Chevron Left
Voltar para Big Data Integration and Processing

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Big Data Integration and Processing da instituição Universidade da Califórnia, San Diego

4.4
estrelas
2,288 classificações
493 avaliações

Sobre o curso

At the end of the course, you will be able to: *Retrieve data from example database and big data management systems *Describe the connections between data management operations and the big data processing patterns needed to utilize them in large-scale analytical applications *Identify when a big data problem needs data integration *Execute simple big data integration and processing on Hadoop and Spark platforms This course is for those new to data science. Completion of Intro to Big Data is recommended. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Refer to the specialization technical requirements for complete hardware and software specifications. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge (except for data charges from your internet provider). Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

Melhores avaliações

SB
21 de Out de 2020

Hello Gentlemen,\n\nThis course was very helpful foe me. It enhanced my knowledge about Big Data Integration. Thank you so much for providing me such important knowledge. Thank you once again.

AA
5 de Mar de 2018

It was a good course, it could have been better if some examples of Spark were also provided in other Languages like Java, people without having background of python may find it difficult.

Filtrar por:

451 — 475 de 482 Avaliações para o Big Data Integration and Processing

por Reeja R G

24 de Mai de 2020

The contents are too old, its time to upgrade. And it only has very less basic theory with lots of unnecessary theory part which dont even explains anything useful. In spark only wordcount example, nothing else. Not even efficient or useful even for a beginner. I will never recommend this course. Its better to choose free on very cheap courses in Udemy which have good content, practicals and examples. Or even youtube free courses are far better. Here they have included splunk, after going through the course I googled to understand what actually splunk is. Total waste. I am cancelling my subscription today.

por Laurent C S

22 de Jun de 2019

While the teacher are excellent and the course enjoyable, the instructions are simply not working (especially week 6). Just check on the forums, the instructions are so outdated. The Internet changed. Many script must be debugged to add parameters like --no-check-ssl and add classpathes and without this, the test on week 6 is too hard without guessing and retrying. This a shame to sell courses that no longer work.

The whole course would need a serious refresh to get it working with some recent version. Remember, it is based on outdated software from 2014 or 2015.

Please update ! Thanks

por Wojciech H

13 de Dez de 2020

This course falls down a cliff almost instantly. The quizzes are based on terminology that is not yet introduced, the exercises barely scratch the surface of what is needed on the assignments. Reading in between the lines and hours of experimentation and trial and error are needed for the assignments and quizzes. That is not a way to learn. If you like to have the instructor just read off the slides and tell you to copy this, and run that, and not really understand what you are doing, then I guess this course is for you. I got nothing out of this course.

por Varun

27 de Abr de 2021

There have been major updates to the software, and the instructions in the course have not been updated to accommodate them. Neither have the moderators provided working solutions to the common technical problems in the discussions and forums nor can we find solutions pertaining to Cloudera on Google. The Hands-On exercises are totally impossible to be implemented at this stage due to lack of proper guidance.

por Spencer

16 de Nov de 2017

This course was absolutely terrible. You spend 2 hours per assignment troubleshooting the install of the various tools used and literally no time do the assignments and experiments. Its like no one at the University even tried the steps that they published, they were simply incorrect. I am lucky to have a background using some of these tools. Course should be removed until content is corrected.

por Ruben M

15 de Jul de 2018

To many wrong subtitles, to little explanation for people who wouldnt know how to find stuff out for them selves. I have been working on the week 2 exam for 2 hours because my downloadfile was in the wrong directory.... you should make ik way more easy for students to learn and not fix your faulty explanations in the downloading and installing part of the course. The theory part is great.

por Gary V

11 de Set de 2019

The course was informative but some of the scripts in the exercises were wrong. Example is WGET for example has to be changed to CURL. I spent countless hours just on figuring out what is wrong. There is no support to ask about the any issues with the lab except for the coursera community. The community is supportive, it's just that they dont give the best answers at times.

por Felix V

11 de Mar de 2021

In this course a virtual machine is used that can no longer be updated. Also it is no longer impossible to install software with the machine's package manager which makes the setup as described in the course impossible. Participants of this course need to find a workaround themselves which is most likely not possible for all. Without this issue this course would be great

por Alexander B

27 de Jun de 2021

M​aterial out of date. Virtual Machine set up does not run properly. The forum is full of people asking for help with errors and nobody cares. It is extremely frustrating if you spend half your weekend trying to fix a problem that should not be there in the first place if someone cared for this course in the past 4 years.

por Rahul B

16 de Jun de 2020

I would not recommend this course to beginners as youtube courses are better because of the fact that they are not teaching the basics at all, also there is a significant gap between what they should tell and what should be told. I would rather learn on my own. They do not know how to teach at all.

por NG S T

6 de Dez de 2020

While the concepts and materials are good in general, the final project quiz is terrible. It has outdated guides, unclear instructions and out-of-sync hints.

If you want to torture yourself, feel free to try it. If you know nothing about linux or coding, forget about completing this course.

por William R

5 de Out de 2016

I tried giving zero stars. This course is very poor. In particular the last portion of the class wherein you are tested on things that were not taught. If I had wanted to spend hours in google trying to learn this stuff I would not have spent money on this course.

por Ievgenii M

7 de Fev de 2019

Final assignment is not working properly. Whatever you choose - you are right.

There is no enough information how to dump tweets into file and how to use that in assignment.

This course doesn't worth any cent and should be either reworked or excluded.

por Felix

2 de Set de 2016

Forcing users to install demo software which requires a registration is just too lame.

Other than that, courser is very boring, introductory, jumps constantly between things and doesn't explain much. Stack overflow and 2 hours would do a better job.

por Vincent M

29 de Abr de 2021

Outdated exercises with no support from instructors or mentors. Many students just cannot finish the courses. This is a shame to keep this PAID course on the platform if nobody is able to keep it up to date or to provide alternative solutions.

por Marshall

29 de Set de 2021

The content of the course is good. However, the self-driven mini projects are so out-of-date they cannot be completed without hours of wasteful troubleshooting. Coursera should seriously remove this course in it's current state.

por Deleted A

23 de Fev de 2017

I have enrolled in this twice but can't see the course content. Every time I click "go to course" I get directed to the description of the course. Where are the lecture videos and other course content?

por Sayandeep A

23 de Jun de 2017

Instructors were not responsive at all. Many of the participants faced technical issues in the hands-on exercises involving Spark. Questions in the discussion boards were never answered.

por Kivan I

14 de Jul de 2017

No followup from course mentors and admin. A lot of the software also had bugs and caused errors, which is why there was a need for mentors assistance.

por Avishay G

30 de Mar de 2019

The course is ok until the final project which is totally not compatible with the level of the hands on during the course ,the final project is a mess

por Abdelali E M

10 de Mar de 2019

Les fonctions ne fonctionnent pas sur Jupyter. Il faut revoir ces TP !! j'ai perdu beaucoup de temps à chercher sur internet les bonnes fonctions.

por Manuel M B

22 de Out de 2020

It's a good course but sadly there is no support from TA. Cloudera Virtual Machine Does not work well. I have to use a Docker image of pyspark.

por Shubhradeep B

25 de Ago de 2019

anaconda file not working when bigdata3 file is extracted. Very bad experience in doing the project. Local host 8889 not opeening. Dont know why

por Kjell L

12 de Set de 2016

The course cost too much for the gain of knowledge. Feels like this course could be merge with the first or the third course.

por KOSURU V R S

15 de Mai de 2020

the programming assignments are designed very poorly. it takes lot of time to install and trouble shoot the installation.