Chevron Left
Voltar para Children's Human Rights - An Interdisciplinary Introduction

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Children's Human Rights - An Interdisciplinary Introduction da instituição Universidade de GenebraUniversidade de Genebra

4.7
estrelas
1,770 classificações
434 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Drawing on the contributions of several academic disciplines including law, psychology, sociology, history, educational and health sciences, economy and anthropology, an interdisciplinary approach guides the student into a selection of critical issues concerning children’s rights. Participants will gain insight relative to the development of this specific human rights category, as well as to the evolution of the challenges faced by children over time and society’s efforts to respond. Successful international strategies and programs promoting children’s rights will be highlighted, as well as the role of key actors involved in international organizations working in this field. This open online course provides an overview of the most important features of children’s human rights. A central portion of the MOOC will consist of a presentation of the international and regional standards on children’s rights and the related international and regional judicial and quasi-judicial bodies designed to ensure their implementation. No prerequisites or specific background is required to register for this MOOC. The course is conceived as an introductory level program, but participants, who wish to deepen their knowledge in the field of children’s rights, or already have some prior knowledge, will have access to additional reading material on a weekly basis. Participants who successfully complete the class activities and final assessment may request for a paid certificate of accomplishment signed by the Instructor and the main professors responsible for the program. However, no credits are awarded. The course consists of seven topical modules distributed on 4 weeks. English is the only language of instruction....

Melhores avaliações

FR
24 de Fev de 2020

Truly interdisciplinary course with rich content, and reasonable depth, based upon team work of faculty. I am even recommend my 15 year child to study it and know about her responsibilities and rights

SD
30 de Jan de 2019

I strongly recommend this for people who are passionately working among children across the globe. This is the need of the hour! Let's educate ourselves and serve the best for our children. Cheers!

Filtrar por:

426 — 434 de 434 Avaliações para o Children's Human Rights - An Interdisciplinary Introduction

por Chitwale K

8 de Out de 2019

Great Course. I would recommend it to anyone doing development studies.

por Allison B

5 de Jun de 2017

The audio was very bad at points

por Roslyn T

9 de Fev de 2017

The content of the course so far is interesting - and to be fair, I've only completed the first week of this course.

Unfortunately, the combination of multiple lecturers within one part of a lesson (often with highly varying accents, reading verbatim from lecture notes) makes the presentation of the course material come off as very stiff, over-directed, and hard to understand. It's hard to adapt to the idiosyncrasies and lecturing style of a new person in a four minute video, at which point you get a whole new lecturer and have to start the process over again.

A maximum of two or three lecturers for the entirety of the course (perhaps with the occasional guest speaker) would be helpful. Also, either allowing the them to deliver the course material in their native languages with English subtitles, or perhaps having them record the course material in English in something similar to a classroom environment where they're accustomed to lecturing, would make things infinitely easier to follow.

This 'too many cooks in the kitchen' issue is what I also suspect happened with the week one quiz. I do not know who generates the quiz questions but they seemed to require a lot of mental gymnastics for a multiple choice quiz. Perhaps on my end there could be a cultural misunderstanding in how a quiz checks your knowledge of the source material? Let me put it this way: in my previous university studies, I have never taken a multiple choice quiz where the question starts as 'In your opinion...'

Sadly, I will probably drop this class - but the course has sparked enough of an interest where I will probably be picking up some books or doing some informal research on my own about this topic.

por Ananya

28 de Ago de 2020

The questions asked were not conceptual but rather focused on stray facts. Some of the lectures were very good. However, some of the discussions were not nuanced enough. Even as an introductory course, a concerted effort to introduce some of the debates and controversies should have been taken, which was absent in many of the lectures.

por Kristof S

27 de Fev de 2017

Although very interesting and very innovative in its presentation I had the feeling this course was an introduction to the Master program at the UNIGE, rather than a stand alone course. At times it was difficult to comprehend the speakers. I would have preferred deepening of one aspect of this topic rather than such a broad approach.

por Tina L

2 de Mar de 2021

This course is difficult to understand with the language barriers. Slowing down the speed helps a lot, however when it comes to the Tests, awful! i have sent many requests to fix no such luch so for that reason I am dropping the course. I do hope this problem resolves and the class and tests are better prepared for future students.

por Augusto A V O

17 de Jul de 2020

He realizado el examen del curso demasiadas veces y hasta hice un experimento con las preguntas, y hay algo malo, ya que ninguna de ellas debe de ser la correcta. Se cuáles son las respuestas, ya que he leido y he leído el material demasiadas veces, pero no subo la puntuación, por lo tanto prefiero abandonarlo.

por Laura M

31 de Jul de 2021

​While the content of the course is interesting, the platform of delivery is not engaging. The videos are lecture-style and the experts are reading from notes. I'd prefer if the style was updated.

por Athira S

21 de Abr de 2020

Try to make the MOOC little more interesting.