It stresses that it is geared to those with no experienced in Psych, and it lives up to that name. I think this should be a mandatory course for any first responder. My only critique is that I would like optional advanced readings to be included for more in-depth readings, and I suggest that some kind of warning or debrief should be connected to the San Francisco fire video, as it may trigger traumatic response in some students. Great course!

por Korie A B

5 de Jun de 2017

I can't say enough good things about Dr. GS Everly Jr's course on Psychological First Aid: RAPID PFA. His teaching style made this course a breeze. I was able to gain a new understanding in how to help victims/survivors in the wake of disaster. His tone throughout the course helped to remind me that we are there to support these survivors and not label them with a mental health diagnosis (which is easy to do when you have a mental health worker background.) I feel confident in my abilities to help survivors in the wake of disaster after taking this course. Thank you Dr. Everly! I truly enjoyed taking this course.

por James M G

28 de Fev de 2021

Excellent online programmed learning. Your learning will be enhanced by not cramming lessons together. Schedule time to reflect and apply concepts to your experiences. Taking the course with others and discussing items and videos will help you learn and apply concepts to real life situations. The full simulation video at the beginning of the course is worth more than one viewing before proceeding. Also, watch the third week extended disaster interviews several times (especially with others and share ideas). The course is well structured introduction, as well as, a good refresher for those who know about PFA.

por Sarah R G

21 de Fev de 2021

This was an excellent course. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to go into crisis intervention as a basic educational foundation to begin with learning. The course was not too heavy on studying. It was not an overwhelming amount of work, yet I was still fascinated with the material, never bored, always interested and hungered for more. It really helped me determine that this is the right field for me. Johns Hopkins provided a wonderful class. Thank you so much to George Everly, Jr. PhD. for being such an excellent teacher, motivator and someone to look up to, as you've been in the field for years!