Chevron Left
Voltar para Introduction to Accounting Data Analytics and Visualization

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Introduction to Accounting Data Analytics and Visualization da instituição Universidade de Illinois em Urbana-ChampaignUniversidade de Illinois em Urbana-Champaign

4.8
estrelas
380 classificações
67 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Accounting has always been about analytical thinking. From the earliest days of the profession, Luca Pacioli emphasized the importance of math and order for analyzing business transactions. The skillset that accountants have needed to perform math and to keep order has evolved from pencil and paper, to typewriters and calculators, then to spreadsheets and accounting software. A new skillset that is becoming more important for nearly every aspect of business is that of big data analytics: analyzing large amounts of data to find actionable insights. This course is designed to help accounting students develop an analytical mindset and prepare them to use data analytic programming languages like Python and R. We’ve divided the course into three main sections. In the first section, we bridge accountancy to analytics. We identify how tasks in the five major subdomains of accounting (i.e., financial, managerial, audit, tax, and systems) have historically required an analytical mindset, and we then explore how those tasks can be completed more effectively and efficiently by using big data analytics. We then present a FACT framework for guiding big data analytics: Frame a question, Assemble data, Calculate the data, and Tell others about the results. In the second section of the course, we emphasize the importance of assembling data. Using financial statement data, we explain desirable characteristics of both data and datasets that will lead to effective calculations and visualizations. In the third, and largest section of the course, we demonstrate and explore how Excel and Tableau can be used to analyze big data. We describe visual perception principles and then apply those principles to create effective visualizations. We then examine fundamental data analytic tools, such as regression, linear programming (using Excel Solver), and clustering in the context of point of sale data and loan data. We conclude by demonstrating the power of data analytic programming languages to assemble, visualize, and analyze data. We introduce Visual Basic for Applications as an example of a programming language, and the Visual Basic Editor as an example of an integrated development environment (IDE)....

Melhores avaliações

YH

30 de mai de 2020

It teaches us the basics of data analytics and it is very progressive. There are assignments to help us understand and practice the methods being taught. This allows us to have first-hand experiences.

CT

6 de nov de 2021

I have learn a lot of solid knowledge about Data Visualization, Excel VBA, and programming hints from this course. I recommend this course to those who wants to skill up on Excel and Data analytic.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 68 Avaliações para o Introduction to Accounting Data Analytics and Visualization

por CHENG L T

7 de nov de 2021

I have learn a lot of solid knowledge about Data Visualization, Excel VBA, and programming hints from this course. I recommend this course to those who wants to skill up on Excel and Data analytic.

por Lee Y

3 de jun de 2020

The lecturer is very concise and goes through concepts in depth by showing examples that build on top of previous knowledge and used dataset that was previously introduced.

por Michael J

18 de dez de 2020

Instruction was clear and I found all of the information presented to be useful in my current work with Excel spreadsheets. Now I'm keen to learn Python!

por Toh P Q

27 de set de 2020

For a beginner at excel, this course really teaches you a lot about data visualisation and organising data in excel and other similar applications.

por Raji R

24 de ago de 2020

Excellent course. I loved it from the beginning to the end. Enjoyed throughly the two assignments. Professor teaching skill is increadible

por Annabelle S S Z

20 de set de 2020

Love the enthusiasm of the professor Ronald Guymon and the module helps me with learning more about the use of Excel and its VBA functions

por GOH K Y

9 de jul de 2020

Being the first online module I've ever taken to date, the content and videos far surpassed my expectations. Looking forward to more!

por Jaslyn L

9 de jul de 2020

This is a really helpful course! I have learned not only about using Excel for accounting, but also the many functions of Excel.

por Jacob S

20 de mai de 2021

It was really good.

Actually, before week 7, general contents are a bit tedious, but week 7 and 8 was perfect.

Thank you so much

por Sithandazile Z D

2 de set de 2020

I really enjoyed the course and the lecture was very interactive, clear & precise in such a way i felt i was in a classroom.

por Chiam Z S

1 de jun de 2020

The two lab sessions were useful and the speaker was well present himself and his points making it easy to understand him.

por Goh J Y D

12 de ago de 2020

The course enables its learners to get a hands-on experience using tools to accounting data analytics and visualisation.

por Fabian T

5 de jul de 2020

Excellent and interesting videos, not too long but not too short. Lengthy enough to be very informational and helpful.

por Jesús A S G

2 de fev de 2022

enought materials, good teacher, I feel confident just want to keep learning about interpreting the numbers/data

por Jurgita Z

19 de jul de 2020

This course is so useful. The instructor is awesome!

I am very happy to have attended this cours. Thanks!

por Edmund K C H

20 de jul de 2020

Enriching course that really helps brings new comers into the world of data analytics and visualization

por Muhammad A B A R

25 de jun de 2020

It provides a lot of hands on example that really help with the explanation of the concepts taught

por Mutra T T W K

16 de jul de 2020

Great overview of data analytics. Teaches you basic tools that can be useful for basic analysis.

por Loh D W

27 de mai de 2020

Interesting course for students willing to learn more about analytics for accounting

por Kyoungmo K

22 de out de 2021

Great course to transform traditional mindset of accounting into data analytics

por Phoa J L

31 de mai de 2020

A course with an excellent overview of data analytics suitable for beginners.

por Lim T F

11 de ago de 2020

Fantastic course with many infomative videos which is really helpful.

por Chow K M

17 de jun de 2021

G​reat introduction to the basics of data analysis using Excel.

por Manmohan D

10 de nov de 2021

Covered a wide range of topics in a brief and clear manner !

por Ouyang Y

9 de jul de 2020

The course outline is clear and the contents are useful.