Chevron Left
Voltar para Speaking to persuade: Motivating audiences with solid arguments and moving language

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Speaking to persuade: Motivating audiences with solid arguments and moving language da instituição Universidade de Washington

4.7
97 classificações
23 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In the professional realm, we need to be able to argue without being argumentative. Whether you are fundraising for a nonprofit, pitching a business proposal, or suggesting a change to company policy, you are making arguments. In making the case for your topic, you often want to raise awareness, identify a pressing problem, discuss appropriate solutions, and outline specific steps for the audience. To be persuasive, you must be clear (the audience may have little to no existing knowledge), you must be convincing (you are trying to sway the audience that your argument is valid), and you must be compelling (you are trying to motivate the audience enough so that they want to take specific actions). Persuasive speaking thus requires clarity, strategy, topic mastery, plus a sense of style and presence. By the end of this course, you should be able to design persuasive speeches that address problems and solutions and that motivate audience members. You should be able to use rhetorical style strategically and deliver passionate and compelling speeches. Learners will record speeches, providing and receiving peer feedback....

Melhores avaliações

VS

Nov 15, 2017

A really exceptional course. I have done eulogies and ceremonial speeches before, but I always felt that I wasn't quite connecting with the theme. This course helped to complete the jigsaw. Thank you.

PS

Oct 03, 2018

Another great course by Matt. Really breaks down what you learned in the first course to use with persuasive speeches. Really enjoyed.

Filtrar por:

1 — 23 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Speaking to persuade: Motivating audiences with solid arguments and moving language

por Sharath K

Sep 06, 2017

Fantastic beginning course on Rhetoric.

por Juan T

Jun 06, 2017

Great course!

por Shyam P

Jun 21, 2017

i love the professor. He is great! I took all of his classes on coursera. I hope to meet him in person one day.

por Michele D

Jul 04, 2017

Excellent course! Covers best practices for organizing a persuasive speech, as well as effective phrasing. Also addresses the use of "um" as fillers. Prof. McGarrity is an excellent teacher and keeps things fun and interesting.

por Goralowski

Jul 05, 2017

Well done Matt. The course is full of practice tools how to prepare ourselves to convince others to our initiatives, thought etc.

por Aniceto P

Jul 20, 2017

Great McGarrity, as always

por felicia a

Jul 21, 2017

very interesting and helpful course, taught by a great professor in a lovely, easy and sometimes even funny way.

por LATHRO

Nov 11, 2018

Many useful tips to be a good speaker.

por Vincent S

Nov 15, 2017

A really exceptional course. I have done eulogies and ceremonial speeches before, but I always felt that I wasn't quite connecting with the theme. This course helped to complete the jigsaw. Thank you.

por Rolandas R

May 31, 2017

L

por María d C O R

Apr 06, 2018

Muy buen curso, es excelente que al fin de cada video aparezca el recuento de lo tratado, esto facilita una revisión de lo aprendido.

Muchas gracias!!!

por Santosh S

Oct 16, 2017

I think this is one of the best on persuasive speaking. THis is I feel also best of this specialization.

I was working on my persuasive speech for Toastmasters (CC#9 - project 9 of competent communicator manual) and this helped me lot!

por Oleksandr T

Dec 23, 2017

This is the 3rd course of this specialization completed so far. Very interesting and entertaining.

por Venkata N C

Nov 02, 2017

Very practical and insightful

por Abdul H

Aug 13, 2018

Great

por Hao W

Sep 28, 2018

Completed

por Panagiotis S

Oct 03, 2018

Another great course by Matt. Really breaks down what you learned in the first course to use with persuasive speeches. Really enjoyed.

por Nhat Q L

Jul 02, 2019

Great Course

por Muhammad W A

Sep 21, 2019

This course so so helpful and very easy to follow. Especially our teacher is very professional and He knows what He is doing and I am really impressed by his communications skills. I am very happy that I finally completed it. Thanks a lot for everything.

por Linda E

Aug 13, 2019

Really rigorous. Learned alot. Final assignments were a bit redundant.

por Marcelo B Y

Nov 09, 2017

Good corse, great practice with the vídeos. The interaction in the forums and groups is quite low, I thiink because s

por GIOSUE P

Jun 13, 2019

A bit better than the previous courses, yet again: too many videos that do not provide consistent tips and strategies to improve the analysis and the production of speeches. Sometimes the videos are boring and the content non-stimulating.

por Astrid P D

Aug 06, 2017

I prefer to stop the course because I can't longer watch more video with this professor. I am totally sorry but the way he speaks without pause, silence is very disturbing for me.

I prefer to give up and focus on other MOOC with the same topic but a more accessible presentation.