Chevron Left
Voltar para Sequenciamento Genômico (Bioinformática II)

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Sequenciamento Genômico (Bioinformática II) da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, San Diego

4.7
220 classificações
44 avaliações

Sobre o curso

You may have heard a lot about genome sequencing and its potential to usher in an era of personalized medicine, but what does it mean to sequence a genome? Biologists still cannot read the nucleotides of an entire genome as you would read a book from beginning to end. However, they can read short pieces of DNA. In this course, we will see how graph theory can be used to assemble genomes from these short pieces. We will further learn about brute force algorithms and apply them to sequencing mini-proteins called antibiotics. In the first half of the course, we will see that biologists cannot read the 3 billion nucleotides of a human genome as you would read a book from beginning to end. However, they can read shorter fragments of DNA. In this course, we will see how graph theory can be used to assemble genomes from these short pieces in what amounts to the largest jigsaw puzzle ever put together. In the second half of the course, we will discuss antibiotics, a topic of great relevance as antimicrobial-resistant bacteria like MRSA are on the rise. You know antibiotics as drugs, but on the molecular level they are short mini-proteins that have been engineered by bacteria to kill their enemies. Determining the sequence of amino acids making up one of these antibiotics is an important research problem, and one that is similar to that of sequencing a genome by assembling tiny fragments of DNA. We will see how brute force algorithms that try every possible solution are able to identify naturally occurring antibiotics so that they can be synthesized in a lab. Finally, you will learn how to apply popular bioinformatics software tools to sequence the genome of a deadly Staphylococcus bacterium that has acquired antibiotics resistance....

Melhores avaliações

SV

Jan 10, 2017

Great course to explore a bit of Bioinformatics for those with no background in Bioinformatics. I love the way the content has been provided, its interactivity increases the interest in the course.

MP

Dec 08, 2017

I like the real-world tasks, especially the assembly on the final exam. Some of the programming tasks, such as the antibiotic noisy spectrum assembly, are challenging (which is good).

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Sequenciamento Genômico (Bioinformática II)

por ZIHAN X

Mar 25, 2019

good course!

por Pinakhina D V

Apr 02, 2019

Thank you very much for such an engaging course.

por Ce D

Dec 02, 2016

Very useful to my working project. My gratitude for all the staff of this course.

por 俞文冰

Jan 23, 2017

Very good courses.

por Ayaan H

Jun 27, 2016

Enjoyed this course!

por Qianhao L

Aug 28, 2017

It would be great if all the slides for every week could be shared. The Bioinformatics II is much harder than the last level. They've made it easy to learn.

por Ahmad M Y A

Dec 16, 2016

excellent

por chenhyde628

Sep 25, 2016

wery

por Enamul H

Apr 22, 2017

Excellent! I have learned a lot. Pavel Pevzner is a boss of bioinformatics.

por Ricardo

Feb 22, 2018

Excellent course to get a sense of Genome sequencing , programming assignments really make you learn.

por vibha h

May 18, 2017

Very nice course!

por Yirou L

Dec 27, 2016

Very helpful to those biologist who wants to start a career in bioinformatics

por Ricardo S

Oct 10, 2016

I learned a lot on this course. Sequencing, sequencing antibiotics. Ilumina sequencing using BaseSpace. I attended an Ilumina seminar in person ( that I found on the website and by serendipity was coming to my city) and understood everything, because the experience with this course. I wish you can connect the sections with relevant papers (Pavel have so many that is hard to choose one).

por Hercules P N

Jun 09, 2017

These courses are consistently excellent. The are possiblly the best entry point for someone wishing to have a go at bioinformatics.

por Swaroop V

Jan 10, 2017

Great course to explore a bit of Bioinformatics for those with no background in Bioinformatics. I love the way the content has been provided, its interactivity increases the interest in the course.

por Weidong X

Jul 30, 2016

good course!

por Paolo B

May 09, 2017

Excellent and fun introduction to sequencing techniques. I found it harder than Bioinformatics I, but worth the effort.

por Tomasz K

May 11, 2017

Great!

por Mihai P

Dec 08, 2017

I like the real-world tasks, especially the assembly on the final exam. Some of the programming tasks, such as the antibiotic noisy spectrum assembly, are challenging (which is good).

por Philipp M

Oct 18, 2017

A really rewarding course! Definitely shifted up a gear compared to the preceding course, so I recommend doing this in the prescribed order.

por Dr S C

Jul 05, 2018

Another excellent course. Great to be able to start from a basic idea and keep expanding it until we look back and see we've learnt how to solve quite a complex problem!

por David B

Jul 25, 2017

This is a well organized course with excellent interactive programming exercises that help with learning the concepts.

por Midori I

Dec 09, 2016

This course is really help me to understand how to Assemble genomes!!

por Lucas M

Oct 09, 2018

Excellent course. I didn't have the time to follow the honor's track, but I've done it for other instances of the specialization and I can say that the interaction with Stepic works perfectly. Way to go, thank you!

por Zack X

Jul 21, 2019

In depth and comprehensive coverage of the topics in genetic data analysis.