Chevron Left
Voltar para Fundamentals of Scalable Data Science

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Fundamentals of Scalable Data Science da instituição IBM

4.3
estrelas
992 classificações
209 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Apache Spark is the de-facto standard for large scale data processing. This is the first course of a series of courses towards the IBM Advanced Data Science Specialization. We strongly believe that is is crucial for success to start learning a scalable data science platform since memory and CPU constraints are to most limiting factors when it comes to building advanced machine learning models. In this course we teach you the fundamentals of Apache Spark using python and pyspark. We'll introduce Apache Spark in the first two weeks and learn how to apply it to compute basic exploratory and data pre-processing tasks in the last two weeks. Through this exercise you'll also be introduced to the most fundamental statistical measures and data visualization technologies. This gives you enough knowledge to take over the role of a data engineer in any modern environment. But it gives you also the basis for advancing your career towards data science. Please have a look at the full specialization curriculum: https://www.coursera.org/specializations/advanced-data-science-ibm If you choose to take this course and earn the Coursera course certificate, you will also earn an IBM digital badge. To find out more about IBM digital badges follow the link ibm.biz/badging. After completing this course, you will be able to: • Describe how basic statistical measures, are used to reveal patterns within the data • Recognize data characteristics, patterns, trends, deviations or inconsistencies, and potential outliers. • Identify useful techniques for working with big data such as dimension reduction and feature selection methods • Use advanced tools and charting libraries to: o improve efficiency of analysis of big-data with partitioning and parallel analysis o Visualize the data in an number of 2D and 3D formats (Box Plot, Run Chart, Scatter Plot, Pareto Chart, and Multidimensional Scaling) For successful completion of the course, the following prerequisites are recommended: • Basic programming skills in python • Basic math • Basic SQL (you can get it easily from https://www.coursera.org/learn/sql-data-science if needed) In order to complete this course, the following technologies will be used: (These technologies are introduced in the course as necessary so no previous knowledge is required.) • Jupyter notebooks (brought to you by IBM Watson Studio for free) • ApacheSpark (brought to you by IBM Watson Studio for free) • Python We've been reported that some of the material in this course is too advanced. So in case you feel the same, please have a look at the following materials first before starting this course, we've been reported that this really helps. Of course, you can give this course a try first and then in case you need, take the following courses / materials. It's free... https://cognitiveclass.ai/learn/spark https://dataplatform.cloud.ibm.com/analytics/notebooks/v2/f8982db1-5e55-46d6-a272-fd11b670be38/view?access_token=533a1925cd1c4c362aabe7b3336b3eae2a99e0dc923ec0775d891c31c5bbbc68 This course takes four weeks, 4-6h per week...

Melhores avaliações

AA

Jan 07, 2020

A very nice introduction to Apache Spark and it's environment. As a bonus, it's also a very nice refresher to your basic statistics!!! Great course!

HS

Sep 10, 2017

A perfect course to pace off with exploration towards sensor-data analytics using Apache Spark and python libraries.\n\nKudos man.

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Fundamentals of Scalable Data Science

por Vy D

Jan 25, 2019

Not enough coding, or I would like more interactive coding if that was possible in coursera. Or how would we do this like locally?

por Nicole Z K

Jan 13, 2020

Outdated content, with corrections as annotations in the videos. Not very engaging and has just a little of spark content.

por Ahmed E A T E

Apr 10, 2019

the content is really good but I don't understand the Indian accent well although this guy really did his best

por Mario E R T

Jul 14, 2019

Need more exercises related to wrangling data and manipulating SQL's with apache spark

por shubham k g

Jul 04, 2019

Nice but details are not discussed properly only taking names wasnt enough

por Andrés

Feb 07, 2019

Assigments needs to be better defined and explained

por Karthik D C

Jan 19, 2019

Too many issues with lab material

por Ozge Y

Jun 23, 2019

I find it unacceptable that the grader still had the same old problems from months ago. Adding notes directly to the python notebooks is not that difficult. #Return 4 significant digits, etc.

Plus, the grader output is not always useful. I execute the function in the python notebook, for whatever reason it does not fail, it works. The grader is more sensitive as it should be but it would be more meaningful at least it mentioned which line it has failed or which cell or which function.

The quizes during the videos seems a bit too random. I expect, if you are interrupting a video, you would be asking a question whose answer would be relevant for the later part of the video. Those pop-ups feels like unannounced midterm exams. There is already a full quiz section for this.

Perhaps my expectations were too high for this course.

por Roger S

Jan 24, 2019

Course content contains too much screen capture of clicking rapidly through IBM could menus. In most cases, the version of IBM Cloud now being deployed varies from the course, so students have to figure it out themselves.

Also, explanation of the tools and resources is very short - line one sentence. We are left to figure out what the tools are - cloudant and node-RED especially.

This course and certificate look like they should come after the first Data Science Certificate (9 courses). But there is a definite gap between the two. It is not clear what course is supposed to bridge that gap.

por Daniel B

Feb 06, 2019

This course needs work. There needs to be more of a challenge, being an advanced course I expect a certain level of difficulty. I think the knowledge is too high level. There also needs to be more of a hands on approach. Let me connect to the Cloudent service, and more practice using spark and map functions.

por Jan C

Jul 10, 2019

Simply not on the same level as other ML Courses on Coursera. Programming assignments don't require you to do much by yourself. The bits you have to write, you have to guess from function names (no task description or anything is given).

por Suyash D

Aug 13, 2018

Very good course but codes and instructions are outdated. It needs serious improvement on that part. It is costing a lot more time to finish this simple course.

por Sheen D

Sep 01, 2019

Cannot understand what the instructor is saying half of the time... because he speaks really really fast...

por Nhan T N

Jun 21, 2019

The instruction is not so clear. Many mistake launch and grader does not run to score your submission.

por Dorzhi D

Jan 27, 2019

Very fiddly. Video instructions do not correspond to IBM interfaces.

por Mateusz K

Dec 23, 2018

Quite outdated and chaotic

por Daya_Jin

Sep 27, 2018

感觉没什么卵用,就学会了IBM云的基本操作

por Sudesh A

Sep 22, 2018

While the course info describes this course as a beginner level, I would not describe it so. A lot of technical terms are thrown around without even saying a word about them let alone explain them.

The course is very disorganized, and the instructions for the assignments are not correct (and outdated). You have to basically figure out on your own how to set up the system before you even start doing the actual assignments. What you actually experience is completely different from what you see in the screenshots of the instructions.

This has been my experience just after being 2 weeks into the course. Hopefully things get better in the last two weeks. Honestly, so far I have only learnt a bunch of names.

I will update my review at the end of the course, if needed.

UPDATE: I eventually decided to unenroll from this course. This course is not worth it, in my opinion.

por yu m c

Jul 04, 2019

Corrupted assignment, you will never pass assignment 2 as the assignment checker was corrupted. so disappointed. in fact nice lecture and tutor and videos.

por Prasad N

Jun 28, 2019

worse guidance and pathetic support - shame on COURSERA and instructors for this horrible situation. Have wasted enormous productive time on this

por Karthic N

Jan 04, 2019

This is supposed to a course covering fundamentals , the course content lacks clarity and the instructors and mentors are not helpful either

por 唐志强

Aug 22, 2018

All of the course is telling you how to use their product

por Sai S

Mar 23, 2019

very poor not even know the answers for the faculty

por Rohan S

Feb 24, 2019

This course takes you on a very structured path. It starts with the core concepts of spark and how is it important in the industry. The material along with the IBM cloud platform is a total bonus.

The assignments are challenging for a reason. They test your entire knowledge and makes sure that you pay careful attention to the material being delivered. In fact, while completing the assignments, you will find yourself looking through official library documentation for support; this is a good thing. Moreover, you also find yourself writing good quality code.

Romeo teaches the content in the simplest way possible. He explains the concepts with utmost care with adequate examples. The content on statistics is also very well laid out which helps you become a better decision maker.

Overall, the course was excellent and should suffice for anyone willing to learn spark and get familiarity with cloud technologies and Apache Spark.

por Oritseweyinmi H A

Nov 04, 2019

Strong introduction into parallel computing and big data processing. Romeo's expertise on the subject matter, combined with his love for teaching was on show during this course. He did a great job explaining the theoretical aspects, and slowly but surely introducing us into the practical aspects as well, through the programming exercises. All in all, this has proved to be a high quality introduction into this space and I'm excited to take the next step, learn more and apply the fundamentals I have picked up here.