Chevron Left
Voltar para Química Geral: Desenvolvimento de Conceitos e Aplicação

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Química Geral: Desenvolvimento de Conceitos e Aplicação da instituição Universidade Rice

4.6
estrelas
766 classificações

Sobre o curso

This course will cover the topics of a full year, two semester General Chemistry course. We will use a free on-line textbook, Concept Development Studies in Chemistry, available via Rice’s Connexions project. The fundamental concepts in the course will be introduced via the Concept Development Approach developed at Rice University. In this approach, we will develop the concepts you need to know from experimental observations and scientific reasoning rather than simply telling you the concepts and then asking you to simply memorize or apply them. So why use this approach? One reason is that most of us are inductive learners, meaning that we like to make specific observations and then generalize from there. Many of the most significant concepts in Chemistry are counter-intuitive. When we see where those concepts come from, we can more readily accept them, explain them, and apply them. A second reason is that scientific reasoning in general and Chemistry reasoning in particular are inductive processes. This Concept Development approach illustrates those reasoning processes. A third reason is that this is simply more interesting! The structure and reactions of matter are fascinating puzzles to be solved by observation and reasoning. It is more fun intellectually when we can solve those puzzles together, rather than simply have the answers to the riddles revealed at the outset. Recommended Background: The class can be taken by someone with no prior experience in chemistry. However, some prior familiarity with the basics of chemistry is desirable as we will cover some elements only briefly. For example, a prior high school chemistry class would be helpful. Suggested Readings: Readings will be assigned from the on-line textbook “Concept Development Studies in Chemistry”, available via Rice’s Connexions project. In addition, we will suggest readings from any of the standard textbooks in General Chemistry. A particularly good free on-line resource is Dickerson, Gray, and Haight, "Chemical Principles, 3rd Edition". Links to these two texts will be available in the Introduction module....

Melhores avaliações

ZK

28 de ago de 2015

If I'd had access to this material when I first failed freshman chemistry 40 years ago, I probably wouldn't have failed. Kudos to Dean Hutchinson for bringing us his innovative approach.

BM

1 de out de 2018

DEMAND

I would inform you that i wish to receive my certificate according to general chemistry :concept development and application, then your feed back will rejoice more thank you.

Filtrar por:

76 — 100 de 197 Avaliações para o Química Geral: Desenvolvimento de Conceitos e Aplicação

por Ugbosu F O

21 de jul de 2020

I'm really happy about my success in this course, at first it was looking bulky but now I'm done, not just done but I've also acquired so many skills on this course.

A big thank you to everyone at RICE and Coursera.

por Ritchelle A P

11 de out de 2020

i would like ti thank my instructor for having this kind of lecture.. chemistry is one of my favourite subjects during my junior high school. it is indeed an amazing experience to gather learnings about chemistry

por Aaron J S M

3 de nov de 2020

Hello! This rating reflects how great the course is! I just need to acquire my Certificate, I thought it was given automatically after the course. Please do tell me ASAP if I need to do something for it.

por 18UCHA041

2 de ago de 2020

It was new study approach. It was different and it always kept me on my toes. I kept questioning and understanding topics from different perspectives throughout. Thank you

por Md. R U C

9 de jun de 2020

I enjoyed the course very much. None of the lectures was boring. Mr Steven Hutchinson is a dedicated teacher. I'll ensure to keep up my way of learning.

por Revathy R

13 de jul de 2020

Thank you Dr. John Steven Hutchinson. The course was systematically covered and questions were challenging too. Looking forward to your next course.

por Nguyen D L

2 de jun de 2021

I love the lecture and quizzes. I am more confident to help my son with Chemistry now. Thank you Prof Hutchinson and Rice University Staffs.

por Elsadig A M A

7 de abr de 2022

Thanks for this training general chemistery concept I requierd mor courses semiller to advance exciperiance .

por Igbaroola S A

12 de ago de 2020

This course has been quite amazing. I hope to apply it in my further knowledge of concept in chemistry.

por Joaquín C

23 de ago de 2021

Muy bueno, sigan así con más cursos como estos , pero se necesita certificación por favor, gracias

por Anni J R R

20 de jun de 2022

Muy buenos materiales de exposición además de las retroalimentaciones en cada examen, excelente

por Abhishek P

16 de jun de 2020

I explore chemical kinetics and equilibrium. Further, i learned some new concepts as well.

por Suthakaran k

6 de dez de 2020

Exam papers are really great because each questions are very intelligent and bravely

por Utibe V E C

22 de jul de 2021

i​t was a really enlightening course and i am glad i got the honour of doing it.

por Shaik L

26 de ago de 2021

Thanks to course community, I have to enjoyed this course.

By

Dr. SHAIK LAKSHMAN

por sjpradeeba C

9 de jul de 2020

Excellent course. I have completed the course but i didnt receive certificate

por Dr. C K

2 de mai de 2020

good basic learning program,thank you to the Professor for easy expaination.

por Ms. S B

21 de jan de 2022

The course really very helpful to learn the concept much better and easier.

por MARY A M T

13 de out de 2020

Thank you so much for this cousre. I get more ideas. Really interesting...

por Alvin I

6 de ago de 2020

This course is amazing. It helped me to understand chemistry in a fun way.

por Marc H

14 de jun de 2017

The concept development method of learning was very effective. Thank you!

por Fernando d S M

26 de out de 2015

Very Very good, if you want to learn something just try these classes !!!

por Lalita S B

2 de set de 2020

This course is helpful for understanding basic concept in chemistry

por Glenn E M

14 de mai de 2020

Much more challenging than expected for a general chemistry course.

por Poliane m a

28 de set de 2020

Experiência diferente e muito complexa rica em muitos detalhes.