Chevron Left
Voltar para The Technology of Music Production

Comentários e feedback de alunos de The Technology of Music Production da instituição Faculdade Berklee de Música

4.9
419 classificações
128 avaliações

Sobre o curso

Learn about the music production process—including recording, editing, and mixing—and the tools available to you to create contemporary music on your computer. With the recent introduction of high-quality-low-cost software and hardware, the tools of music production are now available to the masses. Albums are made in bedrooms as well as studios. On the surface this is liberating. Anyone can make an album for the low cost of a couple pieces of gear and a software package. But, if you dig deeper, you will find that it is not so easy. Producing music requires knowledge, dedication, and creativity. Knowledge is where this course comes in. No matter what kind of music you are making, there is a large set of tools that you will need to use. Each lesson of this course will demonstrate a different set of music production tools, loosely following along the music production process of recording, editing, and mixing. We will start with some background on the nature of sound and how we perceive it. We will then examine the components necessary to record audio into a computer, so that you understand the devices that sound must travel through in a music production process. Once recorded, sound must be organized along a timeline, a process known as editing. It allows us to give the impression of perfect performances and create many of the sounds we hear in contemporary music. The contemporary editing tool is the Digital Audio Workstation (DAW), a piece of software that stores and organizes all the assets of a musical project. We will focus on the editing tools that are essential in contemporary music production and that all DAWs provide. After editing, sounds must be combined or mixed together, so we look to the mixing board—a very creative place if you know how to use it. We will explore the basic functionality of both hardware and software mixing boards, including volume, pan, mute, solo, busses, inserts, sends, and submixes. The mixing process, however, includes more tools than the mixing board provides on its own. Sound must also be processed, modified from its recorded state to fit the context of the music. We will look at compression, equalization, and delay, and examine the many audio effects that are offshoots of these devices and how they are used in a musical context. In the end, the music production process relies on your creativity. Creativity is a product of the mind and will stay there, unexpressed, until the right tools are used in the right way to share it with the world. If you have an idea in your head, it will take numerous steps, each with an important tool, to reach your audience. You bring the dedication and creativity, and this course will bring you the knowledge to make that happen....

Melhores avaliações

PV

Jun 26, 2017

WOW, Awesome course Loudon! I'm learning lots of stuff I never knew, very much in depth and it takes me to the source of things I already knew but ignored where they generated from. Love it!

JS

Feb 26, 2019

The absolute perfect course for beginner producers who want to learn the basics and fundamentals of the tech involved in contemporary productions. Highly highly recommend.

Filtrar por:

1 — 25 de {totalReviews} Avaliações para o The Technology of Music Production

por Jay M

Mar 28, 2017

I've just completed the course subject to peer review grading. I must say that this was the WORST online course I've ever taken and I've taken a lot of online courses (including YouTube tutorials by people who were clearly intoxicated when creating their masterpieces).

To begin, the recommended software options for screen movies and presentation are awful choices - not to mention "Prezi" is subscription service. I didn't use it. Try Open Office which has a "PowerPoint" type presentation software if you are looking to save costs. There's also an enormous technical problem with the screen movie makers suggested (at least with the PC versions). You cannot record from your microphone and capture internal sound card information (i.e. sounds produced by your DAW) simultaneously with any of the "suggested" programs I tried. The solution was a virtual sound card (I used Voice Meeter) where I could route the sounds accordingly so you could hear the sound produced by my DAW while I spoke. Considering this is a technology course, you would think this would be addressed. It is not.

There is almost no practical discussion. There's plenty of "what," --- an overwhelming amount of what actually --- but not much "how" or "why."

Others may experience this course differently depending on your goals. If you record vocals and real instruments and want to learn how to do this so everything sounds fantastic, this isn't the course for you. There's a tiny bit of that discussed with microphone placement and the like, but it quickly moves to digital sound creation. If you want to use synths and effects and noise things and such to create EDM music ... well, this isn't the course for you either, but maybe it would be more beneficial to you than most other categories.

So, who is this course for? I can't say I'm sure of the answer to that. If you are wanting to be a sound designer, perhaps you would learn the vocabulary for sound design but not much "how." If you use Logix as your DAW, perhaps you will learn where something is you hadn't seen before (although the videos are hard to follow as some things are happening off screen or aren't the focus of the video).

In the end, this course was very much a "self teaching" course. I didn't learn much from the video lectures provided by Berklee other than application of a few terms in music I'd never considered much with a background in playing instruments rather than playing a digital synth, like "ADSR." I spent more time on other websites and YouTube videos and in my DAW's operation manual as we were often told, "Go to your DAW and figure out how to use an XYZ." Rarely did it include "how and why" to use that XYZ for musicality.

The quizzes were awful as well. There's a lot of "minutia" detail in the lectures that never seems to have any relevance because there's no practical application discussed. Make sure you know this not very relevant information because it will be on the quiz --- like how to determine the word length and bit depth using some formula involving 2 to the power of something.... it still doesn't make since because I don't know why or how it applies.

Also, note that not everything is completely uniform in DAWs with some terms being different in each one. This was extremely confusing because I don't use Logix and the lessons do. I had a terrible time figuring out many things simply because my DAW had another term or button name for it.

I'm glad this is over. I feel like I learned a little bit, but don't feel like it's information I'll retain for long since I have no idea how to use much of the information for my purposes. Maybe on a game of Jeopardy?

Sorry for the length of this, but I hope you find the information helpful in deciding whether you will benefit from this class.

por Angel R

Jun 08, 2019

Excellent course i recomend it

por Tao S

May 27, 2019

Good course.

por Arturo F C F

May 04, 2019

I found the technical info really useful, especially because understanding what's going on physically while recording, gives you a more accurate sense of what needs to be done to improve the settings timing, leaving you with more time of fun instead of frustration.

por Eugene L

Apr 29, 2019

Presentations are annoying. Information is wonderful.

por Sergio S

Apr 27, 2019

He disfrutado mucho haciendo este curso y aprendido mucho más de lo que podría haberme imagino gracias

por ANGELO C D

Apr 16, 2019

master class

por Garegin A

Mar 27, 2019

useful and great course !

por John E P

Mar 21, 2019

Excellent material and amazing instructor

por Rodrigo N

Mar 14, 2019

Great course!

por Jesse S

Feb 26, 2019

The absolute perfect course for beginner producers who want to learn the basics and fundamentals of the tech involved in contemporary productions. Highly highly recommend.

por Wesley I

Feb 26, 2019

Great course, gives all the essential elements on musical production, all concepts, in detail was presented in these 6 weeks

por David M P B

Feb 14, 2019

muy buen material

por Kiran P

Feb 13, 2019

Muy bueno, la dinámica de convivencia en los foros podría mejorar, pero el contenido está excelente.

por José A F R

Feb 13, 2019

Excellent Course

por phylene a

Jan 20, 2019

This is perfectly what I hoped it would be. Experienced musician new to digital music production and songwriting. The lessons answer every question I had struggled with and wasted time blindly experimenting with in three DAW's. I'm confident this will get me to a fully functional place with the confidence that comes with knowing what you're doing and especially, why. I aim for fluency in a workflow so that I may be creative without frustrating technical troubles

por Austin W

Dec 18, 2018

A well established & detailed class about music tech its very much opened my mind to the DAW and how it can apply for my own sound design. :^J

por Daniel S

Dec 05, 2018

Definitely lots of helpful material!

por Shaurya V

Nov 26, 2018

I am thoroughly enjoying the course. The teacher and the subject material is simply amazing.

por Rachon A

Nov 13, 2018

Very thorough!

por Josip G

Oct 18, 2018

Great course, very in-depth and useful. Glad we learned about synthesis for the final week!

por JUAN S L D

Oct 17, 2018

Good course. Lack of help in the discussion Forums.

por Melchor B M

Oct 01, 2018

i'm so excited to my second course- Technology of Music Production! :)

por Bashar A N

Sep 18, 2018

Tough tough tough. lots of concepts and many of them are similar. BUT very useful and helpful indeed.

por bart d

Sep 06, 2018

enjoyed the materials and the interaction with my peers