Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Virtual Reality

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Virtual Reality da instituição Universidade de Londres

4.7
stars
362 classificações
84 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course will introduce you to Virtual Reality (VR). The course will teach you everything from the basics of VR- the hardware and the history of VR- to different applications of VR, the psychology of Virtual Reality, and the challenges of the medium. The course is designed for people who are new to VR as a medium. You may have experienced some virtual reality before, and may have some hardware- but this course is suitable to individuals who have never experienced VR and those who do not have much hardware- we will explain Mobile VR as well as devices such as the Oculus Rift and HTC Vive. Introduction to Virtual Reality is the first course in the Virtual Reality Specialisation. A learner with no previous experience in Virtual Reality and/or game programming will be able to evaluate existing VR applications, and design, test, and implement their own VR experiences/games using Unity by the end of the specialisation....

Melhores avaliações

NC

Jan 29, 2018

Very good overview of theory of VR and a great start to deepen the knowledge. The course encourages you to seek out additional information and prompts you to think of applications of the technology.

CS

Dec 18, 2017

This course was very informative. I also found it challenging, which is a good thing. I was introduced to aspects of VR that had not considered, such as the psychological aspects.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Introduction to Virtual Reality

por Alexander S

Feb 07, 2019

I audited this course for Professional Development from February 1st, 2019 through February 7th, 2019. For reference, I have a Bachelor's degree in Psychology and a Master's degree in Communication Studies where I completed some research (though unpublished) in virtual reality. Overall, this course took me about three hours per completion week outside of some of the larger readings which took longer. I completed all activities available via audit (even if I couldn't submit them) and read all readings except for a few journal articles that seemed to repeat themselves.

I'll complete a week by week breakdown and then provide my thoughts about the course overall.

For week one, I thought it was a nice introduction to various head-mounted displays on the consumer market. Additionally, there was a nice overview of the history of virtual reality which included some research devices I had not seen previously. Fun fact, this is the only week you will see Dr. Gillies in this course.

For week two, there is a breakdown of all the different ways virtual reality is helping in contemporary society today (from sports to science to medical improvements). The final reading in this week is a great piece by Mel Slater describing everything from the first two weeks and most content from the third week. While certainly not a ten minute read as described, I would recommend this week for this reading along.

For week three, it is easily the most material of the entire course. Mel Slater comes as a guest professor to describe presence, immersion, embodiment, place illusion, and plausibility illusion. Dr. Slater seemed like a great fit, and the only complaint about this week was the fact that readings were academic research papers that had seemingly already been described (such as the one from week two). Additionally, these readings were described as ten minute assignments which was not the case.

Lastly, for week four, there is a shift to the development side of virtual reality. There is a large focus on graphic development and issues one may face while programming for virtual reality today.

Looking over the course as a whole, here are the positives:

I found I had learned more than I knew coming into the course.

This course specifically can be completed by those interested in social science as well as those interested in development as there is a larger focus on Psychology and theories in the field of virtual reality.

I thoroughly enjoyed hearing from Dr. Slater and his thoughts on the psychology of virtual reality as well as the illusions he showed.

Dr. Sylvia Pan had good content and was involved in almost every video.

Here are the negatives:

There were times I could see a large emphasis on CAVEs over other types of virtual reality, though I believe this to be due to the creator's own expertise.

Marco Gillies seemed to be very little involved with this particular course.

There were some grammatical errors in questions provided during lecture videos, and the answers are not examined by instructors. It is an auto-generated response so that it feels as those you are not receiving actual feedback.

Questions during lecture videos often pop up immediately after that information is covered, leading to parroting the answer back when asked about it.

Readings are all described as ten minutes, but some take hours while others take three minutes or thirty seconds. It is very inconsistent.

It appears most individuals audit this course, so those who are paying fill the discussion forums begging those who pay to review their work for the certificate completion before being charged again.

Some videos focus on the specialization and do not describe the course as an individual unit making the content confusing.

Overall, I would recommend this course. For those brand new to the subject, be aware there is peer-reviewed academic reading for this course. For some people, that alone can be a turn-off. For those fine with that content, I would spend about an hour a day on the content and you could have it completed within a few weeks time.

por Matias N

Jan 06, 2019

This introductory course on VR is awesome both for people without any previous knowledge of VR as well as for VR developers or content creators. The course introduces the very basics concepts of VR, ranging from its definition, going through its history, current VR hardware and software, the psychology behind VR and some of the challenges that the technology introduces. The lecturers Sylvia and Marco are great at teaching, making the lectures quite engaging and enjoyable overall. In addition, there are a few guests lecturers that makes the content to shine even more. That's the case of Anthony Steed, which gives a great thoroughly description of the history of VR from the analog era to the current status, and in particular, all the lectures on the psychology of VR taught by Mel Slater. Really interesting information there, including concepts and some mind-blowing researches that Mel has done. So regardless your actual experience with VR, there is something new to learn in this course for sure. Good luck!

por Douglas M

Jan 11, 2018

I have just finished auditing the course. I provides an in-depth introduction to all the aspects involved by VR, from the long history to the diferent HMDs and the challenges like avoiding nausea. I have to say the the most interesting part for me was the one covered by prof. Mel Slater: the consequences of Embodiment are so very exciting, such as the reduced bias/prejudice after people enter a virtual environment owning a diferent body color, and so on. I really look forward to checking out the next courses!

ps.: apparently there's a glitch that when I download the content to watch offline, it does not check as "done" afterwards, maybe it's worth checking out!

por James M

Oct 18, 2017

I was quite pleased to find the level of detail in this course. I feel like I have just gotten the benefit of a veteran programmers retrospect on the industry. Very cool.

One thing I would suggest... splitting part of week 3 into week 4... week 3 was fairly heavy compared to the others... though I certainly understand the desire to group that specific material together.

I would also suggest changing the assignments to be specific to one type of VR each... HMD or 360 Video. It would help people think out use cases in both spaces.

por Irvin S

Dec 17, 2019

This is a very informative course and was instrumental in my basic understanding of virtual reality. It is a great foundation for anyone who is just curious about the technology or wish to specialize in the field. The delivery of content is wonderful as there is a good balance between listening, viewing, reading and assessing ones understanding. I highly recommend this course!

por Sergio G

May 31, 2018

This has been a really good course. Although I have been working in game development and VR for some years, this module focuses on the basic principles and also in the psycology behind VR. It is a pretty simple course in terms that it does not get any technical but all the concepts explained are worth considering when planing a VR project.

por Giselle A

May 09, 2019

The instructors covered the basics in the first week, and moved on quickly to cover more in-depth topics throughout the course. I liked that I could speed up the audio for certain videos that covered what I already knew about VR. Overall, this course had a lot of material that is perfect for anyone looking to get into VR design and UX!

por Johan v M

Nov 03, 2017

I was very pleased with the level. Of an introductory course you would expect a listing and shallow description of applications, software and hardware. I was pleasantly surprised to see that this course goes well beyond that. I specifically enjoyed and learned a lot from the psychological challenges of VR and how to achieve immersion.

por Jonas C

Apr 07, 2018

Great introduction into Virtual Reality! No prior knowledge needed but even if with a lot of background, there are some new aspects and ideas. The production and instructors are very professional, and the guest appearances add another level of believability.

por Nick C

Jan 29, 2018

This course gives you the history behind Virtual Reality. After you watch this you will definitely sound like you know what you're talking about. Can't get this from just random youtube videos.

If you want to become an expert you must take these classes.

por James C

Oct 09, 2017

Excellent introductory course to virtual reality and various considerations of designing experiences within virtual reality. The teaching staff is very knowledgeable and bring their lessons, perspectives, and findings clearly and concisely.

por Jennifer T

Apr 13, 2018

Wonderful (and very accessible) introduction to virtual reality. Really love the bite size videos, the quizzes planted throughout the videos and the exercises. The professors and lecturers are well spoken and engaging.

por husayn r

Mar 13, 2019

Really thorough and well explained. All the instructor's are assets to their institution. The course also has a quizzes nicely peppered into the different weeks so you can keep a track on your learning. Thanks again.

por ALKESH

Oct 11, 2018

I love the course. The content is awesome. I want to give one message to coursera, that we are completing the course, so atleast give us one coursera T shirt. or the university t shirt from which we did the course

por Laura C

Nov 21, 2017

This was a really in-depth theory course that gave you loads of background and history. I feel more grounded in my knowledge of the history of VR and can use the research to help me design quality VR experiences.

por Jason R

May 23, 2018

What an amazing course. I learned a ton of material.

The course was very, very well taught and organized; a really seamless learning experience that has given me great confidence going forward.

Thanks so much!

por Lissa A

Feb 19, 2019

really fun learning about the history and interaction design principles for VR. Great time imagining and working out your own vr app; I look forward to completing this specialization and applying the skills

por Joshua S S

Aug 09, 2018

I have been able to learn quite a bit from this specialization and apply it to my startup, within the first course. Makes it very easy to understand how to use the tools effectively. Thank you Coursera!

por Andrew W

Mar 24, 2019

This really is ally is one f the better VR courses to begin with. It doesn't just jump straight in to VR design but gives a valuable understanding of things to consider for a really good VR experience.

por Natalia C

Jan 29, 2018

Very good overview of theory of VR and a great start to deepen the knowledge. The course encourages you to seek out additional information and prompts you to think of applications of the technology.

por Jean V T d P

Jun 16, 2018

Excelent content, there are so many interesting subjects about VR that I have not thought yet. Every lesson makes me fall even more in love to VR and its possibiilties to change our world for good.

por Son Y

Aug 22, 2019

강의를 들으면서 가상현실 콘텐츠가 다른 콘텐츠와 어떻게 다르며 앞으로 어떻게 접근해야할 지 느낄 수 있었습니다. 감사합니다.

In the course, I learned how VR content is different from other content and how to approach it in the future. Thank you.

por Rodrigo

Apr 17, 2019

It is a very good course to introduce yourself in the VR, to know its history, looks from different theories, future projection, current technology that supports it and current limitations.

por Ivan C

Jun 15, 2018

Being a non-techie, I find this course quite easy to understand. The required readings are academic papers and I took some time to understand them but it is good quality readings.

por Carol S

Dec 18, 2017

This course was very informative. I also found it challenging, which is a good thing. I was introduced to aspects of VR that had not considered, such as the psychological aspects.