Chevron Left
Voltar para Visões afiadas: um workshop de poesia

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Visões afiadas: um workshop de poesia da instituição Instituto de Artes da Califórnia

4.8
estrelas
1,510 classificações

Sobre o curso

Why just write poems when you can write better ones? This course is built on the notion that the most exciting writing begins after the first draft. It is specifically for folks who believe that writing poems just to express oneself is like using the Internet just for email. After all, poetry can change the way you and your readers think of the world and its inhabitants; it can break new ground for language; turn a blank sheet of paper into a teeming concert of voices and music. Though any of us may have the potential to make that happen, having an understanding of how several tools of poetic composition can be used (and audaciously “mis-used”) gives you more ways to try (and if we do this right, we might surprise ourselves most of all). We'll cover key poetic terms and devices by studying poems by a handful of modern and contemporary poets and then get a chance to try our own hand at writing new poem drafts from a select number of prompts. Throughout the course you will have the opportunity to workshop your poem drafts and get feedback on your work, working towards a more polished poem....

Melhores avaliações

ES

4 de mai de 2022

The professor and tasks were very engaging. I truly looked forward to tuning in and working through the lessons and assignments. My interest in poetry is further stoked and I can't wait to learn more.

SM

11 de jun de 2020

Loved the course. Douglas Kearney is amazing as an instructor. I love poetry and this workshop has made me happy during the times of COVID 19. I thank CalArts for the encouragement and appreciation.

Filtrar por:

201 — 225 de 615 Avaliações para o Visões afiadas: um workshop de poesia

por Mai V N

23 de fev de 2018

wonderful! I suggest to anyone who wants to learn more about poetry and even writing in general. Fun, doable, and informative! The homework prompts were well thought out and fun to do.

por Sreelakshmi C G 1 9

5 de mar de 2021

It was a great experience. With such a short time you covered most topics and more importantly stressed on the practical part, the writing! Thanks to you I brushed up my writings....

por Marilyn A

16 de abr de 2018

This was a brilliant course. Loved having to write poems for it. Loved the guy taking it. Just had trouble getting in to put assignments in and talk to people. Otherwise I loved it.

por Shimbo P W

10 de ago de 2021

Prof. Douglas is the best at it. The course has been very informative. It has indeed transformed y rendition as well as appreciation of poetry. Much love from Tanzania, East Africa.

por Muhsina K I

19 de mar de 2020

Sharpened visions was a wonderful course. Thanks to the mentors who worked behind it. thank you so much for sharing your knowledge with us. a must do course who wants to be a poet.

por Cristofer C L

9 de ago de 2016

Douglas Kearney is the best teacher I ever had. He really knows his stuff. His video lectures are so much fun to watch that I find myself wishing that his course would last forever.

por Justyna A

11 de mai de 2017

I wish all of my professors passed on knowledge like you did!!! It was theoretical and it was fun, it was practical and stimulating! I definitely wanna keep on writing, so thanks!

por Deleted A

20 de jul de 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I learned many poetry writing techniques and was adequately challenged with the assignments.

The professor was pretty funny and engaging as well.

por ummu s e

1 de fev de 2019

Amazing course, very well structured. Helped develop my poetic voice and provided technical knowledge as well. Experimented in poetic forms I'd never heard of. Thank you so much.

por Shelly K

11 de out de 2020

I got so much out of this class that I never expected. Doug made it fun, interesting, and challenging. I couldn't wait until it was time to get to my class every day. Thank you!

por Zoe C

28 de out de 2016

Fun and concise bite sized lectures. Challenging yet manageable tasks to complete. If you want to begin to explore the basics of poetry in a fun way, this is the course for you!

por Anneli W

5 de jul de 2022

I​t was a very creative way of learning. It has added another layer to my writing (and thinking) as I write in Swedish most of the time. Challenging but fun! Thank You so much!

por Óscar R

29 de jun de 2020

Excellent Course! I took this course as an introduction, because i really didn't know anything about poetry and now i am interested in learning more and trying to write poems.

por Steven M

7 de jul de 2021

This was a very good course, very enjoyable. I was especially blown away by Doug's session on revision. It was very much an aha moment for me. I highly recommend this course.

por Vinesh B

16 de ago de 2020

Really enjoyed this course along with coursework which involved submitting poems and reviewing other participants' submissions. Very good introduction to the subject matter.

por lisa r

10 de jun de 2016

I loved every part of this course. The tutorials were brilliant, the assignments were fun but the most important thing is that the course made me want to write more poetry.

por Sonali G

28 de ago de 2020

I absolutely loved this course. This course was thorough and designed in a structured way. After finishing this course I am more confident about my work. Fully recommended.

por Ashish

2 de dez de 2021

It is a very good course and the workshop thing is very beneficial as it gives you real reviews from your peers. You get to know the strong and loose points of your work.

por Rajni M

16 de nov de 2020

Exceptional Course ! Much gratitude to Doug who is a great teacher. The peers enriched the experience too. My pandemic hobby turned out to be a great learning experience.

por Michelle C C

4 de jan de 2019

This course has so much substance in it, very engaging and lively. I loved the way Doug teaches and passes across lessons! Perhaps I should come take a course at CALARTS.

por Karen J

13 de jan de 2017

A very easy yet enlightening course.. Doug is a great professor..funny too! Assignments were very easy and fun to do.. got a lot to learn in a short time... Great course!

por Dan B

17 de nov de 2015

This was an excellent course. The material was relevant, the assignments were meaningful, and the instructor was effective and motivating. I highly recommend this course.

por Elisabeth S

30 de dez de 2020

Brilliant course! Although it is short and manageable, I feel like I learned a lot. And I feel so much better in general for having deepened my relationship with poetry!

por Jesus J L

15 de dez de 2016

This course was very helpful to me in understanding poetry a little better. The professor was very engaging and I hope he will teach another poetry course in the future.

por nandiya n

30 de abr de 2021

Appreciated the opportunity to take the course. TOTAL. ENJOYMENT.

Wish it were longer -- this is just a wee taste and now am mightily hankering for more.

More please ...