Chevron Left
Voltar para Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1 da instituição Universidade do Colorado em Boulder

4.9
1,240 classificações
345 avaliações

Sobre o curso

"Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1" is aimed at learners who are seeking to augment, expand, optimize, and increase the efficiency of their Excel spreadsheet skills by tapping into the powerful programming, automation, and customization capabilities available with Visual Basic for Applications (VBA). This course is the first part of a three-part series and Specialization that focuses on the application of computing techniques in Excel/VBA to solve problems. In this course (Part 1), you will: 1) create macros to automate procedures in Excel; 2) define your own user-defined functions; 3) create basic subroutines to interface with the user; 4) learn the basic programming structures in VBA; and 5) automate Excel’s Goal Seek and Solver tools and use numerical techniques to create “live solutions” to solve targeting and optimization problems. New to computer programming? The extremely intuitive and visual nature of VBA lends itself nicely to teaching and learning - what a fun way to learn to code! No prior knowledge in programming nor advanced math skills are necessary yet seasoned programmers will pick up new and creative spreadsheet problem solving strategies. After you have learned the basics of VBA, each module will introduce foundational and broad problems inspired by situations that you might encounter in the real world. To pass each module, you'll need to pass a mastery quiz and complete a problem solving assignment. This course is unique in that the weekly assignments are completed in-application (i.e., on your own computer in Excel), providing you with valuable hands-on training....

Melhores avaliações

MS

Jan 27, 2018

Great course! I like it goes straight to implementation and is practice-oriented. What could be improved maybe is sound quality of lectures. And maybe it would be great to have some VBA notes in pdf.

LR

Jul 05, 2018

I'm not one to write reviews - this course is fantastic and a game changer. Prof Nuttelman is a very engaging speaker and makes what could seem a very dry topic come across as interesting, fascin

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Excel/VBA for Creative Problem Solving, Part 1

por Juan G

Jan 03, 2019

Very comprehensive course on VBA with lots of comments and available files to follow 'by doing' most of the examples. Engineer-oriented examples which are rumping up their complexity.

At the end of each Week, there is a quiz with detailed comments to understand each question and at the end of each Week there is also an Assignment which has to be well sorted out!

por Mruthyunjaya H S

Apr 20, 2019

The instructor makes it comfortable for any person to understand the concept.

I'm completely new to coding. Every lesson is well explained and practice courses help a lot. Exams make sure that we have actually grasped the concept.

Thank you Charlie Nuttelman :)

por Andrew W

May 16, 2019

This is a very good introductory course to Excel VBA. I enjoyed the professor and the assignments. He also seems to enjoy the material. My only (minor) critique would be that I think that there were a number of places where what was emphasized in the reading and lectures was fairly different than what was asked on the quizzes. The quizzes cover much more of the minutiae than you might be led to believe by the screencasts. Once you've taken a few of the quizzes, though, you start to know the types of things to look for in the lectures. I would highly recommend this class and intend to take the others in the series.

por Marija S

Jan 27, 2018

Great course! I like it goes straight to implementation and is practice-oriented. What could be improved maybe is sound quality of lectures. And maybe it would be great to have some VBA notes in pdf.

por Leland R

Jul 05, 2018

I'm not one to write reviews - this course is fantastic and a game changer. Prof Nuttelman is a very engaging speaker and makes what could seem a very dry topic come across as interesting, fascin

por Huy P T

Dec 07, 2019

The best course out there for learning MS Excel/VBA. Mr. Nuttelman is so passionate about teaching this subject, and you can tell this by doing the assignments. For example, after finishing the first assignment, I wanted a quick way to get the certificate. So I decided to look at the VBA script in his GRADER file, hoping to be able to change the content. Nope, he locked it with his password. So I had to look for a way to crack the it. Surprisingly, this was actually the best way to learn how to code in VBA because I had to understand the steps and every line of code. Finally, here's the password: nutsnutsColorado80309 (the last digits turns out to be the zip code of the university).

por Zhou P

May 02, 2019

The course materials are very well prepared and idiot-proof, easy-to-follow. How scarce is such a tutor that who is really putting students' shoes on to provide such insightful screencasts. He even went on extra miles to share with us the reflection on the quiz/homework so as to ensure you really digest what he'd taught. In fact I found it rather useful that I got to clear the ambiguities that blur the boundary between understand and not-understand, not just to get a passing marks. True learning beyond getting certs, I would strongly recommend this course.

por Volker G

Dec 30, 2018

Nice one. Since I work in a business environment and university is long ago, I was sometimes stuggling with the maths.

Maybe a little more layout for input / output interface like in the intro would have been nice for my kind of usage. But overall nice course.

With the setup of a test and an assignement you really learn something and not just click through. Well done.

por Joshua F

Jan 04, 2019

The couse is really good. It is just lacking a little more practice exercises :D

por Rob B

Jan 20, 2019

Overall a great course. The algebra in the first two weeks seemed a little overly intense and unnecessary. But once you get through that, the course becomes more approachable. I feel like I received really good exposure to the concepts, but will definitely need more time and experience to master them.

por Heidi B

May 17, 2018

This a a good class for learning the basics of VBA. It would have been nice to have some reference material to look back on other than the screen casts/transcript.

por Martin S

Nov 28, 2018

The best course of programming I have ever had. Everything is very easy explained in an interesting way. I hope this course helps me for my future career.

por Michelle L K L

Dec 16, 2018

This course provided me hands-on experience to write & debug basic VBA codes. Week 5 materials show interesting application to optimize function.

por Linh V M

Dec 20, 2018

Very useful! Thank you

por Adrian V W

Dec 26, 2018

After having tried all the exercices by my own, I am now able to write some subroutines and functions in Excel, which is quite cool.

por Emmanuel S

Dec 27, 2018

Great course. Very useful for data analytics

por Philip K T H

Dec 26, 2018

Pace is easy. Assignment is effective to reinforce the concept learnt

por Morufu A A

Dec 26, 2018

This course was very tasking and interesting. I almost gave up at the middle but was determined to finish it. I would recommend this course to anyone who wants to dig into Excel VBA. This course is rich in content. Thank you Charlie. Thank you Coursera.

por JEONG S

Dec 28, 2018

i think i got fundamental knowledge about VBA.

por Edith S

Dec 30, 2018

If like me you are looking for an introduction to VBA because you see it on every job description of the positions that interest you, this course is what you need. It goes from a gentle introduction to strong exercise that truly make you work hard to earn that certification. 100% recommend

por Abhishek K

Dec 30, 2018

Very good course, hope to get more courses on generating charts and formatting reports using vba.

por Rohan B

Dec 29, 2018

awesome to start with

por Seungju L

Jan 13, 2019

Wonderful course, well organized. I was a complete beginner to Excel/VBA, but I feel I have sufficiently understood the material.

por Babak G

Jan 15, 2019

I found these courses very useful. The courses exceed above and beyond any other online Excel VBA course. The instructor is a university professor who is a subject-matter expert, and explains the course material in a very simple and understandable way. Part three is a project-based course that helps learners use the knowledge gained into real projects and helps solidify the learning. I highly recommend this course.