Chevron Left
Voltar para Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods da instituição Universidade Técnica da Dinamarca (DTU)

4.7
estrelas
1,960 classificações
413 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The course will cover the topics related to antimicrobial resistance with basic definitions and overview on antimicrobials their use and the emergence and spread of resistance. The course will guide you through the concepts and the importance of resistance spread and dissemination and how that happens. It will show you how bacteria become resistant and which mechanisms they might use for this. And as part of the course you will also receive some training in methods for antimicrobial susceptibility testing (AST) and detection of specific resistance in the microbiological laboratories with the basic methods available and with focus on the obtention of good quality results which can be interpreted and used for different purposes. Additionally, it will show you how to use genomic analysis tools to analyze whole genome sequencing data to detect resistance genes (and or other genes of interest) in a simple and easy way using online tools freely available. In the new new version an additional module including detection of specific resistance mechanisms was added. After this course you should be able to: 1. Describe the most important families of antimicrobials and mode of action 2. Understand the basic concepts of antimicrobial resistance from several perspectives (clinical, research and microbiological) 3. Enumerate and describe how bacteria can become resistant and the mechanisms that may be involved in that process 4. Describe how antimicrobial resistance emerges and spreads around the world including concepts of antimicrobial resistance transfer, selection and dissemination 5. Enumerate the methods used for antimicrobial susceptibility testing (AST) 6. Compare dilution and diffusion methods and know the basic techniques of agar disk diffusion, broth dilution and agar dilution methods 7. Have detailed theoretical knowledge on how to perform the main methods in a laboratory 8. Know the basic concepts about analysis and interpretation of results of AST, including different breakpoints, cut-off setting and their applications. 9. Understand the importance and related concepts related to quality management and quality assurance method standardization, applied to AST 10. Relate the information obtained in this course with real cases of resistant bacteria spreading in patients, the community, animals or the environment 11. Relate the phenotypical results with results from genotyping using molecular techniques for detection of resistance mechanisms 12. Understand the concept and be able to apply genomic analysis tools used to detect resistance genes and other relevant genes from Whole Genome Sequencing (WGS) data (with demonstration of selected online tools) Disclaimer: Please note that the guidelines and methods referred or links included in these materials are updated when the videos lectures are produced and before the course is released, however these might become outdated with time....

Melhores avaliações

FH

30 de dez de 2020

As a microbiology student, I can say that I've learned so many theoretical and practical methods involving antimicrobial resistance as well as bacteriology in general. Huge thanks to great lecturers!

MW

22 de jul de 2021

Very clear and informative to give insights about what's happening in the area of antimicrobial resistance, as well as the urgency to do identification and surveilance of antimicrobial resistance

Filtrar por:

326 — 350 de 413 Avaliações para o Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods

por Islam M M M

11 de set de 2018

It was a very helpful and useful course , I enjoyed it very much , but I hope to be more questions during video as in sometimes get boring and too much information, Thanks.

por Soumya G

4 de mai de 2020

it was very informative course on antimicrobial resistance and helped a lot in learning about the resistance gained by microbials and how it can affect in long terms.

por Rituparna S

29 de jun de 2016

Great Course!! Some lectures were repetitive. So I'd like to suggest the course advisors to cut down on those lectures. Overall it was a great learning experience!!

por Veronica P V

11 de jan de 2021

Very good lectures and presentations. The lectures on whole genome sequencing tools were too specific and maybe not applicable for general o clinical knowledge.

por Fábio L F

5 de jul de 2017

Excellent content with a rich subject giving us good basis to explore and learn more on the subject and apply the acquired knowledge into many different fields.

por Lydia S

26 de fev de 2017

I did like to course very much. However, the in the last video, although the lecturer tried to speak clearly, I didn't understand all things very well.

por vijay s

21 de fev de 2019

it is really a good course for a microbiology student, i learned lots of things.

please add more practical evidences and discussions, if possible.

por Zion A D

2 de out de 2020

The explanation was good & the topics covered were really interesting, I found them too important, since it's very much related to my field.

por Jessica L O B

7 de abr de 2020

I learned a lot regarding antimicrobial testing, I work with antibiotic resistance and this course allow me to know and improve my knowledge

por SAYARI D

31 de dez de 2017

Great set of teachers. This course has really helped me in clearing my concepts on Antimicrobial resistance- mechanisms and testing methods.

por PaulaNakase

15 de ago de 2016

I really enjoyed the course, being a complete novice i found it challenging to understand some of the technical terms but learnt alot.

por DIVY S 5

9 de out de 2020

I gained some valuable information regarding AMR and came to know about various resistances.

Thus it was great learning with you guys

por Ahmed U S

2 de ago de 2021

The format and instruction method was very good. Apart, the dashboard was easy to use and understandable. The quizzes were helpful.

por Adil R

9 de ago de 2020

Great.. Informative.. Good lectures Highly recommended for the people in this field. it was my first course on Coursera. thank you.

por khadija t k

26 de ago de 2020

This course was very much helpful.it helps me to understand all the resistance pathways of bacteria and identification tools.

por Devika P

19 de mai de 2020

Thank you so much coursera for the lectures and to my tutor. I was able to understand the concepts of these course clearly.

por Justin H

18 de jun de 2020

Good overview of microbiology techniques - at times overly technical for my level but generally really well presented.

por doaa r a

24 de ago de 2020

the course was very good and i intersted too much while studying and earn alot of new information thank you

por Odette W

29 de mai de 2020

Nice overview of common used antimicrobials, resistance testing and quality control. Info is well dosed.

por zhanxw

24 de abr de 2017

Overall, the course contents is useful. If course slides can be provided, that'll be extra helpful.

por Mohamed S T

11 de out de 2016

Very important course that help to know several ways of anti microbial susceptibility testing.

por ONAKESA N

31 de out de 2020

There's so much to learn , very interesting and a bit complicated but it's so much worth it !

por Jodie L

20 de jan de 2021

Found the lecture content appropriate but sometimes hard to understand some of the lecturer

por Jaswandi

9 de jun de 2020

Excellent course, very nice instructors. Explained each and everything with utmost details.

por Jewellia H

21 de dez de 2016

Very educational course, however the lectures are very lull and do not hold attention well.