Chevron Left
Voltar para "The Kennedy Half Century" — Meio século após a morte de Kennedy

Comentários e feedback de alunos de "The Kennedy Half Century" — Meio século após a morte de Kennedy da instituição Universidade da Virgínia

4.6
294 classificações
75 avaliações

Sobre o curso

When John F. Kennedy entered the presidential limousine at Love Field in Dallas, Texas on November 22, 1963, he began his ride into history. That journey continues even today and we call it the Kennedy legacy. This course will explore the Presidency, assassination, and lasting legacy of President John F. Kennedy. Students will learn how JFK’s life, administration, and tragic death have influenced the general public, the media, and each of the nine U.S. presidents who followed. Understanding the Kennedy legacy and being able to identify elements of his legacy within the context of modern politics helps understand many of the vexing problems that developed over the last half century as well as many of the challenges that confront us today. November 22, 1963 was so powerful a moment that in the fifty years since the assassination, every U.S. President that followed JFK has used Kennedy’s words and actions in an effort to craft their own political image. Why does Kennedy’s influence persist, and will it continue? What are the effects? We’ll address these questions and more as we explore The Kennedy Half Century. Follow on Twitter: @JFKclass....

Melhores avaliações

JN

Jul 05, 2017

Larry Sabato is a true genius in political thought. Great realizing that he is fascinated by John Kennedy as I am. There was technical difficulty in Coursera realizing that I had finished the course.

KS

Oct 22, 2015

I really loved this class! Professor Sabato taught this class so eloquently and so well. I have studied the JFK Presidency and Assassination for years, and I loved learning more from this course.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o "The Kennedy Half Century" — Meio século após a morte de Kennedy

por Michelle M

Jan 01, 2019

A fairly well rounded course on JFK and his legacy. Some new information interwoven with some traditional history on JFK. Overall an interesting course.

por Clifton L

Jun 20, 2019

Great exposition of President Kennedy's influence in American politics

por Tom D

Jun 14, 2019

No other students took the course with me, so there was no interaction with students o professor.

por Olivia H

Jun 05, 2019

Thanks Larry Sabato you're a legend! This course helped me so much and I chose to do my A level history coursework on Kennedy and got a good mark, in part due to this. Loved it :)

por Francisco M P

May 29, 2019

I have bought the book

por Beth Z

Feb 26, 2019

Loved this course. Would have appreciated a little less plugging of the professor's book though

por John C

Feb 25, 2019

Extremely informative course. I especially liked the fact that it showed JFK in a humanistic and real light rather than how he was often romanticized by the general public. I also liked that LBJ was talked about in some positive light, illustrating that he was the forerunner to many of the policies set up by JFK.

Very informative and very educational and entertaining.

J.C

por Angelo K

Feb 09, 2019

Loved the course! A must of everyone who would like to learn about the US President Kennedy!

por

Dec 29, 2018

This course was amazing and the lectures were put in great detail. I am writing a book about the assassination of John Kennedy and this course helped me greatly with the evidence and how it affected other presidents, also with how the legacy remains and grows more throughout each person every day. I have read some of Professor Sabato's book (more towards the assassination) and it was wonderful.

por mansi g

Oct 02, 2018

easy

por Amal A E I

Sep 05, 2018

Very good Course , I really enjoyed it

por Mohamed G

Jun 04, 2018

Very resourcing course about half centery of USA history with the main actors president so influenced by legacy of legendary JFK .....enjoy it

por Hugh G

May 17, 2018

The course spent too much time on the details of the assassination; the discussion of the following half century was weak, with a peculiar emphasis on tax cuts and military action -- did terrorism 'restore purpose' to America's foreign policy? The frequent exhortations to consult the professor's book for important details were particularly vexing.

por Richard H

Apr 09, 2018

Thanks so much Larry!

por Maria K

Jan 04, 2018

It was interesting to learn about the influence of Kennedy.

por Vicky

Oct 31, 2017

Professor Sabato explains everything in a really nice manner, slowly enough to not get confused and fast enough to not get bored. The course in itself is well organised and the material provided (videos, photos, recordings etc) is a "nice touch". I am really glad I followed the course and I would recommend it to anyone, since the topic is important not just for humanities students. Also the workload is so little that allows even the busiest of you to follow it, I promise! I had fun and I cannot wait to buy the book. Thank you!

por Joaquin T

Oct 22, 2017

Great! Thanks for the opportunity

por Jim C

Oct 16, 2017

I wish there was more about his life and career, less on following presidents. Half the course focused on the assassination, which is misleading

por Jose R

Aug 29, 2017

Excellent course, taught in a very proactive way. You can tell that this is one of Dr. Sabato's favorite subjects. Way better than other history courses that I have taken. Congratulations!

por Angela W

Aug 27, 2017

Great course. It really re-ignited my interest in history.

por Jekaterina

Aug 12, 2017

It was interesting. Thank you.

por Maddison C

Jul 13, 2017

Really interesting and enjoyable. I really liked the wide range of topics the course covered from JFK's entire political career to his legacy all the way up to Obama. The course has enough detail to remain interesting the entire time yet is brief enough that the course can be completed quickly.

por Sonia A

Jul 06, 2017

Thanks! It was a great course.

por JoAnne N

Jul 05, 2017

Larry Sabato is a true genius in political thought. Great realizing that he is fascinated by John Kennedy as I am. There was technical difficulty in Coursera realizing that I had finished the course.

por George T

May 31, 2017

Very interesting