Chevron Left
Voltar para Matrix Algebra for Engineers

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Matrix Algebra for Engineers da instituição Universidade de Ciência e Tecnologia de Hong Kong

4.7
165 classificações
43 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course is all about matrices, and concisely covers the linear algebra that an engineer should know. We define matrices and how to add and multiply them, and introduce some special types of matrices. We describe the Gaussian elimination algorithm used to solve systems of linear equations and the corresponding LU decomposition of a matrix. We explain the concept of vector spaces and define the main vocabulary of linear algebra. We develop the theory of determinants and use it to solve the eigenvalue problem. After each video, there are problems to solve and I have tried to choose problems that exemplify the main idea of the lecture. I try to give enough problems for students to solidify their understanding of the material, but not so many that students feel overwhelmed and drop out. I do encourage students to attempt the given problems, but if they get stuck, full solutions can be found in the lecture notes for the course. The mathematics in this matrix algebra course is presented at the level of an advanced high school student, but typically students would take this course after completing a university-level single variable calculus course. There are no derivatives or integrals in this course, but student's are expected to have a certain level of mathematical maturity. Nevertheless, anyone who wants to learn the basics of matrix algebra is welcome to join. Lecture notes may be downloaded at https://bookboon.com/en/matrix-algebra-for-engineers-ebook or http://www.math.ust.hk/~machas/matrix-algebra-for-engineers.pdf Watch the course overview video at https://youtu.be/IZcyZHomFQc...

Melhores avaliações

J

Mar 12, 2019

Es muy bueno el curso de verdad que lo recomiendo mucho para todos aquellos estudiantes que cursan Álgebra Lineal ya que tiene todas las herramientas necesarias para aprender esa materia

RH

Nov 07, 2018

Very well-prepared and presented course on matrix/linear algebra operations, with emphasis on engineering considerations. Lecture notes with examples in PDF form are especially helpful.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Matrix Algebra for Engineers

By Joel M

Jun 13, 2019

Jeff Chasnov teaches matrix algebra in a way that avoids almost all abstraction. He simplifies things, and presents tangible examples. This is a great preparation course for studying systems of linear differential equations as well.

By James B

Jun 06, 2019

Professor Jeffrey Chasnov patiently demonstrates and explains many sorts of common matrix operations. The practice problems are quite useful. I enjoyed the course and look forward to going through his next course, Differential Equations for Engineers.

By Gaurav V

Jun 05, 2019

One of the finest and well-structured course I have ever taken on Matrix Algebra. Professors Chasnov's way of teaching will certainly make you fall in love with matrices. The course starts from scratch and then cover some advanced topics in linear algebra also. One of the most exciting thing about this course is it has the answer to all the question except the grades quizzes to understand your learning of the subject.

By Jeff B

May 29, 2019

Excellent course! Lectures were succinct and illuminating. I enjoyed taking it and learned some new concepts along the way. Highly recommended. Any chance a multivariate calculus course is coming?Thanks!

By Vítor R

May 26, 2019

Jeffrey Chasnov is a very charismatic fellow and an outstanding instructor. Lessons were very concise and clutter free. He made a great effort of bringing us engineers (some in formation, some brushing up concepts) the best possible approach for the topics explored. The companion book (the electronic document provided) is the best supplementary material I’ve come across for a MOOC. When someone cares, it shows. It truly shows.

By IssacTien

May 26, 2019

难度不太平均

By Haider A

May 20, 2019

Good course for beginners!

By Chris L

May 17, 2019

This course gives a really good overview of matrix algebra. The practice problems and quizzes follow the lectures pretty closely and allowed me to directly apply the lecture topics. I'm using this course as a starting point for further linear algebra studies, and feel that this course has prepared me and has made me even more interested in the subject. This was a very enjoyable course for me. Professor Chasnov did an excellent job and I hope to take his other courses!

By Hector G J L

May 12, 2019

Very good, new things I learned and thank you very much

By Dennis B

May 07, 2019

Very good course

By Sisi Z

May 05, 2019

Really excellent courses with very concise and clear explanation! I've never learned any linear/matrix algebra before, but Dr. Jeffery Chasnov explained so well for me to understand. I've learned a lot from this course! Thank you!

By Christophe S

Apr 29, 2019

Very useful

By Praveen K

Apr 24, 2019

New type of programing

It is good

By LIU J

Apr 17, 2019

The content is very detailed, and the exercises are complementary to the lectures. But the teacher's intonation is too mild, which makes it difficult to concentrate. I hope the teaching skills could be improved. Overall, This is a good course and I really learned a lot.

By Swati A

Apr 06, 2019

Very informative and well organized. The faculty is very responsive when it comes to queries. This is the second course that I have taken by this faculty. Looking forward to more!

By Ferenc L

Apr 06, 2019

Very good course!

By John R

Apr 01, 2019

The course was very well presented in three ways. The first, the educator was very clear and the presentation technique through the use of a window board was excellent. The educator's hands on approach through exposition and examples is to be commended. The second the material is presented in a fashion that was not simple but not too hard to grasp given effort. The reinforcement through the use of quizzes, with solved examples, and examination though the use of tests, without solved examples, works.The Third, the excellent text accompanying the course is first class.

This is a high quality course.

By Dhanada M

Apr 01, 2019

It was a wonderful course and helped me great deal to refresh my fundamental ideas about Vector Algebra. The course is very well designed and paced very well with interesting practice quizzes. I thoroughly enjoyed taking the course and would strongly recommend it for both new and advanced learners of the subject. Thank you.

By Luis

Mar 24, 2019

Good, but would have appreciated slides instead of just pdf, and tests are too much on manual calculus instead of thinking...

By NAVEEN S V E

Mar 14, 2019

This course was really helpfull and i learned well due to this course.

By JORGE E M L V

Mar 12, 2019

Es muy bueno el curso de verdad que lo recomiendo mucho para todos aquellos estudiantes que cursan Álgebra Lineal ya que tiene todas las herramientas necesarias para aprender esa materia

By Anand M

Mar 09, 2019

It's very good course to study matrices, determinants, vector spaces, eigenvalue and eigenvector and it's usage.

By Christos G

Mar 03, 2019

Chasnov is outstanding! You will love the course but above all you will adore the way Chasnov marches on through the course and you are acquiring knowledge... He is a real instructor!

By xhungab

Mar 02, 2019

A good course for me.

By Kutalmis B

Feb 27, 2019

very good indeed