Chevron Left
Voltar para Philosophy of Science

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Philosophy of Science da instituição Universidade da Pensilvânia

4.7
estrelas
149 classificações
59 avaliações

Sobre o curso

For the last four centuries, scientists have aimed to provide us with an understanding of the world around us. By all appearances, science has made substantial progress during this time. But is this progress real or illusory? And if it is real, how has this progress been made? This four-week course will consider these important questions. Specific topics will include how scientists generate knowledge through observations, experiments, and simulations; scientific objectivity and failures of scientific objectivity; the self-correcting nature of the scientific community; the positive and negative influences that values can have on science; the relationship between science and religion; and the role of the public in guiding the scientific enterprise....

Melhores avaliações

SB
19 de Fev de 2020

Interesting information, well presented. The course gave me new ways of looking at scientific studies and research that will, I believe, make me a more sophisticated consumer of science reporting.

JS
26 de Fev de 2020

This course opened me up to all sorts of perspectives and ideas that I never thought about. I was unaware of the field of the philosophy of science. I really appreciated the exposure!

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 59 Avaliações para o Philosophy of Science

por Varsha M

31 de Out de 2021

Truly fantastic course. The philosophy of science can be made wonderful and almost magical.

por Mucho M

24 de Jun de 2020

Great experience! The course enlightened my approach in the way I think about science.

por RAPHAELA B D O

15 de Ago de 2020

This course changed my mind about Science. It was a great investment.

por Edgar G

5 de Mar de 2020

A great introduction to the basis and the actual practice of science.

por Keith S A

6 de Mar de 2020

Great job! Very good, but just not nearly long enough!

por bassam1010

26 de Jun de 2020

An excellent crash course in the philosophy of science

por Vivien R

25 de Jan de 2021

I'd recommend this course to any scientist.

por Wolfgang W

1 de Dez de 2021

Excellent content and awesome presentation

por Richard D V

18 de Ago de 2020

This is a great course in Science. Thanks.

por Xiomara N

5 de Mai de 2020

I loved this course and all the material.

por Philip W

27 de Fev de 2020

i am looking forward to more training!

por Laura G

18 de Mai de 2020

Very interesting. I loved to do it.

por K.M S U

4 de Ago de 2021

It was a great course.

por Zheng X S

2 de Dez de 2021

Excelente. Gracias.

por Manjunath m s

24 de Jan de 2022

excellent course

por Tauseef R

18 de Jan de 2022

Fantastic course

por Alan R P M

25 de Out de 2021

simply excelent

por Keyana H

28 de Mai de 2021

great course

por Charlotte d V

27 de Fev de 2020

Thank you!

por Edgar H C L

12 de Set de 2020

Excellent

por Harris C

29 de Fev de 2020

Well structured course, Prof. Weisberg's videos were clear, articulate, Vanessa of the teaching staff was very supportive, encouraging, and engaged in participants' comments. I wish there could have been some opportunity to contrast other lines of inquiry about the world in which we live, broadly speaking "the arts," which I think could help us better understand the inquiry about the "the sciences." To carry this a bit further, the legal system has elements of the scientific inquiry (e.g., "peer review" via jury, rules of evidence, cross examination) yet it isn't, and perhaps shouldn't be "scientific. And what are the structure and rules of inquiry in a subject such as history that allow "truth" to be discovered? I present these points also to indicate that this course got me thinking.

por Lauri E

20 de Jul de 2020

The course was very well done: the lectures were coherent, concise, and well articulated, the readings were interesting but easy to grasp. Perhaps the quizzes were a bit too easy, and in a weird way detailed, asking about very small specifics at times. Naturally, a course like this can only scratch the surface of the topic, but at least I feel I myself got some new tools to dig deeper into the world of philosophy of science.

por Nicholas J

14 de Jun de 2021

Four and one-half stars. The course work was simple and well presented, as were the lectures. One of the exams included duplicate answers and another had a grammatical error, but it was easy enough to figure out the answers. I really appreciated the assignment, finding it both challenging and accessible. Thanks to The University of Pennsylvania for putting out this program!

por Paul T

1 de Mar de 2020

I found the material of the course very interesting as I have a background in physics and astronomy. The discussion on bias and methods for reducing it was well done.

I did have difficulty navigating the course material at times. It did not feel very intuitive to me, but I caught on after a while.

Thanks you for an over-all good experience.

por Arun V

26 de Fev de 2021

This was a very brief overview of a few key concepts in the philosophy of science. However, the course doesn't go into any significant detail at all. It has nonetheless whetted my appetite for further reading on the topic, to which there is no substitute in philosophy.