Chevron Left
Voltar para Dos Viajantes da Liberdade a Ferguson: narrativas de não-violência no movimento de direitos civis norte-americanos.

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Dos Viajantes da Liberdade a Ferguson: narrativas de não-violência no movimento de direitos civis norte-americanos. da instituição Universidade Emory

4.7
estrelas
189 classificações
58 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The Modern Civil Rights Movement is a significant landmark in United States history. This movement was a struggle for human rights directly challenging the nation to extend its democratic principles to African Americans and all peoples. This course sheds light on the often overlooked strategic planning that supported the direction of the events and is told by a voice intimately involved in the organization of movement—Dr. Bernard LaFayette, Jr. Topics include the history of the campaigns, the different coalitions and groups, philosophy and methods of nonviolent direct action, and the contemporary application of nonviolent conflict transformation. The course hosts several guest speakers, including Andrew Young, Reverend C.T. Vivian, Henry "Hank" Thomas, and Constance Curry. Upon completion of this course, learners will be able to: ● Discuss the contributions and involvement of civil rights activists and leaders in the Civil Rights Movement (CRM) campaigns in the United States. ● Examine the chronology and phases of the Movement and CRM campaigns. ● Recognize and characterize the diverse activist groups involved in the CRM. ● Discuss Martin Luther King Jr.’s philosophy of nonviolence from a historical perspective. ● List and define the principles and strategies of nonviolence. ● Examine organizational and social change applications related to nonviolence. ● Identify the role of nonviolence in modern activism along with additional resources to broaden knowledge of principles of nonviolence. ● Recognize the application of nonviolence theories to activism, current issues, and everyday life....

Melhores avaliações

EJ

Apr 27, 2020

This course was wonderful! I learned so much and was able to learn more in-depth o stories and events that I knew of. Dr. LaFayette is a treasure and I look forward to hopefully meeting him one day.

KS

Sep 28, 2019

I have learnt so much and will be applying this to the change action empowerment in the UK. I appreciate this opportunity to learn at my own pace and appreciate the work undertaken in the past.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Dos Viajantes da Liberdade a Ferguson: narrativas de não-violência no movimento de direitos civis norte-americanos.

por kenyaSue S

Sep 28, 2019

I have learnt so much and will be applying this to the change action empowerment in the UK. I appreciate this opportunity to learn at my own pace and appreciate the work undertaken in the past.

por Edward B

Apr 25, 2018

Among the very best courses led by the participants in the struggle for civil rights. Helped me to gain a better understanding of what has been gained (and lost) in our nation's story.

por Fernando E B N

Oct 23, 2018

It was an amazing experience to learn with Dr LaFayette about nonviolence practices, methodologies and foundations in US history and considering a worldwide and human perspective.

por JOHN Q

Dec 06, 2015

Nice review of a very difficult time in our history which was favored by some courageous folks who worked and endured a lot to effect a better society.

por Aloke N P

Dec 28, 2018

a must do course for every global citizen. Its not just exploring an idea but its also about exploring you as a human being and your capabilities.

por Diane N

Dec 02, 2015

Every body black white green or polka dot should take this course, learn to come together non violently thank you all for the lessons I learned

por Danielle C

Mar 18, 2018

Thank you for refreshing the history of a time when I witnessed so much change. I really enjoyed it.

Danielle Rawls Carr- Atlanta, Georgia

por Lisa S

Jul 09, 2017

Absolutely fascinating course - a privilege to have insights from one of the major lights of the civil rights movement

por Corinne S

May 22, 2016

One of the best and most informative classes I have taken on Coursera. I highly recommend for everyone!

por Célia C

Mar 02, 2020

Very interesting, in this course, we have al the inside view of what happened, I truly recommend.

por Valentina G M

Mar 16, 2020

I usually don't like history but the way this is told capitvated me! Thank so much

por Carmen

Nov 05, 2017

Very enlightening about non-violence and how the civil rights movement worked.

por Alzbeta S

Jun 22, 2016

One of the best courses I took on Coursera. Very informative and practical.

por Felipe T

Jan 27, 2017

This is a marvelous and very inspiring course. Thank you so much!

por line k

Oct 05, 2019

This course should be seen by all of us people of the world.

por fumi o

Apr 12, 2016

This is a great course.

It is more than a history lesson.

I

por Chuan-Chih C

Jan 04, 2016

A great course for understanding US Civil Right history!

por Alex R

Dec 29, 2015

Very interesting course - Thank you very much

por Rachel B

Mar 17, 2017

Amazing course. Thank you for sharing!

por Fran

Feb 18, 2016

Wonderfully engaging stories.

por Jeffrey f

Apr 25, 2020

tremendous and informative

por Uilson C

Jun 28, 2017

Excelente Curso!

por Alexandra S

Dec 31, 2016

Fantastic class.

por Abu M I U

Mar 13, 2019

Thanks Bernie!

por Steven P

Dec 05, 2017

Love this!