Chevron Left
Voltar para Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1 da instituição Universidade do Colorado em Boulder

4.8
estrelas
3,547 classificações
1,005 avaliações

Sobre o curso

"Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1" is aimed at learners who are seeking to augment, expand, optimize, and increase the efficiency of their Excel spreadsheet skills by tapping into the powerful programming, automation, and customization capabilities available with Visual Basic for Applications (VBA). This course is the first part of a three-part series and Specialization that focuses on the application of computing techniques in Excel/VBA to solve problems. In this course (Part 1), you will: 1) create macros to automate procedures in Excel; 2) define your own user-defined functions; 3) create basic subroutines to interface with the user; 4) learn the basic programming structures in VBA; and 5) automate Excel’s Goal Seek and Solver tools and use numerical techniques to create “live solutions” to solve targeting and optimization problems. New to computer programming? The extremely intuitive and visual nature of VBA lends itself nicely to teaching and learning - what a fun way to learn to code! No prior knowledge in programming nor advanced math skills are necessary yet seasoned programmers will pick up new and creative spreadsheet problem solving strategies. After you have learned the basics of VBA, each module will introduce foundational and broad problems inspired by situations that you might encounter in the real world. To pass each module, you'll need to pass a mastery quiz and complete a problem solving assignment. This course is unique in that the weekly assignments are completed in-application (i.e., on your own computer in Excel), providing you with valuable hands-on training....

Melhores avaliações

MS
26 de Jan de 2018

Great course! I like it goes straight to implementation and is practice-oriented. What could be improved maybe is sound quality of lectures. And maybe it would be great to have some VBA notes in pdf.

MV
18 de Jan de 2020

Great course!! For a Part I it introduces you to useful functions and ways to approach different kind of problems. Challenging course but reasonable with low algebra. Exactly what I was looking for.

Filtrar por:

976 — 1000 de 1,014 Avaliações para o Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1

por MICKAEL H

11 de Nov de 2020

Tough but well explained.

por Balaram S

6 de Jun de 2020

good content covered

por 刘诗语

2 de Mar de 2019

It's really useful!

por Enrique L R L

19 de Ago de 2020

It was very fun.

por Shaun T

1 de Set de 2021

A bit difficult

por Kanchangauri K

7 de Ago de 2020

very useful

por Brent A K

29 de Mai de 2020

good course

por Hasan Q

8 de Jun de 2020

Good One

por ThiTTK

23 de Jul de 2021

good

por Hugo M F N

20 de Ago de 2020

Foi

por Ben T

24 de Nov de 2021

Great course; would recommend, but it could be better

-Though anyone will benefit, it's not really designed for business folks looking to automate procedures.

-Could improve the production quality: why not use a flowcharting software and then distribute the week's flowcharts in a PDF?

-The quizzes after the screencasts ARE HORRIBLY FORMATTED. Because the quiz is tied to the video, you can only see small snippets of the question. It makes reading very difficult. It would be better to (as other courses have done) put the quizzes after the screencast as a separate section.

-Times are wildly inaccurate. A week may be listed as 4-5 hours, when the end assignment alone will take you 3 hours. If you're really intent on learning well and not being in a hurry, double your time budget.

-I LOVE the difficulty and challenge of the course. However, what I don't like is how uneven it is. The week end assignments, which again I enjoy, are such a step up from the lessons that it's hard not to feel unprepared.

-1-2 page handouts for each week would be great. Sometimes you feel like there's no thread between lessons or very little tying things together. Even a simple summary of what functions / statements / object classes we use that week would be great.

-I'm currently working through the 2nd course, and I'm a little disappointed in how little "meta-learning" there was: in other words, one of the most useful things to me would have been a more thorough review of the object model, the microsoft reference guide, and how to use that resource to tackle novel problems. As it stands, I feel like I don't have a systematic understanding either of VBA itself or how to continue learning VBA. (Admittedly this is a high bar!)

-I wish he would have covered a lot more of the basics: understanding all the parts of the VB Editor window. I still have to figure out what a lot of the windows / options do. Again, it really didn't feel like a very systematic approach.

Once again, thank you Coursera / Professor N., great course!

por Gian-Franco S

21 de Nov de 2021

Generally, a great course with interesting videos, good explanations and helpful assignments. Only downgrade is due to the responses in the forum: I've had a question to an assignment because I was stuck there and didn't find any solution, so I posted my question in the forum. I didn't get an answer for more than 2 months now, I even wrote a message to the coursera-support, but they didn't manage to organize me an answer either. So, great course but if you need any help, it's very likely that you must find your answers elsewhere.

por Dakers G

22 de Dez de 2020

Here's a key piece of information; the grader functions do not work if they and the completed starter files are not located on your computer's hard drive, and even then some folder locations return a failed message. There is no error checking in the grader function so as a student you don't know if it's your code or the grader that's returning error.

por Samantha G

3 de Nov de 2020

There was zero instructor involvement. I am fine with paying for a course as long as it's at least partially interactive. Assign more instructors to courses to answer questions and assist students.

por Richard R

4 de Abr de 2020

Section 5 is extremely long and should require more time. the assignments were difficult and unclear at moments. Did not know how to get help from professor.

por Ahmed A A E A

1 de Jun de 2021

there are n​o material to apply with the instuctor and the course is hard, it should be simplified for the beginners

t​hanks

por Joseph J

13 de Ago de 2021

Part 5 was impossible for non-engineers. Maybe I shouldn't have tried it but I attempted to go to the honors.

por OBRIEN E O M

19 de Ago de 2021

En lugar de colocar problemas con mucha matematica deberia de profundizar mas en VBA

por Xin R L

19 de Jun de 2021

The course is challenging for those who have no scientific maths knowledge

por Alvaro D

22 de Ago de 2020

Too much emphasis in mathematical issues and too shallow in VBA techniques

por Alessandro T

4 de Ago de 2020

Too many examples on chemical engineering. It should more broad

por Amrane S

25 de Out de 2019

Missing some help when we blocked on the assignement

por Sandra C

4 de Jun de 2021

T​he excerises should be more practical.

por Osama S

30 de Abr de 2021

Week 5 is so difficult to understand

por Janice E W

10 de Dez de 2021

Grader files don't work properly so you spend time trying to fix macros when they're already correct. (Files have to be saved to your hard drive, not to anything that OneDrive is syncing or the Grader won't work). Course is not particularly engaging, so no reason to continue forward with likelihood that I'll waste even more time trying to troubleshoot this terrible setup.