Chevron Left
Voltar para Number Theory and Cryptography

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Number Theory and Cryptography da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, San Diego

4.5
estrelas
519 classificações
113 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Numbers has always been regarded as one of the most obviously useless branches of Pure Mathematics”. Just 30 years after his death, an algorithm for encryption of secret messages was developed using achievements of number theory. It was called RSA after the names of its authors, and its implementation is probably the most frequently used computer program in the word nowadays. Without it, nobody would be able to make secure payments over the internet, or even log in securely to e-mail and other personal services. In this short online HSE course, we will make the whole journey from the foundation to RSA in 4 weeks. By the end, you will be able to apply the basics of the number theory to encrypt and decrypt messages, and to break the code if one applies RSA carelessly. You will even pass a cryptographic quest! As prerequisites we assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), basic programming in python (functions, loops, recursion), common sense and curiosity. Our intended audience are all people that work or plan to work in IT, starting from motivated high school students. Do you have technical problems? Write to us: coursera@hse.ru...

Melhores avaliações

SS
31 de Jul de 2020

I loved this course! It is unlike any I have taken before. All courses in this specialization have always included fun activities to make the taught content fun and understandable.

PW
21 de Nov de 2018

I was really impressed especially with the RSA portion of the course. It was really well explained, and the programming exercise was cleverly designed and implemented. Well done.

Filtrar por:

101 — 112 de 112 Avaliações para o Number Theory and Cryptography

por M. A

11 de Ago de 2020

The course was fun, the final assignment was really interesting. Python programming is mandatory for anyone who wants to succeed in this class. Nevertheless, I was hoping there is more mathematical discussion regarding cryptography. Some key elements, such as Diffie-Hellman key exchange and discrete logarithm problem are missing from this course. Anyway, it is still interesting though.

por Pratyush A

15 de Jul de 2020

The course is good, the topics covered are nice. The problem is that they don't teach examples very well. The last few quizzes will be tough and it will be hard to complete the course if you don't have good coding skills. The topics are interesting, that's what made me stick to the course. Also the professor's accent is a little difficult to understand.

por Matthew W

2 de Dez de 2017

The quiz from the RSA segment is a drag. The reason is that I don't see the implementation of the "given" functions and debugging via the text box provided is annoying. The first 3 segments are well prepared and have enough information for someone like me to pursuit this topic further.

por Ingrid Z

28 de Jul de 2020

Last chapter was way too challenging compared to the previous ones. I had a really tough time with the assignments. Otherwise, a very nice course !

por Long C

25 de Dez de 2021

OJ system is not good and s​upport should be better.

por Shubham U

29 de Abr de 2020

The instructor sometimes rushed through the content.

por Howoo J

7 de Jul de 2020

Tough course for non-math

por Ishrar C

17 de Mai de 2020

needs more examples for the theorems. they emphasize on the proofs more than making us understand the theorems. otherwise, okay.

por 김한아

10 de Jan de 2021

This module was the worst module in the whole specialization course. Lack of example, non-clear explanation, variables that are difficult to understand, weird way of abstracting the explanation. it feels like instructor abstract in a way that only to take student already have pre-knowledge to understand the course.

During the Euclid, It took me 4h on keep watching the videos and I found a single page that explained to me in 2 min.

Even I don't get the certificate for specialization I am not going to finish this module. From my experience, this Is a very good module that makes a person to hate to learn about number theory and cryptography

During the course, I thought only I was the one who doesn't understand what the instructors says but looking at the review I noted that it is not the case

por Charlene T

16 de Out de 2020

This was a pretty rough course, Michael Levin knows his stuff but his style of charging straight through everything with variables didn't work for me so I would catch the title of the lesson and head straight over to YouTube. Examples of the concepts in action where the instructor interacts with the screen instead of just talking over powerpoint slides would be great because the content is legit but the instruction could stand a boost or two

por Shubham C

30 de Jul de 2020

After few lecture this course is just slides reading and no proper explanation.

por Samuel R S

18 de Jun de 2018

very confusing explanations. had to look up everything elsewhere.