Chevron Left
Voltar para Musicianship: Tensions, Harmonic Function, and Modal Interchange

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Musicianship: Tensions, Harmonic Function, and Modal Interchange da instituição Faculdade Berklee de Música

4.8
estrelas
276 classificações
71 avaliações

Sobre o curso

After a tremendous response from learners on Coursera, Berklee Online has created a Developing Your Musicianship specialization, and this course is the third course in the series. If you have a general understanding of music theory or if you have completed Developing Your Musicianship I and II, this course will continue to help you understand musical concepts, enabling you to create and perform contemporary music. Taught by Berklee College of Music professor George W. Russell, Jr., the course includes four lessons that delve into an intermediate level of harmony and ear training. The course will introduce you to new key signatures, and explore how they are constructed. You will continue to train your ear, learning to differentiate between the various intervals and chords that were explored in Developing Your Musicianship I and II. You will learn how to borrow chords from parallel tonalities (modal interchange), and how to write more common chord progressions. The course culminates with an assignment that asks you to compose and perform a composition using popular chord progressions. As with Developing Your Musicianship I and II, this course is designed to share the joy of creating music....

Melhores avaliações

DA

Feb 10, 2019

I have grown so much musically since taking this specialization. I look forward to taking everything I've learned here, and using it to advance my musical career. I am so excited and proud of myself!

SS

Jan 19, 2017

This class was fantastic! George is an amazing instructor. For all aspiring musicians, take the four classes in Coursera/Berklee Online's Developing your Musicianship Specialization. Excellent!!

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Musicianship: Tensions, Harmonic Function, and Modal Interchange

por Lola A

Nov 25, 2018

I had a wonderful experience during this course. Lots of new knowledge acquired in chord progressions. I also now have a much better understanding of chord relations and 7ths. Thank you so much, Professor Russell, for your love of music, and for being such an effective teacher!

por Sveinbjorn O

Mar 03, 2019

Beautiful. Thank you for giving out such a high end teaching method for so little. I could afford it! Peace!

por AJ K

Dec 06, 2016

I'm torn about this course. The instructor's approach and enthusiasm are great, and the content seems fine. But with no direct access to the instructor, interactions come from discussion forums and peer reviewed assignments. The discussion forums were lifeless with virtually no staff participation. Throughout the 4-week course, there was one discussion thread with staff participation. Legitimate questions from students about content errors or technical problems went unacknowledged. Peer review is an understandable part of this course, but it has limited utility as the only feedback mechanism in a course populated by beginners.

This course is still quite new. I believe it can and will be much better if the pool of students grows and there is more staff participation. It's still a worthwhile course as is, but a tougher sell than earlier courses in this sequence.

por Chenille L

Nov 13, 2017

First of all , I love this course, I love George, I love Berklee Online, I love Berklee:)

I come from China and I'd never studied online instead going to school. But this course has given me a lot of thoughts.

Prof. George is very kind and patient when teaching us, explaining those significant words and phrases over and over again. He always plays a lot of pieces allowing me to enjoy learning music. What's more, Berklee Online combines vision and hearing together, such as learning voicing leadings with notes moving on the screen, showing chords notations when George playing the piano... especially, I really appreciate the new way of participating homework. I can not only submit my homework, but also check others homework, which can improve my skills of writing feedbacks and, it's like doing homework over and over again, for more than one time, so that I can be a lot more familiar to those knowledge. In addition, I can discuss with fellows to solve my problems and share resources with each other.

There's only one thing:) If the professors, teachers and assistants can show up more frequently in discussions, chat groups, live chats, even our e-mails, and so on, allowing us to interact with them more, it would be better for both to help, understand and communicate with each other:)

Anyway, it was the best experience EVER learning music!

FIVE STARS!

Chenille Liu

por John E P

Sep 03, 2019

I enjoyed this course, especially the Chord substitutions and Modal Interchange. The modal Interchange segment raised a number of questions for me and I was disappointed that we did not going into modes as well as look at the relative minor (Aeolian). What about Locrian, Mixolydian, Dorian etc? sus chords and dim chords were covered briefly. I'm not sure about the bVI and bVII chords. We seemed to rush through that section. I will revisit so that I'm sure what's going on. I'm still not sure that in Modal Interchange can we use any chord in the second scale or just the chord at the same position in the scale? I will find out.

por Leo A

May 20, 2017

Mr, Russell does it again. An amazing teacher with clear, short and very concise lessons. This man is a saint and a genius with the passion and patience of someone who leaves an impression on anyone who watches his videos. This man will change your life if you let him. He has changed mine prolifically and given me the faith and confidence to continue. The class is so easy to understand and the way he explains everything is so simple yet effective. Take this whole specialization. you will now be disappointed if music is what you really want to persue!

por Kaori H

Jan 16, 2019

On top of being able to learn things I've been wishing to know for my entire life, working on these courses is a great test for how I can deal with projects beside my daily routine. I've learnt a great deal about how to set my mind for the dues and to manage and create time to work on these projects.

por Deleted A

Feb 10, 2019

I have grown so much musically since taking this specialization. I look forward to taking everything I've learned here, and using it to advance my musical career. I am so excited and proud of myself!

por Skip S

Jan 19, 2017

This class was fantastic! George is an amazing instructor. For all aspiring musicians, take the four classes in Coursera/Berklee Online's Developing your Musicianship Specialization. Excellent!!

por JOSE M P L

Jul 18, 2018

ESTA GENIAL!!! MUY BIEN EXPLICADO INFORMACION CLARA Y PRECISA, TRABAJO INTERACTIVO EN TODO MOMENTO, RETROALIMENTACION ENTRE COMPAÑEROS DE GRUPO, FORO DE DISCUSION DE LOS TEMAS VISTOS EN EL CURO, EN FIN MUY RECOMENDABLE PARA TODOS AQUELLOS MUSICOS QUE QUIEREN SUBIR SU NIVEL ARMONICO.

por Abhijit B

Mar 29, 2017

It was an enjoyable experience to take this course after completing the first two. The teaching style of Prof. George W. Russel (Jr.) is engaging and fun loving. New concepts are taught very well. It will be a great experience to complete the final course. Eagerly waiting.

por Jair R

Oct 17, 2018

This Course provides the more clear and helpful information to understand easily the music's structure. You will no waste your time and effort taking this path... I feel incredible fulfill with my musicianship; thanks specially to the greatest teacher I've ever had.

por Marco A F

May 09, 2018

Very complete course. For the most part I learned the most popular progressions and reviewing my classmate’s compositions made me more aware of melody possibilities and how the different musical progressions transmit different feelings. Great overall experience.

por Olga L N

Oct 19, 2019

I learnt a lot. The course is clear and easy to follow. The constant questions asked during lectures help you master key terms and definitions. The assignments push me to work at the course during the week.

I would definitely recommend it!

por Myriam E M

Jan 07, 2020

Me ha encantado esta forma de aprender musica, aunque si para mi leer la música con letras sea un poco mas complicado que leer la notas musicales. Gracias All the best, George.

P.s. ¿Cuando puedo escribirme en el 4 curso final ?

por Nancy S

Sep 23, 2019

The instructor was excellent. The quizzes accurately reflected what the coursework covered. I would highly recommend this and the entire series of musicianship courses.

por Skyler G

Oct 29, 2016

Excellent class. Once again the prof is a joy to learn from. Only real issue is with some of the typed answers during the videos get really specific in this class.

por Hiram N

Dec 26, 2017

This course was awesome. I've already finished all lessons and BTW, this professor is a genius. Please ensure that my regards get to him. Thank you!!!!

por Robert B

Jun 12, 2018

Another great one indeed. I have run out of superlatives to describe this series but they are the best I have ever had. Thank you

por Juan L G

Feb 16, 2017

It´s beeb a wonderfull experience. It has given to me a lot of knowledge to continue learning and playing music

por Segarceanu O D

Feb 04, 2018

highly recommended. complicated musical knowledge taught in a playful, concise and practical manner.

por Barry W

Jul 10, 2017

loved this course. I really learned a lot and developed some additional skills. fantastic course

por Daniel S

Dec 17, 2016

Really fun and descriptive !! I hope Berklee keeps doing this course beacuase they are awesome !

por Wolfgang S

Jan 09, 2020

I learned a lot through this course and I really enjoy the videos. The Professor is just great.

por Minh A P T

Mar 11, 2020

Very informative, detailed and simply a wonderful experience! Thank you for the course.