Chevron Left
Voltar para The Language of Design: Form and Meaning

Comentários e feedback de alunos de The Language of Design: Form and Meaning da instituição Instituto de Artes da Califórnia

4.6
estrelas
601 classificações

Sobre o curso

In this course, critique is defined as a detailed, objective analysis of a work of graphic design and its effectiveness. Critique is an integral part of the making process for designers: it’s not just how we determine if a work of design is or is not successful, it’s how we move our work forward. Critique is also where other voices and opinions can be brought into the design process. This course will introduce a lexicon (or vocabulary) in order for you to demonstrate clearer and more considered ways of talking about graphic design in the context of critique. Through this lexicon and a provided Critique Framework, we will model and then practice objectively describing how well a work of design functions based on specific, clearly articulated criteria. By refining this skill, you will enhance your ability to communicate about design with peers, colleagues, and clients. This course is essential to anyone looking to develop and refine a critical vocabulary around talking about art and design, such as: - practicing graphic designers at all levels - future and current students of art or design programs - teachers teaching visual art, design, or related subjects - any stakeholder in a design project that needs to communicate effectively with designers on their team. This course is recommended to learners enrolled in either the Graphic Design Specialization or UI/UX Design Specialization on Coursera to further develop their skills in graphic design. You may take this course before, during, or after completing either Specialization. Note this is not an art appreciation course for a general audience. While no prior experience is required to begin, the knowledge and skills taught in this course is useful only if you have some relationship to design in a professional context, i.e., practicing, studying, or teaching design, or working directly with designers. No specific software or tools are required to complete this course....

Melhores avaliações

DO

19 de mai de 2022

It was well structured and every video, quiz and peer review helped the concepts and teachings really sink in. With that being said, I'm definitely going to take the course again and again and again

JW

5 de jul de 2020

Short course that gives a good introduction to analyzing design elements. This will give you the framework and vocabulary to clearly convey points in your analysis,

Filtrar por:

26 — 50 de 176 Avaliações para o The Language of Design: Form and Meaning

por Ojasvee J

10 de abr de 2020

This course helped me to learn the nitty-gritty of visual communication and graphic design. Every week I have learned something new which would surely help me to improve my work. I would definitely recommend this course to everyone who is interested in learning visual communication in-depth.

por Вікторія М

8 de mai de 2022

Excellent course! It helps to structure knowledge on composition, especially on its analysis, which is very important for understanding the composition as a whole. The acquired knowledge can be used in different types of composition, not only in graphics. Thanks for the course!

por Massimo D F

4 de ago de 2020

I found the course very useful to understand how to read through a piece of graphic design and the basics of language design. Materials and lessons are really valuable content that explains meanings in a strong and clear manner. I'm very happy with the concepts I have learned.

por Farah S

2 de jul de 2020

I've learned something new and valuable. This course definitely worth it. It taught me how critique for a work of design is a huge deal and how a person confronted with a design should be aware of what to look at before address the critique. Superb effort! Thank you very much!

por THELMA C S O

2 de ago de 2020

This class was great in introducing vocabulary and concepts of visual arts and design that allows for a formal structure of how to make a critique about them. It helps to also identify meaning, function, purpose, composition, and visual language in an efficient way!

por Tejas W S

7 de abr de 2020

I like this course because as a graphic designer, I learned a few important subjects and it's will very use full, well designed and explained by our tutors, I will suggest this other also for learning sole of graphic design,

note: thank you for CALARTS & Coursera

por Abdullah A R S

5 de nov de 2020

An excellent course that describes about the importance of design critique and how it helps us as a designer to apply in our work. Learning about the language of design helps me to use more meaningful words and understand better my clients. Recommended!

por Karan K

2 de jun de 2020

I develop my skills a lot through this course by learning about how to read any poster, a design related article, and a lot about graphic design. so i want to say a huge thanks to both tutor's prof. Yasmin Khan and prof. Randy Nakamura.

por Chito I A B I

25 de jul de 2022

This course really helped me to understand the language of design. Also I have learned so much about the concept of "critique" in which this is a detailed analysis of reviewing someone's design.

Thank you so much for this. Great work!

por Rita F M

25 de set de 2020

The course is based on a friendly language and its content consists of videos and quizzes that ensure understanding of the subject during classes. The tests and tasks are very creative!

The course function was strong / clear ;)

por N C

25 de mai de 2020

As someone who does graphics design as a side job, I really found this course useful. I can better understand and form proper criticism about other works, and explain my own works better to clients with my new jargon.

por Kyla N V

28 de mai de 2020

The course is a great refresher for designers. While it cannot be considered for beginners, there can still be new insights that can be learned from this course. Truly helpful in giving meaningful critique.

por Abegail B

10 de jul de 2020

This was somewhat a difficult course, but it is also very fulfilling to finish this and glean much information that would enhance my design theory instead of relying on gut feelings. Thank you so much.

por YOTAY M

20 de mai de 2022

It was well structured and every video, quiz and peer review helped the concepts and teachings really sink in. With that being said, I'm definitely going to take the course again and again and again

por Doga T

11 de jul de 2020

With this course, I've learned to critique 'design work' in a meaningful framework. The course was informative and clear. The examples and explanations are helpful. Thank you for this course.

por Fernanda F

23 de jun de 2020

This is a great course to gain knowledge and vocabulary on the concepts of design, You get to practice the skills learned through the videos, resources and the assignments.

por Juan R B

6 de mai de 2020

A very thorough journey toward the very core of visual communication. It gives you the vocabulary and criteria to embark on an effective and objective design critique.

por Joanna S

5 de abr de 2022

I am very glad that I could participate in the course. Thank you for the enormous amount of information and motivation for further development.​

por Rishika D

12 de ago de 2020

It was an informative course. I totally recommend it to fellow designing students. its important to earn about lexicons and positive criticism.

por Piotr K

9 de fev de 2021

The course is great to refresh the knowledge about the meaning of graphic design and how to article your work in a more professional manner.

por Zonia Z

8 de fev de 2022

T​his course has helped me refreshed concepts of design as well as learning ways to see and speak about a design. I highly recommend it .

por Andrea C R

16 de jun de 2020

Loved this course. It has helped me so much in communicating my concerns on design. Definitely a must for people in design and publicity.

por Ricardo A S

11 de ago de 2022

Um curso muito bom, bastante completo e interativo. É possível aprender ao mesmo tempo que testamos os nossos conhecimentos! Recomendo.

por trung n

2 de out de 2021

This course has given me a lot of knowledge as well as the basis to be able to evaluate the design works accurately and with a basis.

por Sehresh M

25 de jun de 2020

I learnt a lot about form in design and the terminology about visual hierarchy, shape and contrast etc. The course was very helpful.