Chevron Left
Voltar para Astro 101: Black Holes

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Astro 101: Black Holes da instituição Universidade de AlbertaUniversidade de Alberta

4.8
estrelas
810 classificações
272 avaliações

Sobre o curso

What is a black hole? Do they really exist? How do they form? How are they related to stars? What would happen if you fell into one? How do you see a black hole if they emit no light? What’s the difference between a black hole and a really dark star? Could a particle accelerator create a black hole? Can a black hole also be a worm hole or a time machine? In Astro 101: Black Holes, you will explore the concepts behind black holes. Using the theme of black holes, you will learn the basic ideas of astronomy, relativity, and quantum physics. After completing this course, you will be able to: • Describe the essential properties of black holes. • Explain recent black hole research using plain language and appropriate analogies. • Compare black holes in popular culture to modern physics to distinguish science fact from science fiction. • Describe the application of fundamental physical concepts including gravity, special and general relativity, and quantum mechanics to reported scientific observations. • Recognize different types of stars and distinguish which stars can potentially become black holes. • Differentiate types of black holes and classify each type as observed or theoretical. • Characterize formation theories associated with each type of black hole. • Identify different ways of detecting black holes, and appropriate technologies associated with each detection method. • Summarize the puzzles facing black hole researchers in modern science....

Melhores avaliações

SK
30 de Jul de 2020

i love this course, everything from knowledge to the visual and scientific data, this course amazed me.\n\ni thanking to all the person in this course to sharing this knowledge in such an amazing way

DB
26 de Jul de 2020

It is an Excellent course , with no math assignments, if you want to learn Black holes Definitely, this is the course for you , i am looking for another course from same team. Excellent Team Effort.

Filtrar por:

251 — 275 de 276 Avaliações para o Astro 101: Black Holes

por Manish K

30 de Jul de 2020

This course is pretty good. It helps in developing intrest about black holes. One drawback about this course is that If you want to understand all the mathematics including black holes and general relativity then this course is not for you. Otherwise this course is fantastic as they teaches using computer graphics and images.

por Sumeet N

18 de Nov de 2020

Ross is the best trainer among the four of them (even without comparison). The 4 rating is for the knowledge in the course and of the trainers. Some points and some mathematics could have stressed more. For someone like me who is allergic to mathematics, those principles escape before being understood.

:-)

por Rubén M R

7 de Jan de 2021

It's interesting but the lack of (elemental) formulas and graphics to illustrate some simple concepts make the course a little "boring". Too much (interesting) speeches. The professors make a great effort to transmit the subject. Good for them!.

por Chris S

30 de Dez de 2020

This course gives a thorough analysis of Black holes which includes examining other phenomena such as the Big Bang, neutron stars, pulsars, space time and the effect of gravitation on light. A comprehensive look at the universe.

por John B

22 de Mar de 2019

Great pace and great teachers! Would have loved more math-based problems to practice the formulas and calculations, but that's just me. A must-take course if you're starting out on your quest to understand the Universe.

por Steven G

9 de Jul de 2019

An excellent introductory course into the physics of black holes. I only gave it four stars since I felt it could have had more mathematics content for students that want to dig a little deeper into the material.

por Shivanshu K

5 de Jul de 2020

This is a pretty good course give you a really good insight into the Black holes. The only problem I had was that most of the queries are unanswered, which is a little problematic in cementing the foundation.

por Kirubarani.T

16 de Mai de 2020

Super course...there are many informations about black holes are presented. and their communication language was easily understand to all..thank you so much for offer the course

por Edmund C

23 de Jan de 2022

If time dialation is infinite at the event horizon, other than by the warping of spacetime itself, how could anything actually cross the horizon in less than infinite time?

por Lionel L R Q

5 de Jul de 2020

Pretty decent course for an introductory level. However, the teaching assistants aren't that responsive so you got to wait a little longer. Overall a satisfactory course.

por Harry B

5 de Set de 2020

Lots of interesting information about black holes and ongoing research about them. Only very rudimentary math needed for the course.

por Simone A R

28 de Dez de 2020

This is an incredible course through all the different aspects of black holes. I recommend it to anyone interested in astrophysics

por Mikaeel S

16 de Set de 2019

It was a fun course, however it would have been more fun if there was more interactive stuff to do.

por keith b

2 de Jul de 2019

taught me the latest theories on black holes and some physical principles of related science

por Vincent L

26 de Jul de 2020

Prof. Morsink and team, very educational and easy to understand course.

por Abdessamad M

10 de Mai de 2019

Good course, it introduced me to the black hole theory in a easy way.

por Joy S

3 de Set de 2018

Fascinating. Plus they get into Star Trek. Pretty technical, though

por Pattadon N

15 de Jun de 2020

I think the lecture should have pictures and colors.

por KAUSTUV L

28 de Mai de 2020

Could involve a little more mathematics.

por Oleksandra O

10 de Mai de 2020

All movies were cool.

por Marc B

26 de Jan de 2019

This course is very well produced and interesting. However, it is not challenging enough. It should at least propose a weekly set of problems (possibly on a voluntary basis) requiring a modicum of physics and math skills. As it stands, it tells a pretty story but does not allow a student to grasp how the story was put together. I gained much information about BHs and other celestial objects, but zero new skill. In addition, I find that lecturers reading prompters make for lifeless presentations that are not clearly superior to being assigned to read a transcript or book chapter. I thought that the staff engaged very effectively with the students on the forum.

por Joseph C

24 de Nov de 2020

Oftentimes one gets the impression that some of the lecturers have no idea what they are talking about; they appear to be reading from scripts off their computers. I also have the feeling that the overall course can be more "instructive" if the material is organized differently. This is a class for novices, not for experts, and it may not be necessary for a course lasting "10 weeks" to give the novice a useful overview of the subject.

por Jessie A

14 de Ago de 2020

Im convinced some of the questions have all wrong answers regardless. Its a very detailed course which is good but found myself getting bored often.

por Salman A N

22 de Dez de 2018

A good course, with satisfactory content, good for physics undergraduate students and others fascinated by the beauties of the cosmos.