Chevron Left
Voltar para Sequenciamento Genômico (Bioinformática II)

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Sequenciamento Genômico (Bioinformática II) da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, San Diego

4.6
estrelas
287 classificações
61 avaliações

Sobre o curso

You may have heard a lot about genome sequencing and its potential to usher in an era of personalized medicine, but what does it mean to sequence a genome? Biologists still cannot read the nucleotides of an entire genome as you would read a book from beginning to end. However, they can read short pieces of DNA. In this course, we will see how graph theory can be used to assemble genomes from these short pieces. We will further learn about brute force algorithms and apply them to sequencing mini-proteins called antibiotics. In the first half of the course, we will see that biologists cannot read the 3 billion nucleotides of a human genome as you would read a book from beginning to end. However, they can read shorter fragments of DNA. In this course, we will see how graph theory can be used to assemble genomes from these short pieces in what amounts to the largest jigsaw puzzle ever put together. In the second half of the course, we will discuss antibiotics, a topic of great relevance as antimicrobial-resistant bacteria like MRSA are on the rise. You know antibiotics as drugs, but on the molecular level they are short mini-proteins that have been engineered by bacteria to kill their enemies. Determining the sequence of amino acids making up one of these antibiotics is an important research problem, and one that is similar to that of sequencing a genome by assembling tiny fragments of DNA. We will see how brute force algorithms that try every possible solution are able to identify naturally occurring antibiotics so that they can be synthesized in a lab. Finally, you will learn how to apply popular bioinformatics software tools to sequence the genome of a deadly Staphylococcus bacterium that has acquired antibiotics resistance....

Melhores avaliações

SV
9 de Jan de 2017

Great course to explore a bit of Bioinformatics for those with no background in Bioinformatics. I love the way the content has been provided, its interactivity increases the interest in the course.

MP
7 de Dez de 2017

I like the real-world tasks, especially the assembly on the final exam. Some of the programming tasks, such as the antibiotic noisy spectrum assembly, are challenging (which is good).

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 60 Avaliações para o Sequenciamento Genômico (Bioinformática II)

por Jan G

2 de Fev de 2020

Course is abandoned, no support on forums, waiting for weeks for peer-reviews, images don't load in the interactive text and quizzes, links in assignments are broken. Coursera should refund me for this joke.

por Hercules P N

9 de Jun de 2017

These courses are consistently excellent. The are possiblly the best entry point for someone wishing to have a go at bioinformatics.

por Ryan B

6 de Mai de 2019

Long waits for peer review....ruins what is a good course.

por Ксения

6 de Set de 2017

Spend a huge amount of time because of mistakes in tasks!

por Jonathan L

24 de Mai de 2021

The course is great, but be prepared to spend 20-30 hours a week on it...

por Ricardo S

10 de Out de 2016

I learned a lot on this course. Sequencing, sequencing antibiotics. Ilumina sequencing using BaseSpace. I attended an Ilumina seminar in person ( that I found on the website and by serendipity was coming to my city) and understood everything, because the experience with this course. I wish you can connect the sections with relevant papers (Pavel have so many that is hard to choose one).

por Daniel D

8 de Out de 2019

The course is absolutely fantastic. Concepts are introduced gradually, and you get away with solid fundamentals of genome sequences.

Beware however that the course is not actively maintained any longer and has few participants. It may be that your final assessment will take a bit to be graded by the peers and the forums are not super active.

por Evgeny L

1 de Jan de 2018

If you liked first course, you must take second course too, one of the most enjoyable and challenging courses available. It's great not only for bioinformaticians, but for people who are interested in algorithms and their application.

por Lucas M

9 de Out de 2018

Excellent course. I didn't have the time to follow the honor's track, but I've done it for other instances of the specialization and I can say that the interaction with Stepic works perfectly. Way to go, thank you!

por Swaroop V

10 de Jan de 2017

Great course to explore a bit of Bioinformatics for those with no background in Bioinformatics. I love the way the content has been provided, its interactivity increases the interest in the course.

por Mihai P

8 de Dez de 2017

I like the real-world tasks, especially the assembly on the final exam. Some of the programming tasks, such as the antibiotic noisy spectrum assembly, are challenging (which is good).

por Federico R

17 de Abr de 2017

It's really a great course. A must for everyone working with bioinformatic tools in order to understand some basics and limitations that ultimately leads to biological conclussions

por Samuel C

5 de Jul de 2018

Another excellent course. Great to be able to start from a basic idea and keep expanding it until we look back and see we've learnt how to solve quite a complex problem!

por Qianhao L

27 de Ago de 2017

It would be great if all the slides for every week could be shared. The Bioinformatics II is much harder than the last level. They've made it easy to learn.

por Philipp M

18 de Out de 2017

A really rewarding course! Definitely shifted up a gear compared to the preceding course, so I recommend doing this in the prescribed order.

por CHAN V S F

14 de Jul de 2021

The exercises were challenging. But thanks to the community in Stepik, I can understand more details for the genome sequencing algorithms.

por Paolo B

9 de Mai de 2017

Excellent and fun introduction to sequencing techniques. I found it harder than Bioinformatics I, but worth the effort.

por David B

25 de Jul de 2017

This is a well organized course with excellent interactive programming exercises that help with learning the concepts.

por Nivedita S

24 de Jul de 2017

I particularly enjoyed this course a lot more than the first! i felt it was more application oriented and intuitive.

por Rudramani P

24 de Ago de 2019

This one is great introductory course for physicist like who knows the computing but lacks biological background.

por Ricardo

22 de Fev de 2018

Excellent course to get a sense of Genome sequencing , programming assignments really make you learn.

por Jeff L

30 de Nov de 2020

great course for those with strong motivation and interest. but it is a difficulty one though

por Ce D

2 de Dez de 2016

Very useful to my working project. My gratitude for all the staff of this course.

por Yirou L

26 de Dez de 2016

Very helpful to those biologist who wants to start a career in bioinformatics

por Zack X

21 de Jul de 2019

In depth and comprehensive coverage of the topics in genetic data analysis.