Chevron Left
Voltar para Philosophy of Science

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Philosophy of Science da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.7
estrelas
148 classificações
58 avaliações

Sobre o curso

For the last four centuries, scientists have aimed to provide us with an understanding of the world around us. By all appearances, science has made substantial progress during this time. But is this progress real or illusory? And if it is real, how has this progress been made? This four-week course will consider these important questions. Specific topics will include how scientists generate knowledge through observations, experiments, and simulations; scientific objectivity and failures of scientific objectivity; the self-correcting nature of the scientific community; the positive and negative influences that values can have on science; the relationship between science and religion; and the role of the public in guiding the scientific enterprise....

Melhores avaliações

SB
19 de Fev de 2020

Interesting information, well presented. The course gave me new ways of looking at scientific studies and research that will, I believe, make me a more sophisticated consumer of science reporting.

JS
26 de Fev de 2020

This course opened me up to all sorts of perspectives and ideas that I never thought about. I was unaware of the field of the philosophy of science. I really appreciated the exposure!

Filtrar por:

51 — 59 de 59 Avaliações para o Philosophy of Science

por Sophie A

16 de Mai de 2020

Great for scientist who are new to philosophy. The lecturer is fantastic, he's very inspiring and successfully inspires you to read and learn more about philosophy. Be prepared to begin questioning everything you hold as true.

por Broney J

11 de Jul de 2020

Gives clear insight into "What science is... and how it is done by scientists", if you have a tendency to criticize the scientific methods, I would recommend this course.

por Masoud H A

17 de Nov de 2020

Enjoyed doing the course and certainly have learned a few principles related to the Philosophy of Science.

por James W M

21 de Fev de 2020

Very intellectually stimulating considering the relatively few hours involved.

Tough quizes!

por Victoria F

20 de Out de 2020

a good course for undergrad students, well put together and entertaining.

por Rohit P J

22 de Jun de 2021

c​ourse was great. but the certificate has a cropped signature. so only 3 stars.

por Saeed E

12 de Mai de 2021

The course did not go deep enough

por Anderson M W

16 de Jul de 2021

I​t would be nice if the instructor hadn't used so many sublty politically motivated examples. Perhaps he is so biased that he doesn't even see the problem. I'm alienated. It's a pity because this should be a course that teaches one to be objective, something that the instructor clearly isn't. How he clinged to the chair of a department of an Ivy League university is an example of how our universities have long ago abandoned the pursuit of truth.

por Saritha S

24 de Set de 2021

n​o video