Chevron Left
Voltar para Diabetes – the Essential Facts

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Diabetes – the Essential Facts da instituição Universidade de Copenhague

4.7
estrelas
1,701 classificações
434 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Across the world more than 420 million people are living with diabetes. Two thirds of these have not yet been diagnosed. When discovered late or managed incorrectly, diabetes can damage your heart, blood vessels, eyes, kidneys, and nerves, leading to disability and premature death. In fact, more people are dying of diabetes related diseases than of diseases as HIV/AIDS, malaria and tuberculosis combined. This course will provide you with an introduction to the most recent research in the field of prevention and treatment of diabetes as well as a broader understanding of the situation in different communities, rich and poor, across the world, where diabetes threatens public health. What kind of disease is diabetes, who has it, and who is at risk of getting it? And what are the roles of medicine, exercise and nutrition when trying to prevent, delay or treat diabetes? During the course you will meet researchers and experts from Imperial College London, Emory University in Atlanta, Steno Diabetes Center in Copenhagen as well as the School of Global Health and the Center for Basic Metabolic Research at the University of Copenhagen. They work with very different aspects of diabetes, from microbiology to global public health, but what ties them together is the belief that it is a global responsibility to combat diabetes, and this fight can only be won through new knowledge and global collaboration. We hope you will join us in the course and equip yourself to take part in the ongoing discussions of this truly global and individual health challenge. This course is also part of the EIT Health programme....

Melhores avaliações

OB

4 de out de 2020

Only thing not furnished that is fasting glucose and pp glucose ranging should be furnished. And also the glucose tolerance test result and Hb1AC test result ranges to be discussed during the course.

LL

6 de dez de 2017

This was an awesome short course which I would recommend to anyone who is interested in diabetes or other chronic diseases. I learned a lot about different ways you could possibly prevent diabetes.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 436 Avaliações para o Diabetes – the Essential Facts

por Surisetty H k

16 de jun de 2020

Interesting course and very informative

por Sonali S D

27 de mai de 2020

Can you provide me a certificate for the course that i have completed or any details that will make sure i have completed this course.I could not download anything from accomplishments section.

por Sagia A G A

15 de jun de 2020

I am suprised that I enrolled in course with free certificate but when I am finished ,they want me to pay to certificate

por Prakash P

12 de nov de 2021

This is a wonderful course for the beginners and explains the current status of diabetes in the developed and developing countries Lectures delivered by eminent persons and expert diabetologists obesity is the main cause for diabetes and to control it exercise along with lifestyle changes are necessary. For me new finding is even in under developed countries persons who are not obese also suffer from diabetes. Skill i learnt from this course is how diabetes can be managed with exercise and changes in lifestyle and diet. Carbohydrate consumption must be reduced.. Thank you Professors from University of Copenhagen and Experts and researchers. Thank you very much for this excellent course on Diabetes.

por D P

5 de out de 2020

It was really informative. I appreciate the course and the peer reviews were really interesting to read as there were so many students from around the world. It was very enlightening to hear what challenges other countries are facing. Furthermore, to have a more in depth understanding of diabetes has allowed me to have the confidence to assist family and friends with the passing on of knowledge to better assist them. (Especially those who avoid the doctor!).

Thank you for a wonderful course.

por Nikos K

12 de mar de 2021

Really nice course, a basic introduction of the subject, with many experts speaking and sharing their knowledge on the subject. Quizzes and peer-graded assignment could be a little harder. Also there is more reading material of the published research mentioned during the videos in "resources" that helps get more in-depth knowledge, but it could be in the week-by-week reading material.

por Paul S

11 de abr de 2022

A​s an older learner, it was important to me that the course teach me certain broad general study concepts. In other words, the setup taught me to study again. In particular, the course taught me about diabetes but also opened my mind to the concept that we all are researching diabetes. We teach our results to others smply by changing our lifestyles.

por 1806075

9 de mai de 2022

I really get precious knowledge from this course, i hope every one can join this learning material to be aware and get benefits for himself and his family, especially, for our children and the challenges faces them through wide technology usage.

I thanks every person who share this knowledge with love to help people.

Thanks a lot.

por Angellene A

27 de abr de 2022

I have learned a lot of new information on diabetes from this course and it's great that we got to hear from the perspectives of other individuals from various regions. The interviews in particular were great techniques in the teaching process, and the activities were appropriate for the topics. Thank you for this course!

por Δήμητρα Σ

16 de dez de 2020

Great class and very informative! My dad has T2 Diabetes and I help him with his medication and nutrition and I found this course very helpful. I educate myself for my father and my future self! There are many experts on this course and I really enjoyed the presentation and structure of it! Thank you!

por Majid S A

22 de set de 2021

V​ery nicely presented and really outlines the significant need of controlling different types of diabetes within the many regions of the world. This course is a must for anyone wanting to make a change within healthcare or any other domain regarding human health and quality of life.

por Rocio d M T

6 de jul de 2018

I've completed only the first week and I have learnt so much about this common disease that everyone talks about and knows not so much. Thanks to the University of Copenhagen for making this available to all of us and me, so that I can know much more and help myself and my family.

por Pankaj K

7 de out de 2020

This was a very well structured MOOC. I learned a lot of things that I can take care to avoid the risk of Diabetes. I also became familiar with the graveness of the situation on the basis of regional differences. A lot of research needs to be done and a lot is left to be learned.

por 23_ S P

25 de jan de 2022

It was very interesting and educating course. I know it was a basic and simple topic though I got to know so much more information and different intelligent perspectives of scientists through the research they are doing which is so beneficial to mankind.

por Roberto G

7 de mai de 2022

​Excelente curso que me ha ayudado a entender mejor mi propia condición y poder sobrellevar con mayor conocimiento como manejar mi enfermedad. ¡Gracias a los profesores y científicos, e invitados, de la Universidad de Copenhaguen!

por Lisa G

26 de fev de 2022

R​eally good to learn about Diabetes in this way. Like the interview format and using different people and referencing the current studies as well as a brief history at the beginning.

L​ooking forward to more.

por Smriti V

4 de jun de 2020

Comprehensive course giving a general overview on the basics of diabetes, how it is affecting various populations and possible means to keep the level of blood glucose in check and further research scope.

por Ivonne D

18 de mai de 2020

En definitiva es un curso que vale la pena para compartir los conocimientos adquiridos y llevarlos a cabo peesonalmente. Gracias! Gracias a mos colaboradores y a la Universidad de copenhague

por Aale M

30 de out de 2020

This course is easy to follow along as it doesn't use too hard medical terms, that and the interviews make this course very enjoyable. All the information provided has been quite helpful.

por Lars A

12 de fev de 2021

Very well performed and interesting course - also for individuals without medical training but with interest in diabetes. Great learning from the short lectures and intermediate quizzes.

por Ximena A P L

26 de jun de 2019

It is a great course. It show different points of view from different expert in the field of diabetes. It is good presented, understandable, and very likely to follow. Great job.

por Dharshine S G

26 de jun de 2020

The course was awesome. The issue I faced is, despite having a good network strength, the video would get struck.Other than this, the course was very informative and precise.

por Mahakaal B

12 de jun de 2021

A brief knowledge of Diabetes in 3 weeks only. I am in love with COURSERA. Now I can enhance my skills sitting at my home on my finger tips. Thank you very much COURSERA.

por رند ف

27 de nov de 2020

Very useful and the information are presented in a an attractive way.

It was an easy beneficial course, I recommend it any one who seek general knowledge about the topic

por Karla G C Á

19 de fev de 2021

Excellent introductory course to Diabetes. I highly recommend it to anyone interested in knowing how does Diabetes affects our body and what can we do to prevent it.