Chevron Left
Voltar para Design and Make Infographics (Project-Centered Course)

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Design and Make Infographics (Project-Centered Course) da instituição Universidade Estadual de Michigan

4.7
559 classificações
168 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this project-centered course*, you will create a content-rich infographic on a topic of your choice using Adobe Illustrator (which you can download for a free, 30-day trial). You might choose to create a visual representation of data from the world of sports, entertainment, politics, or science, to explain a business trend or environmental issue, or even to present a theme or development from your personal life. Your finished infographic will engage your target audience and convey information clearly through effective use of design elements such as typography, color, and structure. Whether you’re a graphic designer, a writer or the intern in the department, you’ll learn: • what an infographic is and what makes a good one • how to work within your limits • how to work with a team (if you have one) • why infographics are effective • techniques for spotting data in stories • six valuable steps for planning an effective infographic • how to use and make some of the building blocks of infographics: maps, charts and flow charts • ways data can be visualized to clarify it and give it meaning • how to effectively design a good infographic by effectively using elements like type, color and an underlying grid structure • some free or cheap, online tools for making various kinds of infographics As you work on your project, you’ll learn more about why infographics are effective, what makes a good infographic, and how to plan and design an infographic for maximum impact. You’ll explore various approaches to data visualization, and you’ll practice creating visualizations like maps, charts, flow charts, and simple drawings in your free version of Adobe Illustrator. Please note that if you are new to learning graphics software, making these graphics could take much longer than estimated as you learn and grow. What you’ll need to get started: This project-based course is aimed at anyone interested in understanding, designing, and using infographics - from students and hobbyists to professional graphic designers. We’ll use Adobe Illustrator for some components of the project. If you don’t have access to the full version of Illustrator,you can download a free version at www.Adobe.com/Illustrator. If the free 30-day trial runs out, you can "purchase" it for a month for about $20. *About Project-Centered Courses: Project centered courses are designed specifically to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of like-minded learners providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share. When you enroll in certain courses, you’ll be asked to pay a small fee to share your work with others for peer review....

Melhores avaliações

RV

Oct 25, 2017

Really good! Karl Gude is great and knows how to explain in a clear way. Very useful course if you want to practice your Adobe Illustrator skills, and end up with projects to add on your portfolio.

CS

Jun 08, 2017

Wonderful and intuitive course, great performer. I recommend this course to everybody who wishes to immerse in the world infographics and to receive feedback on his or her progress in design.

Filtrar por:

126 — 150 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Design and Make Infographics (Project-Centered Course)

por Swagata R K

Jul 23, 2019

love studying this course

por antonio

Feb 22, 2019

Fun and informative

por Dara G

Jan 21, 2019

Great course! Learned lots of new things.

por Rakibul H

Aug 27, 2018

This is a good course but one or more links are not working. I think the instructor has a very friendly tone to deliver his speech. I was expecting more practical sessions and tools coverage. Overall this is a good course to start the infographic.

por Vijayarangan L

Oct 18, 2018

Very useful course for anyone who is intetetsed in creating info graphic, Graphic Designer, Marketing Manager, Content Creator, Trainer and Manager.

por 陈大暑

Aug 09, 2016

Clear and pragmatic.

por Olga L

Jun 27, 2018

Very interesting content, great tutor, nice to hear and learn from him! I only used the free part, but still this was valuable for me

por Mercedes d R P C

Apr 17, 2018

Un curso genial, donde he aprendido bastantes técnicas dentro de illustrator y cómo recolectar datos de manera gráfica. Sin duda un curso esencial para aquellos que nos dedicamos al diseño. Creo que las correcciones de los compañeros deberían ser más objetivas. Por lo demás un 10.

por Nour H

Feb 16, 2018

This course was tremendously useful!

por Caroline M

Apr 26, 2018

This course is well-taught and nicely paced. However, it is at an odd level - I already have a basic knowledge of Adobe Illustrator and found it too easy but I think a beginner would not be able to follow the instructions.

You do end up with great Illustrator skills and some rules for laying out infographics. It helps if you have a subject in mind that you want to cover.

por Lorenzo A

Jun 21, 2016

Great course and great teacher. The lectures are quick, easy to understand but nevertheless interesting. The time schedule is tough, but you can easily switch to the next session to have more time. The only aspect that I would change is the technical level of (some of) the lectures: sometimes they are even too easy, and a lot of time is used to explain very basic stuff. Maybe some 'optional' lectures might be added on

por Ma S G

Apr 03, 2016

I did learn a lot in this course, especially for me that I am very new on this topic. It has been challenging enough for me. Some recommendations for improvements.

1) Adjust the estimated time to complete the assignments. It took me a lot more than the estimates to complete them.

2) The grading system especially on the final assignment is too difficult. You need to be EXCELLENT to pass and this is difficult to achieve in a subjective peer review rating.

3) I did not expect to be responsible of providing grades for classmates. It is not clear if the university offering the course will provide feedback. Feedback from the experts is what I expected when I bought the certificate.

4) I had to do my final assignment on a different software as my free trial subscription for Adobe Illustrator expired.

Overall, it was a productive course for me and I did learn from it.

por Ahmed I

Sep 11, 2016

This is a nice practical course.

por Andrea K I

Sep 30, 2016

It's a very instructive course. Within 6 days, I turned from not knowing anything about Adobe Illustrator to become very fond of it.

One caveat, though: Adobe Illustrator CC free license only allows you a 7-day of free use (not 1 month as mentioned in the lecture), so you'd better be able to do all the projects within those 7 days if you want to use it for free.

por Hector D H E

Mar 25, 2016

Exellent course. I rearned a lot about infographics and now I'm doing my own infographics. Thanks

por Gyula W

Jan 30, 2018

Good course but some videos are really outdated, they require the use of expensive software and the grading system is very slow.

Other then these it was useful and I learned a lot about infographics.

por Sarah-Jane M

May 25, 2017

I enjoyed the delivery and content of the course as Karl Gude taught us about creating pie charts, graphs, maps and how to design the infographics properly in illustrator- this wasn't easy by the way! It is a lot of good information. But I didn't give a perfect score since I had to defer my course to a second month just so it can get marked and I actually pass. I only got one mark the first month I did it for the final assignment and needed 3 more, so deferred it to this month to get the others. For people paying for this course, this can waste a lot of money waiting an extra month.

por Mariana V

Dec 26, 2016

very practical and vocational course. I reccomend it!

por Mukta S

Jun 07, 2017

Very nicely explained with relevant examples and easy to understand language.

por Donna R

Mar 15, 2018

I wish I could give the class a 4.5 star rating. It was an excellent class, though perhaps challenging for people with little or no experience with Adobe Illustrator. The instructor is *very* engaging, great on-screen presence. My only disappointment was with the quality of feedback. As far as I can tell, there is no live instructor involvement with the class. Grades are based entirely on peer reviews, and most reviewers don't bother to leave feedback. For those who do, you are being critiqued by non-designers and the feedback may not be helpful. All in all, though, worthwhile.

por Katarzyna

May 28, 2016

Good course, explaining basics on infographic.

por Gordon C

Oct 03, 2016

Great info and advice.

por Milova S S

May 30, 2018

The course and the trainer is very good and fully explanable.

One feedback for the last assignment is regarding the peer graded assignment where I felt that peers are grade assignment only based on the fixed parameters and hence once creativity gets hindered.

por Anna C

May 06, 2017

Good course. To little support in relation to using the software.

por Babafemi A

Jul 16, 2017

Concise and well presented.