Chevron Left
Voltar para International and Cross-Cultural Negotiation

Comentários e feedback de alunos de International and Cross-Cultural Negotiation da instituição ESSEC Business School

4.7
estrelas
265 classificações
67 avaliações

Sobre o curso

All of us are aware that cultural differences are significant and that they affect how we interact with others in business and in leisure activities. But what is culture exactly, and how does it impact on negotiation, in particular? This course will help you to be more precise about different dimensions of culture, from one region or country to another, while helping you to avoid simplifications, clichés and stereotypes. It will also lead you to a better overall awareness of your own culture. In addition the course modules will guide you to a better understanding of when and how cultural differences are likely to influence the different dimensions of a negotiation - the people, problems and processes. Armed with that understanding, your awareness, preparation and strategy will be enhanced when you are faced with negotiators from cultures and regions different from your own. Your ability to anticipate and react, your negotiation flexibility, will be improved and refined. The course also gives you a concrete look at quite different national and regional negotiation styles (we look at the French, Chinese, North American and Middle Eastern). In addition, an examination of negotiation in two multicultural settings (European Union institutions, on the one hand, and the recent COP 21 climate conference in Paris, on the other) highlights the importance of well-designed negotiation processes for getting both efficiency and fairness....

Melhores avaliações

RS

Aug 12, 2020

Very insightful, I learnt lots of new information to help me better in my cultural interactions. Strongly recommend everyone takes this course, it helps us understand each other better.

CM

Jan 27, 2018

This course gives a really detailed overview in how far cultures differ in their negotiation behaviour. It also mentions useful approaches in how to deal with these differences.

Filtrar por:

51 — 66 de 66 Avaliações para o International and Cross-Cultural Negotiation

por santisteban h

Mar 28, 2019

exellent

por Koen D

May 28, 2019

Interesting topic and useful insights. I think three areas could be improved in future versions. (A) Some of the videos are quite "theoretical", discussing frameworks and mentioning names of concepts which are not always explained in detail. (E.g. I felt the discussion of Hofstede's five dimensions could definitely have been expanded to explain some in more detail, with more examples and what they mean in negotiations). (B) Several of the quizzes are poorly worded, with the "correct" answer sometimes so close to a cultural cliché that I would have thought it an obvious trap. In some other cases the questions and answers were ambiguous. I think the quizzes could therefore use a re-think. (C) For me, the concrete examples (e.g. on COP21) at the end of the course were one of the most valuable aspects. If possible I would suggest expanding the number of examples and the level of detail, and integrating them throughout the course rather than in the final module. For instance, the COP21 negotiation could be used as a "fil rouge" throughout the course?

por Kjell G

Sep 14, 2020

A good overview for beginners. It could have more real cases. Perhaps little less pro France and less judgement towards USA.

It also have a lot of environmental issues like global warming. It is fine that they use the subject. At the same time it does not feel right that there are clear judgement in a course that state that one of the most important things in intercultural negotiation is to stay out of judgements.

I can still recommend the course for beginners!

por Ronald M

Jun 19, 2020

The course was informative and filled with examples of varied cultural considerations, particularly in bilateral negotiation. Some attention was given to multi-lateral, particularly the climate control conference. Perhaps due to the "soft skill" nature of this topic, I felt there was less framework based guidance than the intro to the intro negotiation course and its ten-point, three-domain paradigm.

por Anoek Z

Jul 23, 2020

Usefull knowlegde. Peer asignments were not alway imediatly available which is a bit demotivating if you want to finish the course. The course could have gone a bit deeper into the subject but overall it has given me the tools to do that myself.

por Thais B

Jun 27, 2020

Very interesting. Packed with good and relevant information. It does present some examples, but I would love it even more if it had more and better detailed and analyzed real-life cases.

por Jeanette R

Sep 02, 2020

This is a very good introduction to the world of cross-cultural negotiations and covers the basics of how to avoid inherent bias and stereotyping when dealing with different cultures.

por CAROLI L

Aug 31, 2020

Interesting and useful.

Suggestion 1: some chart which help in fixing the concept

Suggestion 2: advise some article and/or book to go deeper on themes

por David R

May 18, 2020

Valuable and interesting. Very well structured and explained.

I miss a bit more "practicality vs description" but for the time... Great!

por Milene B

Jan 28, 2018

Really nice course. I would have liked some suggestions on what to read regarding specific cultures and how their negotiation style is

por Ayushi J

Jun 03, 2020

Was nice, helped me learn alot. Is comprehensive and gr8 experience.

por Laura L

Feb 14, 2019

Loved it!

But please, offer more material

por Inngrid A

Sep 27, 2020

Very well explained fundamentals.

por Ahmed A M

Dec 16, 2019

A very detail class! recommended!

por Sarah F

Jan 19, 2020

Interesting

por Ana B H

Mar 14, 2018

It is very hard to get a reply of the teachers on the forums. It is also very hard to get the grade to then obtain the certificate.