Chevron Left
Voltar para Understanding child development: from synapse to society

Understanding child development: from synapse to society, Universidade de Utrecht

4.6
58 classificações
14 avaliações

Informações sobre o curso

In this course, we dive into the topic of child development. You will learn that child development is complex and is influenced by a surprisingly rich number of factors at many different levels of organization. You will see that development can be studied in various domains and at various levels of understanding, from different angles and disciplines. Importantly, you will come to understand that processes within and between the various domains and levels of organization continuously interact to shape development. This implies that understanding development requires taking an interdisciplinary approach. In order to help you organize your thinking about this complexity you will learn more about the developmental systems approach and theories related to that. We will look, amongst other things, at the brain and motor development, cognitive, language and social-emotional development and all the factors that have an influence on development. To illustrate how an interdisciplinary approach helps to understand child development you will see how researchers from various disciplines and backgrounds study child development at Utrecht University. These scientists will give a look in their field of knowledge and their collaboration with colleagues, to illustrate how the theory you will learn translates to practice. In sum, we invite you to follow us on a journey to understand child development from synapse to society!...

Melhores avaliações

por RM

Oct 14, 2018

I have absolutely loved this course. Challenging but accessible. Every week has been engaging. I enjoyed the variety of research papers, video lectures and interviews.

por NP

Mar 20, 2019

Amazing course, I learn a lot about child development in the past 6 weeks!

Filtrar por:

13 avaliações

por Irina Solanich

Apr 04, 2019

The content of the course is very good, however, I highly recommend you not to buy a Certificate. The assignments of this course are graded by peers. That's what happen to me in the end: I did all the assignments on time, but in the end of the course there were no people to check it. As it is recommended in FAQ, I've written in the forum for 3(!) times asking people to grade it. There were about 5(!) moderators, but no one paid attention. Even though I did all the required work, I didn't get the Certificate, that I really need. Your final result basicly depend on other people's mood (not even teachers, just the students). So don't waste you money, just listen to the content.

por novayuandini gemilang putri

Mar 20, 2019

Amazing course, I learn a lot about child development in the past 6 weeks!

por Jorge Ramirez

Mar 20, 2019

I think it is an excellent course to understand a little more the development of our children. As a teacher I think it is a foundation to understand and support our students in their training process.

por GEORGIANNA ROVITO

Mar 18, 2019

I was looking to boost up my childcare profile. I learned a great deal of new areas relating to how child development is studied. I would recommend this course to anyone looking to learn more about child development processes.

por Ana Sophia Galicia Schwarz

Mar 11, 2019

Impressive content, easy to learn and provides life tools.

por Pallavi Devi Deepchand

Feb 06, 2019

interesting

por Balkrishna Bokil

Oct 15, 2018

Excellent content and very good presentation.

por Rose Fawbert Mills

Oct 14, 2018

I have absolutely loved this course. Challenging but accessible. Every week has been engaging. I enjoyed the variety of research papers, video lectures and interviews.

por Eva

Sep 14, 2018

It's a really helpful course to lead you understand develomental psychology.

por Nina Liefhebber

Jun 12, 2018

I have no background at all in this subject, but as I am a mother I am generally interested in child development and that was the reason for me to follow the course. I found it a nice overview of all the different aspects involved in child development and with an academic background (PhD) it was easy to follow. It took me around 3 hours per week to go through.