Chevron Left
Voltar para The Language of Design: Form and Meaning

Comentários e feedback de alunos de The Language of Design: Form and Meaning da instituição Instituto de Artes da Califórnia

4.6
estrelas
557 classificações
162 avaliações

Sobre o curso

In this course, critique is defined as a detailed, objective analysis of a work of graphic design and its effectiveness. Critique is an integral part of the making process for designers: it’s not just how we determine if a work of design is or is not successful, it’s how we move our work forward. Critique is also where other voices and opinions can be brought into the design process. This course will introduce a lexicon (or vocabulary) in order for you to demonstrate clearer and more considered ways of talking about graphic design in the context of critique. Through this lexicon and a provided Critique Framework, we will model and then practice objectively describing how well a work of design functions based on specific, clearly articulated criteria. By refining this skill, you will enhance your ability to communicate about design with peers, colleagues, and clients. This course is essential to anyone looking to develop and refine a critical vocabulary around talking about art and design, such as: - practicing graphic designers at all levels - future and current students of art or design programs - teachers teaching visual art, design, or related subjects - any stakeholder in a design project that needs to communicate effectively with designers on their team. This course is recommended to learners enrolled in either the Graphic Design Specialization or UI/UX Design Specialization on Coursera to further develop their skills in graphic design. You may take this course before, during, or after completing either Specialization. Note this is not an art appreciation course for a general audience. While no prior experience is required to begin, the knowledge and skills taught in this course is useful only if you have some relationship to design in a professional context, i.e., practicing, studying, or teaching design, or working directly with designers. No specific software or tools are required to complete this course....

Melhores avaliações

D
10 de Jul de 2020

With this course, I've learned to critique 'design work' in a meaningful framework. The course was informative and clear. The examples and explanations are helpful. Thank you for this course.

SV
25 de Ago de 2020

Besides trying to find some form and meaning in a design of art, the course also teaches to make meaningful connections when you form and express your own thoughts.

Filtrar por:

51 — 75 de 163 Avaliações para o The Language of Design: Form and Meaning

por Yudi Y S

2 de Jun de 2020

It's really hard but challenging myself to improve my knowledge about language design. This course is great!

por Haidar A

21 de Mai de 2021

very helpful ! help you to organize the critique process of any pice of design based on academic knowledge.

por Abram U

2 de Jun de 2020

This course is amazing. I learned so much how to correctly critique design. Thumbs up to the instructors!

por Adler A

16 de Abr de 2020

This Course is as good as previous I had from CalArts, with short informative videos and tons of practice

por Travis J E

1 de Jun de 2021

Change my entire perspective on design analysis! This is a great course! Learned quite a bit from it.

por Michele F

25 de Out de 2021

A basic course to be able to deal critically and analytically with the work of the graphic designer.

por Manoj S B

20 de Dez de 2021

​Simple and focused on all the framework terms and explained well for the beginners. Great course.

por Aaron M A

28 de Abr de 2020

Amazing course. It really helps you learn to look at designs and understand them in clearer terms.

por Niloy K J

5 de Jul de 2021

Special thanks to the instructor for their effort.

Very usefull to gain knowledge.

Thank you again.

por Redvers F C

20 de Ago de 2020

A great course. But, I can't reset my deadlines for some reason and that means I am disappointed

por Andrea B

15 de Mai de 2020

This course helped me understand the complexity of design and how to give an objective feedback.

por GARAH A

26 de Ago de 2020

great course and true explorative course. an exodus to the world of form and meaning in design

por Amanda E

30 de Jun de 2020

learned about poster composition and it has inspired me to use this information in the future!

por Siddharth M

22 de Abr de 2020

Very well designed course regarding the lexicons and vocabulary used in the design industry.

por Elga L N d C

8 de Set de 2020

Great to understand about visual hierarchy and to develop skills to critique visual works.

por Saksham J

14 de Jun de 2021

Really enjoyed doing the course and learning about design and how things are criticized.

por Elis H

5 de Jun de 2020

I loved the course, very clear, objective and content with great practical references.

por Luiza A

11 de Fev de 2021

Excelente curso, indico a todos interessados em Design Gráfico e Linguagens visuais.

por Simona J T

26 de Jun de 2020

Great course with very useful vocabulary. I loved the examples from actual Designs.

por Katherine S

27 de Abr de 2020

A very smooth and clear course that is making you think instead of just memorizing.

por sunny w

22 de Jun de 2020

Really usefull course. I really like way of teaching and course stuff. Thank you.

por Salman K B

25 de Mai de 2020

I learned a lot through this MOOC. A very nice course and strongly recommended.

por Ray M S

21 de Mai de 2020

I love it because we learn how to read the design as non-verbal communication.

por Andrés M

29 de Abr de 2020

Very good content and clarity. Excellent for anyone who is in graphic design.

por Trupti B

7 de Abr de 2020

Crisp and clear course for improving on vocabulary and design critique style.