Chevron Left
Voltar para Visões afiadas: um workshop de poesia

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Visões afiadas: um workshop de poesia da instituição Instituto de Artes da Califórnia

4.8
estrelas
1,511 classificações

Sobre o curso

Why just write poems when you can write better ones? This course is built on the notion that the most exciting writing begins after the first draft. It is specifically for folks who believe that writing poems just to express oneself is like using the Internet just for email. After all, poetry can change the way you and your readers think of the world and its inhabitants; it can break new ground for language; turn a blank sheet of paper into a teeming concert of voices and music. Though any of us may have the potential to make that happen, having an understanding of how several tools of poetic composition can be used (and audaciously “mis-used”) gives you more ways to try (and if we do this right, we might surprise ourselves most of all). We'll cover key poetic terms and devices by studying poems by a handful of modern and contemporary poets and then get a chance to try our own hand at writing new poem drafts from a select number of prompts. Throughout the course you will have the opportunity to workshop your poem drafts and get feedback on your work, working towards a more polished poem....

Melhores avaliações

ES

4 de mai de 2022

The professor and tasks were very engaging. I truly looked forward to tuning in and working through the lessons and assignments. My interest in poetry is further stoked and I can't wait to learn more.

VS

22 de jun de 2020

This was a superb workshop. I enjoyed myself thoroughly and learned a lot that came in my way. Grasping poetry devices taught in such an fun way was really awesome. The mentors were very supportive.

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de 615 Avaliações para o Visões afiadas: um workshop de poesia

por Jess R T

7 de ago de 2016

I found this course helpful especially because I'm in the process of revising my manuscript. I found the lessons on revision strategies were great reminders to take the time with my work, have patience with myself, maintain objectivity with my own work just as much as with that of others, and remain receptive to feedback at every stage of my poetry writing journey.

por Priscilla B

14 de mar de 2022

​Renewed my love of writing poetry which I haven't done for years. As the course description says, why write poems when you can write better poems. Through understanding of poem techniques and forms, I have seen improvement in my own poetry. The prompts are interesting and challenging. The instructor is knowlegeable and interesting. I highly recommend this course.

por james h

30 de set de 2017

Superb introduction to poetry. Throws you right in, dangles the history and language of it in front of you, up to you whether you bite. The assignments are designed to make you think, make you create, but some of the options such as write a lipogram, or use a formal structure are actually very challenging.

I thought it was very immersive and it made me feel good.

por Randy P O

12 de ago de 2016

Prof. Douglas Kearney is an excellent and entertaining instructor with a lot of wisdom to impart. He engages the subject matter with attention grabbing vitality and spirit. I appreciated the both modern and historic use of poetry to illustrate his points. The workshop revitalized my poetry skills, which were more than a bit rusty previous to taking the class.

por Michelle A

10 de jul de 2021

This course taps into your weaknesses and provides incredible insight into them. In doing this, the course is engaging, constructive, and exemplarary. I highly recommend this to those who have a great experience with poetry and those who have yet to immerse into the art. Take great time in this course, and you will be reciprocated with progress beyond measure.

por Lisa J D

23 de jul de 2020

Excellent beginners poetry class. The instructor Doug Kearney was entertaining and gave lots of information in a way that was easy to understand.’His prompts were creative and inspiring and his selection of poems as examples were really great. I would recommend this to anyone interested in writing poetry and in learning to read poetry with more understanding.

por Nneoma

26 de ago de 2015

Seriously, every person needs to take this course! I gained such a deeper appreciation and understanding of the art of poetry and have even submitted the two poems I workshopped here, 'Old Ghosts' and 'The Toenail and the Horn-Bowl' for publication. No matter the outcome, I know I will continue to write, as I have fallen in love with the art. Great work Doug!

por Isabelle J

8 de set de 2015

Loved this course. It was really informational and Douglas Kearney did a WONDERFUL job in teaching!!! :) I highly recommend it to anyone who loves to read and write poetry and to people who want to learn and get new skills and ideas in the art of poetry writing. :) Because you will get all of that, if you are willing to put your best foot forward and try. :)

por Sinisa R

22 de jan de 2017

Writing according to a prompt is not something my colleague poets like. Yet this course could teach them and you how great and new-approach poems you can be "forced" to create by that.

It will also show you how inspiring and experienced reviews you can get by a community, to push your work toward possibilities you wouldn't know about, without this synergy.

por Jia

24 de mar de 2017

I am very new to poetry and found the video lessons in this course very educational, as well as interesting and very light-hearted. I'm not interested in writing my own poetry at the moment but feel like I've broadened my education, and am now better able to assess what works and doesn't work in other people's poems. I'm very glad I watched the lessons.

por Lim S B

30 de abr de 2021

I am new to writing poems, and this course gives me some confidence to continue writing poems after the course. Thank you, DK!

I would also like to thank my peer reviewers, Raquel Plank of workshop two, and Kimberly Ward of final workshop. Both my fist submissions did not pass, and they gave very detail comments for me to rework on the poems. Thank you!

por David P

14 de ago de 2020

I enjoyed this course. The teacher's presentations were lively and informative. The peer grading doesn't work very well. Two times my grade was reduced because the grader made an error. There is a problem in the design of the assignments and grading system. Well, the grade doesn't matter to me. I wouldn't pay extra for the certificate, though.

por Elizabeth T

2 de nov de 2020

This was an exceptional course! The instructor had a great sense of humor and dramatic flair which made the class very enjoyable. There was a lot of useful information that was presented in a clear fashion. The assignments were useful and I found myself giving the prompts a lot of thought. I would love to take another course with this instructor.

por Patrick F

25 de mar de 2021

This poetry helps me a lot in terms of technicality and musicality in creating poetry. You learn from this workshop through recorded video lectures with Doug and from the given prompt assignment that peer - viewed by real people who into poetry. Highly recommended for students and individuals who want to improve their writing skills in poetry.

por Genna-Marie K

6 de jun de 2020

Despite dabbling in writing poems for more than ten years, I found the prompt extremely engaging and enlightening! This course is wonderful for beginners who have never written a poem in their life or for people who have spent decades playing with words. I feel a refreshed appreciation of what I can do with my poetry. Thanks for the experience!

por Angeliki T

23 de fev de 2021

I enjoyed this course to the fullest! From learning theory on poetry to reviewing my peers' assignments. It helped me evolve as a poet and writer and I will certainly keep on writing and helping others as well, with reviewing each other's works! Doug is a very comprehensing tutor and I enjoyed each one of the lectures! I wish I could re-do it!

por Pamela

12 de mar de 2020

I loved this course! I thought the videos were funny and engaging. I'm new to the formal study of poetry, though I have written a number of bad poems over the years. This course gave me a solid foundation on which to build, and some good prompts to use for future poems. The peer-reviewed workshops were helpful and I got some relevant feedback.

por Gabrielle L

27 de jul de 2021

The course is fulfilling! The instructor is engaging and brings life to the lessons with his personality. I learned a lot of new things in this class all the while it refreshed me of stuff I already knew but just didn't know how to apply in writing yet. All in all, it's been great! Thank you to CalArts, Mr. Kearney, and Coursera for this!

por Parv S

25 de mai de 2018

This course is really helpful in the terms as it dissects a good amount of poetry and its techniques and is presented in a real fun way. Also the poetry prompts given are really amazing and the poetry that you get to read of other peers is also just an add on. Really a beautiful course. I just wish it was more longer and had more to it.

por Arushi S

14 de fev de 2022

This was such an incredible journey. There were some times when I had to scratch my head to be creative. But all of it was worth it. The instructor is brilliant, chef's kiss and so experienced. It was a privilege to be taught by him. My interest in poetry has incresed many many folds. This course is wholesome. Loved being a part of it.

por Merlynna H

6 de out de 2015

Course was very informative. I gain added insight. I am so much more knowledgeable now. Poems, Rhyme, Meters, and Revision. I am glad that I took this course. What I have gained insight into, I will use. Thanks to a good instructor. for all the poetic Information and I enjoyed the workshop. I completed on today, 10-05-2015.

"Thank you"

por Tim W

8 de mar de 2022

G​reat course! In terms of preparing you for your own creative journey, the course is superb and Doug is a fantastic lecturer! I love the structuring around prompts that are nice little food for thoughts - as well as great starting points for your poems - as well as the balanced proportions between independent work and the workshops!

por Nicole H

13 de mai de 2018

A great set of courses for beginners or just people who would like to polish their writing with the community of writers here. Doug is a great teacher, both entertaining and efficient in teaching. I will be entering college this fall and wanted to have a stepping stone, and I believe it worked fairly well. Amazing and useful course.

por C. N K

22 de ago de 2017

This is a generous, enlightening, and entertaining poetry course taught by one of the most engaging and skilled instructors you will find online. Whether you are an old hand or just finding your feet, this workshop will help you write with a deeper understanding of what a poet can do and with greater awareness of what a poem can be.

por Bibek A

16 de mar de 2020

This is an extremely helpful course for beginners. Anyone who wants to learn the craft of writing poetry and get to the bones should definitely enroll. I've had so much fun and had time to learn plenty of new ideas. Above all, Douglas is such an energetic and vivacious instructor. Kudos to him and the makers of this course module!