Chevron Left
Voltar para Compreendendo a Violência

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Compreendendo a Violência da instituição Universidade Emory

4.5
109 classificações
30 revisões

Sobre o curso

We are so pleased to have you join us as we investigate this crucial topic. Violence is a leading cause of death, disability and health care use worldwide. Violence is a complex problem and can only be understood and reduced though a multidisciplinary approach. This course introduces you to experts who study different forms of violence and we will discuss the various causes of violence. You will also learn about efforts to reduce violence and engage in a day of compassion. We are very fortunate that PRESIDENT JIMMY CARTER is participating in our course. He delivers a lecture on the efforts of the Carter Center to end violence around the world, and he engages in a discussion with us about his life and work in human rights. Do join us for short videos, readings and discussions. And also see our coffee chats, where we (Pamela and Deb) summarize and reflect on each module. And we want to hear from you! Feel free to reach out via Twitter or through the course, or through our Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/groups/understandingviolence01/....

Melhores avaliações

SP

Apr 09, 2018

Very much informative.. this course may help in understanding complex behavior n could help in various aspect relating violence.

A

Sep 20, 2017

Very informative and interesting. Learned some great new concepts and how different types of violence impact others.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o Compreendendo a Violência

By Simona M

Feb 05, 2019

The title of the course is misleading, focusing almost exclusively on GBV, gang violence and shooting incidents in the US and leaving out other important forms of violence, like war, terrorism and some general historical, statistical and global dynamics. Gang violence or shooting incidents are relevant in the US, but not in most other countries. While gender based violence is incredibly important, it is not the only type of violence and in this case the focus should be added in the title of the course. The title promises a global perspective on dynamics of violence, but the course adopts almost exclusively a public health approach, which is by far not sufficient for discussing such a broad phenomenon as is violence.

By Ignacio R R

Jun 16, 2019

Good, but the people who manage the course don't pay attention to the review of the works. This involves that some reviews from other student can take several months to be done. This is unacceptable.

By Ismael A N T

May 30, 2019

Excellent course!

By Shampa I

Feb 12, 2019

This course is truly meant for me. I did enjoy every lesson I got here. All videos,lessons and assignments are so thoughtful . I am grateful for offering such dynamic that is helpful for future pursuit, too.

By Juan G F C

Jan 04, 2019

Excellent well prepared!

By Robert C

Nov 26, 2018

I enjoyed this course. I would have liked to see more about prevention. Many of the lectures focused too much on causes and statistics. I would be so bold to say it seemed like an overkill. There also should have been more about violence in different cultures. More exploration of movies and Television programs in this decade. Especially a look at the morals that cause a society to accept violence in video games and movies. There are much deeper explanations behind violence.

By Sean b

Apr 24, 2018

A good basic course on the ideas and understanding of violence. Beginners in the study of violence can learn much from this course

By Shobhraj S P

Apr 09, 2018

Very much informative.. this course may help in understanding complex behavior n could help in various aspect relating violence.

By Karin C

Feb 17, 2018

This course gave me the tools for a better understanding of violence. Thank you for this opportunity!

By Mohammed T M

Oct 22, 2017

Great course to reflect on human nature.

By MAMBA L M

Sep 27, 2017

This is a wornderful course as it teach what violance is and what can cause violance

By Ashlee M (

Sep 20, 2017

Very informative and interesting. Learned some great new concepts and how different types of violence impact others.

By Alican B

Sep 08, 2017

A brilliant beneficial course covering different aspects of violence and methods of both prevention and also possible ways to deal with after effects of violence. If you are interested in unsolved parts of human violence and why it emerges pervasively then you should take this course to gain enlightening perspectives about that topic. No matter what you do and what you study, this course is available for anyone who wants to know more about violence to the core. Good luck!

By Eleazar B J

Aug 20, 2017

This is a very interesting course that allow us not only to understand the roots of violence, but also some situations and conditions violence occurs in other regions and within other cultures around the world.

By Kimble P

Jun 05, 2017

I have trained and work in the branch of violence and its survivors. This is the first Coursera course I have taken and have been totally satisfied with both the presentation and the material. I did not do the paid version so I cannot comment on the peer review process. I hope the material will be updated with the new situation of a USA president disenfranchising many projects and fomenting much fear from the White House. I have already shared a few of the videos with colleagues and friends, which hopefully will make them curious enough to start. I appreciated the layout of the course and was happy that it ended on a positive note of inroads being made. I am particularly happy to know about "Men Stopping Violence" group. Emory University really looks like a forward thinking institution.

By TOGBOSSI M K

May 30, 2017

Parfait cours bien creusé, bien détaillé et bien dispensé par des Prof chevronnés! Tous les aspects y sont abordés. Chapeau tiré!

By Christine D

May 28, 2017

I REALLY enjoyed this course. It contained a vast amount of information on a variety of topics. It was wonderful to have so many different speakers presenting information. The objectives and requirements were clear and reasonable. It would have been nice to have an alternate to completing a peer review for someone who was significantly ahead of schedule, but I understand the value of peer reviews and why they would be particularly beneficial to the learning goals of this course.

By Ahmer J K

May 02, 2017

Excellent course! Great opportunity to express yourself with a video in the final peer reviewed assignment!

By POONAM B

Apr 29, 2017

very useful course

By Kristin C

Apr 20, 2017

I very much enjoyed the course assignments.

By Almudena P

Apr 03, 2017

It is very interesting and a very wide approach of violence, from theoretical grounds to practical applications. I would have prefered a little bit more information focused on the latter, especially regading intervention and prevention. Otherwise, great.

By Paco M

Apr 03, 2017

The course is very thorough. It covers so many different fields and gives you a good idea at how broad violence is. It's approach is different and effective. The course is something I'd highly recommend especially if you are someone who's profession deals with violence in some shape or form.

By Jenna-Lee

Apr 02, 2017

An excellent course!

By Alice H S

Feb 27, 2017

Excellent course!

By Stephanie J G

Feb 07, 2017

This is an important class for one and all.