Chevron Left
Voltar para The Truth About Cats and Dogs

Comentários e feedback de alunos de The Truth About Cats and Dogs da instituição Universidade de EdimburgoUniversidade de Edimburgo

4.8
estrelas
1,604 classificações
460 avaliações

Sobre o curso

What is your cat revealing to you when she purrs? What is your dog expressing when he yawns or wags his tail? Understanding your cat and dog’s behaviour and the way they communicate with you, will enable you to better understand their needs and strengthen your relationship with them. This MOOC is divided into five topics, the appliance of science; behaviour and body language, senses and perception; challenges for the human-animal relationship, including pet problem behaviour; and how to improve the quality of life for cats and dogs in our care. At the start of the course we ask you to consider what you feel is important to your cat/dog and what your cat/dog means to you? We explore the world of cats and dogs and how our relationships with them vary around the world and have changed over time. We ask if we can really know what our animals are thinking or trying to communicate through their facial expressions and behaviours. From our beloved pets to street dogs, shelter dogs/cats and welfare challenges, we explore the world from their perspective and examine how their genetic make-up may influence their behavioural responses and choices. We dispel common behavioural myths by looking through a scientific lens, asking questions about the function and development of their behaviour.. We explore how their senses help them to interact with their world and how they communicate with each other and us! Finally, we ask whether we impose unrealistic expectations on our cats and dogs and how this affects their ability to live alongside us. We ask, what can we do to be more responsible pet owners and to ensure the welfare of all cats and dogs in society? This MOOC explores different scientifically validated methods that can help you to better understand your pet, to enrich their lives and help you to be a more educated and confident pet owner. We hope you enjoy the course!...

Melhores avaliações

HR
26 de Mar de 2020

I learned so much about how to decrease stress for my pets and increase their happiness. I also learned how to better communicate with them. Thank you for helping improve my pets quality of life!

AG
7 de Out de 2020

This course is a very good overview for people beginning their studies of dogs and cats. Pertinent videos and additional resource suggestions provide further opportunities to study more details.

Filtrar por:

426 — 450 de 454 Avaliações para o The Truth About Cats and Dogs

por Megan Y

29 de Abr de 2017

This course was good. It was great to refresh knowledge.

por Wk W

28 de Jun de 2020

Very informative course with good videos and delivery!

por Maria L

24 de Abr de 2017

Very good course, especially for the (new) pet owner!

por Veronica S

25 de Jun de 2020

Basic information, but still useful.

por Recardo

18 de Nov de 2020

I have 100% time for cat facts. <3

por Prajakta

20 de Jun de 2020

like the course,.

very informative.

por maryanne e

5 de Out de 2020

great course! really enjoyed it!

por Vladimir R

29 de Out de 2020

The best of the themes.

por Richard K

26 de Mai de 2017

Nice overview

por Anne b

26 de Jun de 2018

Interesting

por Julio C N P

23 de Mai de 2017

thanks

por Andreea T

11 de Nov de 2020

The course was informative but at times it felt like i wasn't learning that much and that much of the information could be foudn online on specific animal organisation websites. Would've been nice to have extra research on cats and dogs and more information on diseases, different breeds, how to show you animal you love them etc. Feels like these were mentioned but just touched on rather than explored in detail. Still helpful though so thanks for the effort put into making this come together!

por HARSHIT S

19 de Mar de 2018

i came here after putting aside my firm belief in the alpha theory as far the dogs are concerned, totally fresh minded, zero ground. And i have to say i do agree on a lot of things discussed here. I knew nothing about cats, so this was a largely beneficial course in that field. There is a lot of information in this course on the nature of cats (loved those portions). Dog portion of the course is good, but not the best. Thanks a bundle for this!

por Jasmine K

25 de Set de 2020

The topics can be rather boring and very directed towards UK residents. It had little information that was useful for anyone outside of the UK when it came to resources. Most of the information was basic info all pet owners should know before getting a pet. If that is what you want this is the right course. If you want to learn about pet behavior and proper training this is not the course.

por Valérie O

22 de Jan de 2020

module très intéressant mais parfois contradictoire sur le bien être animal (dressage/éducation) beaucoup de confusion cela vient peut etre de la traduction en français n'est pas très bonne.

por Nikkole P

21 de Abr de 2020

very interesting, learned a lot of important things, but the course was not very challenging. I was able to complete the course in one day.

por Kate C

23 de Abr de 2017

The content was inconsistently delivered and the topics disorganized. The content was excellent, although a bit repetitive at the end.

por Sarah J H

1 de Mai de 2020

Overall good introductory course. Some information was repetitive and didn't have as much substance as I was hoping for.

por DEBOLINA C

11 de Set de 2018

Good course content but a bit repetitive at times. Nat, Heather and Hayley are amazing!

por Vicki H

24 de Ago de 2018

A few bits of new information, but much of this course was already known and practiced.

por Roslyn M

2 de Fev de 2019

Some interesting information, but most of it was very basic.

por Guillem

16 de Mai de 2019

Too many words to explains so little content.

por Chuting Z

7 de Fev de 2020

Not worth the price, expensive

por Ray Q

21 de Ago de 2019

The more I get into this, it is nothing like I expected. Also very hard to understand (too quiet) especially the veterinarian. Also, what am I supposed to get out of this?