Chevron Left
Voltar para Wood Science: Beyond Building

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Wood Science: Beyond Building da instituição Universidade da Virgínia Ocidental

4.6
119 classificações
35 avaliações

Sobre o curso

The central question of this course: “why study wood?” If “why study wood” is the question, one answer would be that it is the only raw material available to us that is truly renewable in human life span terms. Wood is as important to society today as it ever was, despite the development of many man-made substitute materials, changing resource availability, and the changing needs of society. Some items on the list of wood products stay the same (lumber, plywood and veneer for building construction, furniture, shipping pallets & crates and other containers & packaging materials, railroad ties, utility poles, chemical feed stocks, etc), but the list also keeps changing to meet new needs and challenges as the resource changes. In short, wood is a far more diverse, green, and renewable resource than you might have imagined. Join us to learn about the important role of wood in human history, civilization, and our future. By the end of the course, learners will be able to: - describe wood as a raw material and its critical importance to the world economy, and the lives of the people that make that economy work. - identify the projected trend for wood consumption to continue to grow in the coming years, despite the image of wood as a "low tech" material. - identify the ways in which wood's properties can lead to its efficient and sustainable use. -identify wood's positive role in boosting the world economy and ability to lead to unexpected vocations....

Melhores avaliações

MM

Apr 24, 2018

Very imformative, very engaging, very inspiring!\n\nAn awesome course to be taken and the knowledge shared here is simply shocking and usefull.\n\nTHANK YOU.

KG

Jun 01, 2019

Very useful to understand about the American wood industry. Also helps know about some general information about wooden materials and wood itself.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Wood Science: Beyond Building

por Kurian G

Jun 01, 2019

Very useful to understand about the American wood industry. Also helps know about some general information about wooden materials and wood itself.

por Briseida L J A

Apr 04, 2019

This course is a great oppontunity to learn and take a look about wood from other point of view. It explain very well theory and process with good examples and clear schemes. From the architecture point of view is very useful. Excellent!!

por RAJESH B

Apr 07, 2019

Very nice introduction course of wood science

por Kalliopi K

Mar 26, 2018

Great course for introduction to forestry with many information about wood science. GREAT teachers !

por Volodymyr N

Nov 21, 2017

Thanks, for offering this course! Though I've been working with wood at home for some years, I learned a great deal about the wood, ranging from specifics of working with the wood from the different species of trees to the global market and management of the forest. Your corse gives a great incentive go to forward with learnig more and working more with wood, looking at it in bigger depth rather than a conventient material only. Thanks, again!

por Laura C

Feb 07, 2018

Highly recommended to those interested in learning the basics on wood science.

por Harry A H

Feb 20, 2018

This course opened my eyes to a whole new world. Kind of helps you over the stumbling block to then study yourself further. Loved the honest simplicity of the teachers though it quickly becomes obvious that there is a huge industry behind it.

por Ronald S

Jul 08, 2017

Great course for intro to wood science.

por Erland R L

May 14, 2018

Great introduction!

por Margaret

Apr 24, 2018

Very imformative, very engaging, very inspiring!

An awesome course to be taken and the knowledge shared here is simply shocking and usefull.

THANK YOU.

por Boleslaw J S

Apr 06, 2017

Amazing, complex, interesting, professional.

por Richard L W

May 27, 2017

Very interesting course. The instructors, Larry and Jeff, were both excellent.

por JOHN Q

May 10, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed the course!

por Daniel C P

Jan 31, 2018

Very useful course. Nicely presented in a well structured way, it gives a global view of wood science. It has links to very interesting resources of books, international associations and technical NASA papers (pretty understandable, in my opinion). It has a great value for the time required. Fully recommended!

por Rangani s p

Apr 15, 2019

It is a very useful topic to everyone. It explains about the how human damage environment. And how we regulate the wastages of wood

por Manoj K R

Aug 24, 2019

This is very good course. I enjoyed this and the science of wood. How principles of physics works in wood science. I alot of thanks to course instructors and whole team of course they describe the things very practical and easy way.

por Ronie C D J S

Nov 25, 2019

This is an awesome course! Such a fair conversation an dialogues about many technologies, as well as issues involved in the use of the wood resources. Highly recommended.

por Jeyhun R

Nov 28, 2019

It is not only theoretically but also practically educational. Thank you for such amazing course.

por Akemi I

Sep 08, 2019

I really liked this course in terms of structure, in particular. The quizzes in the video effectively kept me paying attention to the contents and made me better understood the contents of the course. Thank you very much!!!

por Jason D M

Sep 04, 2019

A few of the external links are missing, the course is relaxed and well taught.

por dp

Jun 03, 2017

Very curious and useful information. Looking forward for more languages!

por Dana L

Jun 22, 2019

I loved the course. Very informative, I shared some resource links with my mothernatureus facebook fanpage too.

por Joy S

Apr 03, 2017

As a woman, I learned a surprising amount of stuff I never knew before

por Sebastián B

Feb 02, 2018

A very good introduction to several topics related to forestry, wood science and wood industry.