Chevron Left
Voltar para Speaking to persuade: Motivating audiences with solid arguments and moving language

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Speaking to persuade: Motivating audiences with solid arguments and moving language da instituição Universidade de Washington

4.8
estrelas
275 classificações
89 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In the professional realm, we need to be able to argue without being argumentative. Whether you are fundraising for a nonprofit, pitching a business proposal, or suggesting a change to company policy, you are making arguments. In making the case for your topic, you often want to raise awareness, identify a pressing problem, discuss appropriate solutions, and outline specific steps for the audience. To be persuasive, you must be clear (the audience may have little to no existing knowledge), you must be convincing (you are trying to sway the audience that your argument is valid), and you must be compelling (you are trying to motivate the audience enough so that they want to take specific actions). Persuasive speaking thus requires clarity, strategy, topic mastery, plus a sense of style and presence. By the end of this course, you should be able to design persuasive speeches that address problems and solutions and that motivate audience members. You should be able to use rhetorical style strategically and deliver passionate and compelling speeches. Learners will record speeches, providing and receiving peer feedback....

Melhores avaliações

VS
14 de Nov de 2017

A really exceptional course. I have done eulogies and ceremonial speeches before, but I always felt that I wasn't quite connecting with the theme. This course helped to complete the jigsaw. Thank you.

CW
3 de Mai de 2021

This is an engaging course that sharpens skills on good and sound speeches that make sense and communicate ones key points with an argumentative but motivating speech.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 89 Avaliações para o Speaking to persuade: Motivating audiences with solid arguments and moving language

por Prerna S

10 de Mai de 2020

I liked it and I can say for sure it clears the doubts of a speaker and gives a clear understanding of how one can write effective speeches.

Regards

por KAVYA M

22 de Set de 2020

Best course so far! Prof. Matt is so engaging and it's so fun to attend the lectures! :) Week 3 and Week 4 are very rewarding if you are the speaker looking for some good delivery and speech styles. I would highly recommend this course to anyone who really wants a persuasive speech! The course outline is done perfectly! You will surely enjoy it! :)

por LATHRO

11 de Nov de 2018

Many useful tips to be a good speaker.

por Trần Q N

10 de Dez de 2020

Very nice. I got to see some speeches, as always, and also practice for speeches. The environment element thing is very good. I often have problem speaking on class, but now I think about it, some changes in the desks' placement and sometimes to get more familiar to the class will help me get a spot where I can put my eyes at while everyone still think I'm looking at them.

por Akhilnath S B ( O - B B

6 de Dez de 2020

It was a well structured course which gave precise idea about preparation and delivery of a speech for persuasion.Simple methods and examples used in each of the topics helped to easily understand the principle.OVerall the flow of the

por Michele D

4 de Jul de 2017

Excellent course! Covers best practices for organizing a persuasive speech, as well as effective phrasing. Also addresses the use of "um" as fillers. Prof. McGarrity is an excellent teacher and keeps things fun and interesting.

por Goralowski

5 de Jul de 2017

Well done Matt. The course is full of practice tools how to prepare ourselves to convince others to our initiatives, thought etc.

por felicia a

21 de Jul de 2017

very interesting and helpful course, taught by a great professor in a lovely, easy and sometimes even funny way.

por Shyam P

21 de Jun de 2017

i love the professor. He is great! I took all of his classes on coursera. I hope to meet him in person one day.

por Sharath K

6 de Set de 2017

Fantastic beginning course on Rhetoric.

por Aniceto P y M

20 de Jul de 2017

Great McGarrity, as always

por Juan T

6 de Jun de 2017

Great course!

por Yogesh K T

16 de Dez de 2020

It was a great course in which I got to learn how to speak to persuade others. How to arrange the contents of our speeches and how to introduce stylistic devices in our speeches. The instructor was extra ordinary as regards his course delivery and effectiveness.

por Muhammad W A

21 de Set de 2019

This course so so helpful and very easy to follow. Especially our teacher is very professional and He knows what He is doing and I am really impressed by his communications skills. I am very happy that I finally completed it. Thanks a lot for everything.

por Santosh S

16 de Out de 2017

I think this is one of the best on persuasive speaking. THis is I feel also best of this specialization.

I was working on my persuasive speech for Toastmasters (CC#9 - project 9 of competent communicator manual) and this helped me lot!

por Vimal U ( G P - O U

29 de Nov de 2020

Excellent course and really enjoyed the content. I am so fascinated with fact that there is so much in speaking and how we can persuade. I am glad to have done this course and will surely try to apply in my life.

por vince s

15 de Nov de 2017

A really exceptional course. I have done eulogies and ceremonial speeches before, but I always felt that I wasn't quite connecting with the theme. This course helped to complete the jigsaw. Thank you.

por Guillaume M

1 de Jun de 2020

Loved it! Doing the whole 4 courses specialization. And the entire series is extremely interesting, quite fun to go through, and last but not least, very useful!

por María d C O R

6 de Abr de 2018

Muy buen curso, es excelente que al fin de cada video aparezca el recuento de lo tratado, esto facilita una revisión de lo aprendido.

Muchas gracias!!!

por Yogesh K K

20 de Nov de 2020

One of my best learning experiences. Matt has worked extremely hard to create comprehensive content. Huge thanks to him for that. Happy learning!!

por Shailendra S S

1 de Nov de 2020

This is an outstanding course for all type of professional be it in the field of sales/marketing, manufacturing and or any other industries .

por Mona e

18 de Jul de 2020

Really recommend completing this course, gives great tips on how to convey your point across in a comprehensive and persuasive manner!

por Panagiotis S

3 de Out de 2018

Another great course by Matt. Really breaks down what you learned in the first course to use with persuasive speeches. Really enjoyed.

por Ronald L W S

2 de Jun de 2020

Great course! I highly recommend this if you're looking into improving your communication skills, especially communicating ideas.

por Kellyn C

3 de Jun de 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. Professor has a good sense of humor. He did a good job at explaining what makes a persu