Chevron Left
Voltar para Química Geral: Desenvolvimento de Conceitos e Aplicação

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Química Geral: Desenvolvimento de Conceitos e Aplicação da instituição Universidade Rice

4.6
estrelas
330 classificações
88 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course will cover the topics of a full year, two semester General Chemistry course. We will use a free on-line textbook, Concept Development Studies in Chemistry, available via Rice’s Connexions project. The fundamental concepts in the course will be introduced via the Concept Development Approach developed at Rice University. In this approach, we will develop the concepts you need to know from experimental observations and scientific reasoning rather than simply telling you the concepts and then asking you to simply memorize or apply them. So why use this approach? One reason is that most of us are inductive learners, meaning that we like to make specific observations and then generalize from there. Many of the most significant concepts in Chemistry are counter-intuitive. When we see where those concepts come from, we can more readily accept them, explain them, and apply them. A second reason is that scientific reasoning in general and Chemistry reasoning in particular are inductive processes. This Concept Development approach illustrates those reasoning processes. A third reason is that this is simply more interesting! The structure and reactions of matter are fascinating puzzles to be solved by observation and reasoning. It is more fun intellectually when we can solve those puzzles together, rather than simply have the answers to the riddles revealed at the outset. Recommended Background: The class can be taken by someone with no prior experience in chemistry. However, some prior familiarity with the basics of chemistry is desirable as we will cover some elements only briefly. For example, a prior high school chemistry class would be helpful. Suggested Readings: Readings will be assigned from the on-line textbook “Concept Development Studies in Chemistry”, available via Rice’s Connexions project. In addition, we will suggest readings from any of the standard textbooks in General Chemistry. A particularly good free on-line resource is Dickerson, Gray, and Haight, "Chemical Principles, 3rd Edition". Links to these two texts will be available in the Introduction module....

Melhores avaliações

ZK

Aug 29, 2015

If I'd had access to this material when I first failed freshman chemistry 40 years ago, I probably wouldn't have failed. Kudos to Dean Hutchinson for bringing us his innovative approach.

BM

Oct 02, 2018

DEMAND\n\nI would inform you that i wish to receive my certificate according to general chemistry :concept development and application, then your feed back will rejoice more thank you.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Química Geral: Desenvolvimento de Conceitos e Aplicação

por Andres C P V

Mar 11, 2018

excellent, thank you

por Alma D

Sep 08, 2017

Excellent challenge!

por Abraham N

Aug 27, 2015

Very informative

por ABHIJITH S R

Sep 05, 2015

Awesome Course.

por Mohamed A

Oct 03, 2017

Thank you all

por Jaya L

Jun 04, 2016

Great course.

por M.R.T.

Jun 17, 2019

Perfect MOOC

por Nagaraj P

Apr 22, 2020

Excellent

por Leonor P A J

Feb 28, 2017

muy bueno

por José L D D

Feb 11, 2017

Excelente

por Johnny S

Dec 29, 2016

Excelente

por EMMANUEL N

Mar 23, 2019

exallent

por KARTHIK K

Aug 20, 2019

Awesome

por 刘诗凡

May 13, 2018

Great

por VICTOR F Y A

Sep 13, 2015

buena

por Deleted A

Oct 25, 2015

good

por Steven M J M

Oct 24, 2015

G

por David D

Mar 14, 2020

I took the course "General Chemistry: Concept Development and Application" from Dec 2019 - Mar 2020. I found this to be an excellent course on many levels. First, I thought the educational theory of the course was outstanding. Beginning each unit with empirical data, building from these to create a model (inductive reasoning), and then applying/adapting the model to answer questions/solve problems (deductive reasoning), was fantastic. I took general chemistry for the first time 40 years ago, and was taught using a strictly deductive reasoning approach - and honestly I really didn't like chemistry all that much. It seemed stale and boring. To my great surprise however I found that when I became a practicing chemist in industry, I totally loved chemistry! This love has deepened and broadened throughout my career. I applaud Prof. Hutchinson on creating this course and making it available on Coursera.

Second, I think the course structure was outstanding. It seems to me that the entire course aim was to get the student to understand that at equilibrium, delta G^0 = -RTlnKp. Each unit in the course introduced data and theories which led to this powerful relationship between thermodynamics and equilibrium. I relearned concepts and equations from my past and came to understand and appreciate them in new ways.

I could not give the course 5 stars however due to the many errors I found throughout. There were errors in what was said in the lectures, errors in what was hand written in the lectures, and most importantly errors in quiz questions and answers. Some of the quiz questions had no correct answer option at all. Other quiz questions/answers were very poorly worded. Fortunately I had a chemistry career to fall back up when confronted with these errors. However I have concern for those taking this course as their very first introduction to chemistry. It could be very frustrating and confusing to these individuals. A thorough review and correction of the course lectures and quizzes would be most beneficial.

Despite these limitations - I heartily recommend this course to any wishing to get an introduction to fundamental chemistry concepts and principles. It allows the student the understand where our current understanding of chemistry came from and how this is applied in current chemical research.

por Anastasiia E

Apr 29, 2020

The lectures are great but something is really wrong with the quizzes. Sometimes you find in the test for week N a question which is to be covered only in week N+1. Often the questions are just unclear.

However, if you accept this fact as given and don't care too much about you score for the course, you may learn quite a lot. The concept development approach indeed promote a qualitative understanding and the material in the lectures is provided well and clearly. Simply the lector is good in explaining.

The quizzes are messed up (huge contrast with the lectures!) but they still made me to think and to recap what I have learned, so it is useful. This wasn't my first Chemistry course. I took it to straighten my understanding and it served the purpose very well.

If you only start learning Chemistry, you probably want better quizzes to monitor your progress.

por David D V

Aug 29, 2016

Great course! This is the first MOOC that I've completed and I had a great experience overall. The CDS system is what drew me toward this particular chemistry course and it seems like an effective and natural way to have concepts stick in your head. Very clear and easy to understand explanations are also given in the lecture videos.

My only complaints are that there are some significant typos in the quizzes, and all of the course material seems to refer to a different version of the online textbook than the one that is currently provided. If the quality of the quizzes was better and if the course was more in sync with the most up-to-date reading material I would have easily given this course 5 stars.

por Cliff S

Oct 24, 2016

Excellent introduction to Chemistry, focused on models which allow you to understand all of the empirical rules/laws. However, it appears to be an older course and some of the quizzes were effected by Cousera upgrades and they are corrupted and some questions can't be answered (as in some cases there are actually no choices given!).

por Jeremy V

Aug 24, 2015

Course information is delivered in a new and exciting format. The first half of the course builds up base Chemistry ideals and Laws. The second half takes the student to places they never thought they would end up. Be sure to brush up on your College Algebra before taking. Overall a fun and challenging experience!

por Gary B

Mar 16, 2018

Over all a good intro to chemistry but found it long after a while.Perhaps breaking up the single courses into two courses each covering a semester. Found the math during the last two weeks to be a beyond me and wha tI thought was required for a basic beginner course.

por Viktor O

Aug 24, 2015

great course! Unlike other courses, this one really helps the student make a deeper understanding of chemistry and the conceptes that built the science!

por Edmund E

May 21, 2020

The calculations questions need practice questions within the material rather than just in the assessment components otherwise excellent.