Chevron Left
Voltar para Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

Comentários e feedback de alunos de Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments da instituição Universidade Duke

4.6
estrelas
2,051 classificações
557 avaliações

Sobre o curso

How to Understand Arguments Think Again: How to Reason and Argue Reasoning is important. This series of four short courses will teach you how to do it well. You will learn simple but vital rules to follow in thinking about any topic at all and common and tempting mistakes to avoid in reasoning. We will discuss how to identify, analyze, and evaluate arguments by other people (including politicians, used car salesmen, and teachers) and how to construct arguments of your own in order to help you decide what to believe or what to do. These skills will be useful in dealing with whatever matters most to you. Courses at a Glance: All four courses in this series are offered through sessions which run every four weeks. We suggest sticking to the weekly schedule to the best of your ability. If for whatever reason you fall behind, feel free to re-enroll in the next session.We also suggest that you start each course close to the beginning of a month in order to increase the number of peers in the discussion forums who are working on the same material as you are. While each course can be taken independently, we suggest you take the four courses in order. Course 1 - Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments Course 2 - Think Again II: How to Reason Deductively Course 3 - Think Again III: How to Reason Inductively Course 4 - Think Again IV: How to Avoid Fallacies About This Course in the Series: When is someone giving an argument instead of just yelling? Which parts of what they say contribute to the argument? Why are they arguing instead of fighting? What are arguments made of? What forms do they take? Think Again: How to Understand Arguments will answer these questions a more. In this course, you will learn what an argument is. The definition of argument will enable students to identify when speakers are giving arguments and when they are not. Next, we will learn how to break an argument into its essential parts, how to put them in order to reveal their connections, and how to fill in gaps in an argument. By the end of this course, students will be better able to understand and appreciate arguments that they and other people present. Suggested Readings: Students who want more detailed explanations or additional exercises or who want to explore these topics in more depth should consult Understanding Arguments: An Introduction to Informal Logic, Ninth Edition, Concise, Chapters 1-5, by Walter Sinnott-Armstrong and Robert Fogelin. Course Format: Each week will be divided into multiple video segments that can be viewed separately or in groups. There will be short ungraded quizzes after each segment (to check comprehension) and a longer graded quiz at the end of the course....

Melhores avaliações

SM

Jun 11, 2020

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

FY

Jul 06, 2018

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de 549 Avaliações para o Think Again I: How to Understand Arguments

por Mauri S G

Mar 31, 2019

I loved this course. The professor is fun and clear and intelligent; the course is complex enough to hold interest and applicable enough to every day life that it will always be useful to each and every person. I personally am a retired person living in "the sticks" of the south of France (Provence) with little access to university learning. I will forever be grateful to Coursera for bringing advanced learning into my living room!!! Thanks to Coursera and to Professor (Doctor) Walter Sinnott-Armstrong...

por Celso E L

Jan 04, 2019

Great ideas and excellent material presented, but, they tend to repeat themselves and extend the videos too much, making them tiring, I believe that, making it more to the point, would be appreciated by most of the students.

por Charles C W

Apr 15, 2019

I've taken several online courses on logic and argumentation. This one stands out by virtue of the professor's enthusiasm and clarity of explanations. Worth every minute I've spent on it.

por Rayna R

Sep 27, 2018

This course was very informative! I would recommend doing the rest of the courses after you've finished this one, because this one is mostly philosophy and grammar of arguments.

por ling

Jan 20, 2019

Very good course and very humorous professor! Every day we are facing so many propaganda and misleading news from media, if you do not know how to draw valid and sound argument and make good reasoning, it will be easy for you to be misled. Taking this course helps you to distinguish good arguments from the bad ones, therefore, I strongly recommend everyone study this course if you want to be an independent and critical thinker!

por Paige

Apr 12, 2020

The course material and the course itself is great. Very valuable information for someone in any career field. The teachers were nice. I unfortunately ended up having to drop the course a week in.

I was very disappointed that this course turned out not to be for me. The first couple lecture videos the instructor often pulled examples from physics, astronomy or other sciences to better explain the philosophical points he was reviewing. I am an English Literature/History gal myself and had NO IDEA what he was talking about.

It was so frustrating because I was always able to follow along with the instructor at first but every time he went to expand on his thoughts he COMPLETELY lost me and I suddenly had no idea what he was trying to say. After receiving a 33.3% on a quiz because I did not comprehend the definitions of some very easy vocab words I gave up.

Great course, great teachers, just be aware you may get really confused with his lectures if you are not familiar with basic high school/college level science.

por Fiona E Y

Jul 06, 2018

I found this course very challenging as I find critical thinking very difficult. However this course was extremely rewarding and I will be taking the other three modules in the Think Again series.

por Trevor F

Sep 05, 2016

I do not want to rate this course at this stage but I would like to make the following comment in relation to the course resources and in particular the answers to the exercises in the optional text book.

For students who do not have a copy of the text book, providing answers to questions from the text book without showing the actual questions is not very useful and to be quite frank, ridiculous. I would like to think that the course designers would take some sort of appropriate action to remedy this.

How exactly this would be done is up to the course designers but I would suggest that another downloadable PDF document showing all the questions would be extremely useful and necessary.

I look forward to a response.

Regards, Trevor Farley

por Stephen B

Nov 03, 2019

Excellent course, extremely worthwhile and very challenging for me. I used this course to help with my logic training for LSAT. I will be continuing on to complete all parts of the full course.

por J-Man

Mar 25, 2019

Really gets into the semantics here which I wasn't expecting, not quite the course I went in for.

por Ayman K

Dec 14, 2017

Think again of having this course simplified and delivered to students in their early years of education. Elementary school if possible. Doing so would have a positive effect of the future of humanity in avoiding conflicts as this course have the preliminary information for a critical and healthy mind

por Ryan H

Feb 16, 2017

This is a very very engaging and applicable course, and is truly presented with 10/10 efficacy! I couldn't be more sincere and adamant in my recommendation, no matter who you are or what you do.

por Joe A

Dec 03, 2018

This is a very hard course but also very rewarding. It's average Joe's antidote to chaos in a world of fake news.

por Gorgos C

Nov 04, 2018

the final test was a little bit difficult!

por Ema M

Sep 25, 2016

Interesting course. It seems to me that we have been learning to play scales before going into music, or learning the names of the letters before learning to read. I wonder how much of all this word by word analysis is useful in real life, real arguing. It is interesting, but it also adds to the difficulty and prompts abandon of the course. Like having to memorize the Periodic Table of Elements before going into the wonders of Chemistry. The Suzuki Method in music or the Silabario Matte (to learn reading in Spanish, starting directly with basic words like "ojo"="eye"), show that starting with structural analysis it isn't the only way to learn things.

por Elaine A H

Apr 27, 2019

Ack! I could not listen to these guys for more than 30 seconds without wanting to throw a cat out of a window. They might have something to say, but I will never hear it.

por dekel l

Aug 20, 2018

This course deals with being able to express yourself in an eloquent, coherent form. It will allow you to understand your claims and opinions about the world by rethinking about them using more constructive and logic way.

Excellent lectures. Lovely examples. Sharp and clear practice questions.

Recommended for everyone.

por Dr. R C

Dec 17, 2017

This has been an amazing intro to the field of arguments and logic. Highly recommend it. But be aware, it's gonna be addictive.

por ola a

Dec 09, 2018

wonderfully presented, clearly explained and very interesting.

i just wish there was a panel/person i could ask questions while i was watching the video as there were some points i wished to clarify and the forum did not address these

por Gabriel A K

Jan 06, 2020

Explains very simple things in a complicated and repetitive way.

por Nicole M

Oct 17, 2019

I thought this course was about understanding arguments/disputes/how people think etc. NOT linguistics and grammar/syntax

por Gaber M

Mar 25, 2018

I believe this course is one of the most important classes that I have been enrolled in. the reasons which are motivated me to do that are mainly related to the main purpose of the class. "How to think" is a class that i very vital for all the people who are working in any fields of our life. No one can do without the using of the arguments in our life, professors, engineers, lawyers, religious people, lay people, politicians, public leaders and students are in need to be a ware of this class.

I think we can classify this class under the science of the "tools science". By "tools science" I mean, the science which provided us with the ways to understand an end or a purpose. For example, to understand the science of philosophy, I need the tools which help me to understand it, so tools science help us to understand the philosophy, read the history, know our religion, ....etc.

In addition to the importance of the class, I believe professor Walter Armstrong is a remarkable scholar in this field of study. His way of delivering the information, making the knowledge very easy to be understood, giving the idea in a simple way and creating a joyful environment for the class qualifies him to be on of of the best professor to attend this class with him.

In conclusion, I, very, recommend this class to everyone is interested to make his way of speaking and contacting with people sound and true within a simple way.

por Wes D S

Oct 19, 2019

Great class, I didn't have time to work on it and watch all the videos by the deadline but at least this remains open so I can go back and watch them still after taking the test. I was late taking it but seems they let me pass anyway? Anyway a lot of good material here, it is a long 4 weeks with a lot to learn and review even though it was my second time taking this course, thinking it would be easy was wrong. Take your time if you can they did a great job redoing this course and learning it all over again was fun and helpful for me as I debate in fb groups often and making 'good' cogent arguments is a must. So far I'm 11-0 winning all my debates so far and I can thank this class in part for preparing me to debate and think critically about a topic. I like to think I've always been decent at this but this course certainly improved my skills and recommend it to everyone. (except my opponents) :D

por Mukund G

Aug 29, 2019

I was always fascinated by logic and the art of argument. But, I had never had the opportunity to learn the basics of the art. The course has provided me the basics and I hope to build upon it in future. It is a wonderful course. However, I had to face a lot of difficulties in completing the course especially owing to the videos: many of them just freeze in the middle and only the voice of the Professor is there to hear. As such I had to download the videos first along with the transcripts and then listen and answer the in-the-video questions by allowing the content to roll on. I hope this can be taken care of by Coursera. I am thankful to the Professor. He is just brilliant in presenting the course. But, sometimes I felt a few more exercises are necessary in the validity part. I had to struggle to understand the concept and I still feel much is needed. Rest is fine. Thanks again.

por Richie P

Dec 22, 2019

The course provides a lovely approach to this complicated topic. The professor dissects the topic thoroughly with just the right touch of comedy. The discussion forum helps to get students to understand by talking through everything. The quizzes were thoughtful and thorough as introductory comprehension. To those who want to understand more fully, I suggest to suggest practicing on their own. Regardless of you making this statement or not, they will do so if they really want to understand fully. Either way, your approach is wonderful and refreshing coming from someone who took the accelerated summer logic course or "Logic seminar" in community college. You tied up loose ends and allowed for me to understand more fully. Thank you!