Chevron Left
Voltar para Applied Public History: Places, People, Stories

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Applied Public History: Places, People, Stories da instituição Universidade de Londres

4.8
estrelas
51 classificações
17 avaliações

Sobre o curso

This course introduces learners to applied public history: understanding and interpreting the past today, and engaging diverse communities in the practice of making and sharing histories. The course draws on project case studies, expert insights and diverse perspectives to model exciting approaches to researching and sharing the history of places and people. Learners will develop a toolkit to apply in their own practice, by participating in discussion, quizzes, creative activities and mini masterclasses. What kinds of stories can we discover through research into the history of places and people? How do we engage diverse communities with those stories today? What kinds of imaginative approaches can we use to interpret the past? And what tools and opportunities can we create to include new groups and individuals in local research initiatives? Led by the Centre for the History of People, Place and Community at the Institute of Historical Research, University of London – the UK’s national centre for history – this course investigates these questions and helps learners develop transferable approaches to their own local history and heritage interpretation....

Melhores avaliações

OI
22 de Abr de 2021

I just will say that it worth every minute spent! Very inspiring, clear, interesting. Lot of examples. Boosts creativity even in such academic discipline as history. Beautiful speakers!

JB
19 de Nov de 2020

A very engaging course for anyone interested in public history. Helps in thinking creatively and about considering who is missing from your audience.

Filtrar por:

1 — 19 de 19 Avaliações para o Applied Public History: Places, People, Stories

por Claire R

12 de Ago de 2021

I have really enjoyed this course. It gives an excellent introduction to and overview to the subject of Applied Public History. It is very accessible and will give even beginners the confidence to devise or take part in public history projects. It will be a very useful toolkit for me to refer back too and I will be recommending the course to my colleagues.

por David H

20 de Dez de 2020

Very enjoyable course and inspires the use of social media and the internet to not only engage with the public, but to turn them into co-creators through crowdsourcing.

Well done

David, Christchurch, NZ

por Олеся И

23 de Abr de 2021

I just will say that it worth every minute spent! Very inspiring, clear, interesting. Lot of examples. Boosts creativity even in such academic discipline as history. Beautiful speakers!

por Janette B

20 de Nov de 2020

A very engaging course for anyone interested in public history. Helps in thinking creatively and about considering who is missing from your audience.

por Dr. R R

9 de Dez de 2020

Awesome course for those who really want to change the perspective towards the application pf human science in daily life.

por AIKATERINI C V

11 de Fev de 2021

Excellent combination of academic knowledge with a more down to earth practical approach to the subject.

por Stephen L

15 de Fev de 2021

Very professional and stimulating, with lots of good example projects to learn from.

por Aditia M P

26 de Jun de 2021

A lot of inspiraton for making the history relate for today. A very good Course

por Wildan H Y Z

24 de Jun de 2021

Awesome. Thank you University of London for giving us such a great explanation.

por Ven. K R T

13 de Mar de 2021

This is very helpful for improving historiography skills.

por Isobel A

26 de Nov de 2020

Super interesting and really well presented - thanks.

por Luiza K B

2 de Set de 2021

Everything I expected; Excellent.

por NINO M

26 de Jan de 2021

Great experience!

por Viviane G d R

27 de Fev de 2021

Great course.

por José N J L

25 de Mar de 2021

It is a good introduction to Public History, not from theory and debates but from actual practices and experiences. The course could benefit from other experiences outside of London to, at least, give a glimpse of how does Public History work in other contexts. I learned a lot even though I had some prior Public History experience (from college and international conferences). I absolutely recommend this course for people remotely interested in History outside Academia.

por Kev B

5 de Abr de 2021

I have always been interested in history and I do have some familiarity with doing history from a more academic perspective. However I learned from this course that history has happened and is happening all around me. Gives me a new pair of eyes with which to view my surroundings...I do wish that this project had been a little more inclusive of doing public history in places other than London and the UK.

por Kathryn B

6 de Out de 2021

This is a well devised course, with plenty of opportunities to explore the topics further. I enjoyed the quizzes which were well devised. I found the discussion forums less easy to negotiate, but appreciate the idea of these. Overall, this is a great way to build a toolkit of ideas to explore and communicate history, engaging others in co-creating projects.

por Peter R C

26 de Mar de 2021

This has been a very enjoyable course with lots of examples of different projects involving lots of different communities. The projects chosen illustrated the wide range of community history projects available.

por Janet F

13 de Fev de 2021

Very interesting perspectives. I would have liked more that related to small scale rural projects that could be undertaken with limited human and economic resources.