Chevron Left
Voltar para Design and Make Infographics (Project-Centered Course)

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Design and Make Infographics (Project-Centered Course) da instituição Universidade Estadual de Michigan

4.7
559 classificações
168 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this project-centered course*, you will create a content-rich infographic on a topic of your choice using Adobe Illustrator (which you can download for a free, 30-day trial). You might choose to create a visual representation of data from the world of sports, entertainment, politics, or science, to explain a business trend or environmental issue, or even to present a theme or development from your personal life. Your finished infographic will engage your target audience and convey information clearly through effective use of design elements such as typography, color, and structure. Whether you’re a graphic designer, a writer or the intern in the department, you’ll learn: • what an infographic is and what makes a good one • how to work within your limits • how to work with a team (if you have one) • why infographics are effective • techniques for spotting data in stories • six valuable steps for planning an effective infographic • how to use and make some of the building blocks of infographics: maps, charts and flow charts • ways data can be visualized to clarify it and give it meaning • how to effectively design a good infographic by effectively using elements like type, color and an underlying grid structure • some free or cheap, online tools for making various kinds of infographics As you work on your project, you’ll learn more about why infographics are effective, what makes a good infographic, and how to plan and design an infographic for maximum impact. You’ll explore various approaches to data visualization, and you’ll practice creating visualizations like maps, charts, flow charts, and simple drawings in your free version of Adobe Illustrator. Please note that if you are new to learning graphics software, making these graphics could take much longer than estimated as you learn and grow. What you’ll need to get started: This project-based course is aimed at anyone interested in understanding, designing, and using infographics - from students and hobbyists to professional graphic designers. We’ll use Adobe Illustrator for some components of the project. If you don’t have access to the full version of Illustrator,you can download a free version at www.Adobe.com/Illustrator. If the free 30-day trial runs out, you can "purchase" it for a month for about $20. *About Project-Centered Courses: Project centered courses are designed specifically to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of like-minded learners providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share. When you enroll in certain courses, you’ll be asked to pay a small fee to share your work with others for peer review....

Melhores avaliações

RV

Oct 25, 2017

Really good! Karl Gude is great and knows how to explain in a clear way. Very useful course if you want to practice your Adobe Illustrator skills, and end up with projects to add on your portfolio.

CS

Jun 08, 2017

Wonderful and intuitive course, great performer. I recommend this course to everybody who wishes to immerse in the world infographics and to receive feedback on his or her progress in design.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Design and Make Infographics (Project-Centered Course)

por Turlea O

Jun 21, 2016

Great course that has meaningful value!

por Emily H

Mar 25, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. Karl Gude is a great instructor with clear and to the point lessons. Definitely recommend.

por TAIANE D R V

Aug 09, 2016

Excellent teacher! I really liked this course.

por Iris

Dec 02, 2016

Interesting

por Md. M H

May 02, 2017

Great course design.

por Irina G

Aug 17, 2016

thank you so much! really cool!

por Špela G

Mar 14, 2016

Thank you. The course was exactly what I needed.

por ashan

May 11, 2016

awesome course

por Sapozhnikova D

Feb 09, 2017

The lectures are informative

por Tudor-A L

Nov 28, 2016

It is a great course with lot of examples!

Thank you!

por SALIM A J S

Apr 12, 2018

great course

por Prabodh

Mar 19, 2018

A great course to learn how to make infographics. Also one gets to learn software tools like Adobe illustrator/Inkscape which is the best part of it. It would be very helpful if mentors also review the assignments along with peer reviewing them. Since mentors are the once who are experts in the field, their comments would really add value and mean a lot in the progress of any candidate undergoing this course. Overall very intensive and extensive subject but the way coursera and Mr.Karl Gude has structured it is just outstanding. Also I would like to thank Mr.Karl Gude for his explanations and making realize every minute detail!!

por Polina A

Feb 15, 2018

Very useful course for those who have not been in common with Illustrator at all. Thanks!

por Kara B

Mar 11, 2016

This course will teach you the basics of infographics and have you up and running if you practice the assigned projects. I now feel confident in creating infographics for my personal research projects. I highly recommend this course to those who would like to design and create graphs, charts and maps in Illustrator. Thanks so much Karl!

por Joanna K

Feb 27, 2017

Course is great! Very clear explanations and tutorials, good lecturer. It was easy to understand the points mentioned by him. The course gave me a great overview of how to deal with preparing infographics. I'm sure I'll use this skills in my scientific work.

por Rizla

Jan 15, 2017

This course is absolutely incredible! Very clear, direct, detailed and useful information! Thanks Karl!

por Giselle L

Jun 19, 2017

Loved it. The teacher is clear and the course is very informational. I am glad I took it!

por Егурнова О А

Sep 18, 2017

It's wonderful course. I have a goal to be professional in it.

por Lisa A C

Jan 25, 2018

Karl Gude is probably the most entertaining lecturer i've come across. He's easy to understand, informational and just downright to the point. He makes learning fun, and I've honestly learnt so much. I was always looking forward to his lectures, and have even shared my experience with some of my family members and friends. Thank you very much, Sir!

por Cara D

Apr 24, 2018

Very useful class for understanding and designing infographics. Before this class I was familiar with InDesign and Photoshop, but not with Illustrator. I learned a lot about using Illustrator and how to create graphs, charts, and images to all use within infographics. Highly recommend this class!

por Petra B

Aug 30, 2016

Inspiring!

por Ema K

May 16, 2018

Extremely helpful course - I learned a lot, including how to use Adobe Illustrator. Got a lot of tips on infographic design and it helped me broaden my concept of what I considered to be infographics.

Only issue I had with the class was that there was really no interaction with the professor or his team. It kind of felt like we were left to ourselves.

por fernando V S

Apr 08, 2016

What can i say...Now i know how to make Infographics...Thanks Karl, Thanks Coursera!!!

por Yunyan L

Mar 20, 2018

Really like the course. It is a basic entry-level course for me to understand the crucial criteria of making a good infographic and give me a general guide to how to make infographics. The course pace is good, not very intensive but very concise and informational, to the point.

por Mariam B

Jan 20, 2017

One of the best teachers out there! I really enjoyed watching his videos and tutorials. Thank you Karl! This is my first course I ever complete because Karl made it so interesting and gave us so much examples to learn from.